August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Campfire

by BloodJohn - Jam Entry

You are the pilot of a plane, and you're on the mission. By the will of fate, your itinerary passes through Siberia. Your careless handling with a cup of coffee causes the plane crash. You made a crash landing in the most thinly populated and cold area of severe Russia. While your leisurely colleagues are trying to determine your location and save you, your task is extremely simple. You have to survive and just not to freeze to death. You need to keep the fire burning, tossing firewood every 10 seconds. Otherwise, the fire goes out and you will die.

Help will come, you only need to believe!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#128Graphics(Jam)3.88
#133Theme(Jam)3.45
#236Overall(Jam)3.23
#251Innovation(Jam)3.06
#280Humor(Jam)2.44
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#503Audio(Jam)1.48

Comments

FK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46pm

A little hint: you don't have to touch the campfire to get warm, you can just run by and preserve firewood.

skywing says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Its very intense trying to juggle all the things you need to scavenge and also keeping warm at the same time. Good execution and an interesting take on the theme too.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15am

Really wonderful visual style you have, and I love the unique take on the theme. The player character got stuck quite often, but that was the only issue.

tokw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:16am

Overall pretty good but you were limited due to the ten seconds which is not enough time to get to the "Campfire"

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

Could not manage to make my way to the cave, but I'll try harder. Is there no sound or is there a problem on my side ?

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35am

Take axe and pickaxe in airplane.
Also you may fish for fast moving.
Cave is high level for that game.

Unfortunately we have not time for sound.
Maybe late we add it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48am

I couldn't figure out what to do... I collected all the firewood, used them up, and then froze to death.. How do I progress in the game?

Mistle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44am

theholychicken, you should not only pick up the firewood but also to visit your crushed plane to get an axe to chop the trees (and that way you can get more firewood), a fishing-rod to get food and move faster and so on.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

@Mistle
OH I'll try it again:]

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14am

Welp.. it's still brutal hard! When I first saw the art I was expecting something lighthearted and relaxing.
10 seconds from painfully freezing to death is a tad too much pressure for me.
The comic was very well drawn, and I felt it was a shame that the game switched to top-down where the artwork couldn't shine. What if you made a sidescroller with the same art style?

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

I really enjoyed it, especially the comic that went with it :)

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38am

Really nice graphics and a genuinely compelling game that made me want to keep on playing :) I hope you continue to work on this and maybe get some sound effects in there

tokw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

Hey john sorry about the upload not working can you tell me how to fix it? (with unity player or something)

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice execution. Really like the concept of survive, but when i get frozen i cant warm me up again. Some time get a little frustrating. But overall have a nice graphic and its very well made. Congrats =)

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Great graphics, needs a quick screen to tell you what does what, took me a while to walk over to the crashed plane and get the axe. It is super super hard. Would love to hear some sound too!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Fun game and cool graphics. I like the idea.

Markavian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

After 6 or 7 tries, I died suddenly without reason, I'd just restocked the fire, I'd been and talked to the radio 4 times, and I had just gone from 10-9 seconds on my freeze meter, what killed me? Felt frustratingly slow moving around, I guess that's natural in the cold, but made the game feel sluggish. Great art and concept.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Sound was not working for me (firefox).

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13pm

This poor, poor man! His life is a constant battle against time. Great story/comic to get the player interested about the situation, but the gameplay is a bit unforgiving. An innovative idea/premise!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

good vibe from the game, especially thanks to the intro, nice to see something original with the theme too I havent seen another jam game like this yet, steep learning curve but enjoyable after i wrapped my head around it =]

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Love the concept and graphics! Really well done :_)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very amusing! Great art!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I love the comic and art! It would be nice to have some audio in there. Great take on the theme.

Haha, thanks to the comments I manage to survive longer! I think it needs some player feedback like if you need a certain tool to do something, etc.

Overall I enjoyed playing the game and it's community driven, ie. survival hints via comments :D

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice game. But I had some issues with collision not starting as soon as I was touching stuff (sometimes).

Also, clicking were you want to move instead of holding down the mouse down on the position would be better, in my opinion.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Love the graphics. Well done!!

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I like this one couse it fits the theme very well. Its a bit stressfull to manage the wood and cold, but thats the whole point :P

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Good game but I don't know how to run. It should be good to explain controls.
And put woods into the fire each twenty seconds is really bad for the game. It will be better with a longer delay.
It could be a great survival game if you keep working on it. And very nice graphics !

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50pm

That's a giant jam team. No wonder you needed a producer! I really like the art palette.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Love the comic book style intro and the game is a nice balancing act!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:14am

Interesting game, love the art, wish the game had sound, and I wish there was a better description of how to actually play, I had no idea how to really do anything other than collect wood and make the fire bigger. I'm sure if I knew how to play though it would have been a blast!

Mistle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:35am

Beardbotnik, unfortunately we hadn't enough time to make a tutorial. Well, in few words:

*** THE RULES ***
Visit your plane to get an axe (to chop trees), a fishing-rod (to fish), a gun (to get deer meat) and a pick (to visit the cave for some surprises.
Chopping trees helps you to keep your fire, food helps you to move faster.
You can also get a battery from the plane. The battery can be put in the transmitter to learn some news and help the resque team to find you faster.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Great game, one of the best in Ludum Dare [that we have seen so far]!
Awesome gameplay, intense and thrilling.
Ребята, вы супер молодцы! :)

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice graphics. Controls are quite hard and I can't find what to do more than taking wood and putting into the fire.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Really cool idea, or should i say ice cold ;-p
I like the style, really hard with all the multi-tasking but that's what life is all about. I played it on my Samsung S3 Android phone and it worked really well in terms of performance and controls. Good work.

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I am really bad at multi tasking. This game looks beautiful and I really liked it a lot. nice work but hard for low attention people like me.

One thing I would suggest is that the phone? I feel hungry.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Add android version with better control. :)

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:51pm

i loved it =) graphics awesome! =) but control very hard=) good job!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Lovely graphics and concept. The comic at the start of the game is nice :)
Pretty hard game, too!

Nice game!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

Interesting premise, nice art. Especially the intro comic, which was very well done.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really good game, will play more later :) Just missed some visual feedback for when we're saciated and maybe some more instructions

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:10pm

The comic panels in the beginning are amazing, and the in-game sprites are well done too. I wish there was audio, and a bit more feedback on actions. It's fun but tough!

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:32am

Add music & some sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]