August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Duking Germs

by proc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 game, tested in chrome, firefox and safari.

Your goal is to have one germ left standing. Click together germs for seemingly unpredictable results. Every 10 seconds the germs mutate. This can be completed in under 10 seconds but often patience is the key.

Oh and since I haven't added a licence I'll put this under MIT (http://opensource.org/licenses/MIT). I would recommend using better code however! Tons of engines and libraries out there.

Think I've done dropbox right for the source but if not here's a mirror
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j392bjdwj0724ls/LD27-final.zip

http://proceduralgames.com/LD27-final/LD27-final.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#101Audio3.46
#152Innovation3.62
#207Mood3.27
#318Graphics3.30
#367Humor2.61
#418Overall3.19
#592Fun2.88
#987Theme2.60

Comments

Laddo D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21am

Pretty relaxing.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

It took me some time figuring the mechanics out. But that being said, it was really really nice.

I also liked the music very much :)

Oh, and I did win! :D

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

Haha the germs look cute and i love their combinations. They multiplied so fast and I couldn't stop them :p

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Very relaxing, but I don't know if it's unclear or I'm just stupid, I couldn't work out what I was doing at all. To start with I was able to catch lots of germs into one bigger one, but then clicking started to make them multiply.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

The game in essence is working out what is going on, so it is unclear. Once you have got it, it's not so bad apart from requiring patience. In my case that's particularly hard near the end.

I'll provide a hints link above.
I'm glad people found it relaxing, I've found it anything but.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I don't get this, I got to the point where I figured out you have to click them when they overlap, but something's wrong with their hit areas, I don't get it right or the areas aren't calculated right or something, but I can't really play this. Great potential though.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Hey laserbeam, see the hints file linked above.

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I hope this mutated things won't get out of my screen. Looks like ... really mutated after a while.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Not really sure how to play it, but I definitely like the music and mood.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

This is a fun/relaxing little game. I could definitely see it expanded or even compiled in something similar Electroplankton.

I feel kinda bad, but I totally cheated.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06am

Love the music and sfx. I was a little confused of how to 'win' but I still found it enjoyable and relaxing. good job!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06am

Haha, this is awesome.. very enjoyable and unique game/art style. Rated this one very highly. :D

jwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12am

Neat entry! I'll admit that I eventually had to cheat...it's pretty easy to get the impression that the rules are something other than what they really are...

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:13am

Very nice to look at

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

I really, really liked this one. The music is the best I've heard in the jam so far.
I had a super cute germ. I almost named him, but then I accidentally spliced him with another one and the results were less than adorable, haha

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01am

I am ashamed to say that I would not have completed it without hint. That being said, filling the screen with those germs was also fun. And I liked the audio !

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47am

Hm, looks beautiful, but i didn't get it. Nice music.
When do they disappear? Seemed random to me, clicking didn't give a consistent result. A better tutorial would be great..

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

pleasant game, took me a while to understand how not to pop billions of germs

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50am

Those germs are really squared :D
It took me some time to understand that the clicking zone was not correlated to the actual form of the germ. One has to really be on the center to make it works (at least on chrome).
The music is a good mix of peace and joy, it's perfect for the game.

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00am

Interesting mechanics and good music.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Great look and music. Struggled a bit to work out what to do but was nice to play around with.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Nice game! It took me a little while to figure it out but I was able to finish.

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Awesome generative game! Only critic is that, instead of providing tips, it would be better to provide visual feedback for the hitting areas and a small animation when a new germ i born. Very original!

skullbonejp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

Very good game. IT is hard and you must be patient...well I wasn't ahahaha so I couldn't win. But I liked it!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

nice game lots of confusing fun good job

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

So unusual. Cool !

proc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. It's all being taken on board. I'm working on putting out a post jam version with bugs squished and improvements made. I keep playing other LD games instead however :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:59am

Found this game very hard, but pretty cool! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:32am

I refuse to believe that this smiling bear was randomly generated: http://puu.sh/4fiTT.jpg lol
It started relaxing, then it got unnerving as I tried to merge large shapes and instead of merging I ended up generating more shapes ;[ ended up playing for a long time before rage-quitting... + Bonus points for random smiling bear

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:11am

good job

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Such a cute little game :D it made me happy.
Although it took a long time for the last two germs to become friends, I made it all the way! Superb relaxing soundtrack, and it was entertaining to look at the confused germs. Good job!

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very cool art style, great job

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:39am

Took me a bit to figure it out, but it's a nice relaxing game. :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:32am

Unique and organic!
I'm having a hard time understanding what to do but this is certainly extremely innovative!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:38am

I was very tense at first, but when I found out the simple rules I relaxed and enjoyed it a little. I couldn't beat it, though, because most times that I click, even with two overlapping germs, they won't mix and another one spawns... A little frustrating!

Very cool piece, nonetheless! =)

GagaPete says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Game doesn't start sadly. Get a log message "soundManager2 did not start" on the console.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]