August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER NUKE ROMAN EMPIRE

by brogrammers - Jam Entry

For Chrome users, click on the .jnlp file if you have chosen WebStart.
When you see the altervista page, please click on the highlighted link "qui"!


*An atomic bomb is exploding upon Rome*
Will you slaughter all the citizens or will you be merciful and save them? Your choice!
The future of the Eternal City is in your hands.

Some choices are available only if certain previous choices have been made. There are 4 different endings. Find them all! Listen to what the game tells you about how you influenced the story!

To restart the game, you have to launch it another time - sorry for the inconvenience.

If you have any ideas about how this game could be improved, please write a comment (: we'd love to hear your opinion!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#110Graphics(Jam)3.96
#157Mood(Jam)3.27
#160Humor(Jam)2.93
#219Innovation(Jam)3.14
#308Overall(Jam)3.08
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#332Audio(Jam)2.68
#345Fun(Jam)2.80

Comments

jalfp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

Compliments to all of you ^_^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

I am getting
"alterVista
La risorsa richiesta è accessibile qui"
on both of the download pages..

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very interesting, though now I feel like a bad person.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

theholychicken, there was a problem with my host server with indirect linking but now its fixed :)

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Fun game, played it through twice! I like how you thought up a nice setting for the game.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

Nice. Quite original. I really liked the graphics. The fonts you chose were quite nice, too. It's pretty short though, and I'm not too fond of the audio. I did miss an ending, I think. I'll try and obtain it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

Haha I liked the ending.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49am

I AM NOT A BAD PERSON! I tried! I swear!
Loved the graphics and music. Great mood and use of the theme.

Hume says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56am

I sucked at that. On the other hand, you did very well.

Do I have to exit the program and restart it to see the other endings?

Since you went to the trouble of giving your game some replay value, how about giving it a filename that won't get overwritten by somebody else's entry? I'm partial to "SuperNukeRomanEmpire_HDEdition_Brogrammers.jar"

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Loved it! I killed 9709182! :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

Pretty clever! I liked the game, but it didn't really hook me enough to see if I could get a better ending. Still pretty fun, how many branching paths are there?

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

Nice graphics, it remembers me old games nice job!!

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

That was original ! And it had nice graphics... also I didn't mean to kill all those people.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41am

I like the entire feeling of the game and the graphics, just the text in the beginning hit me hard at first.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

Nicely done! Excellent pixel graphics and a cool backstory concept.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01am

Pretty interesting, I enjoyed myself.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

The graphics and music combined create a really cool game feel , but I get bored really easily when faced with a wall of text. I had fun clicking the most ridiculous answers and seeing the population plummet though.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28am

I didn't anything when clicking at the first buttons showing up..

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

i like a lot the graphics style. nice work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I love text quests! And this thing is good!)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Wow top marks for mood!

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Very nice! Really liked the fantastic art graphics and general feel of the game.

Something stuck me about the font though, didn't fit perfectly I think. (the ingame one)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Did I save the people, or am I responsible for their death? This is really hard stuff. Incredible mood, but annoying sound. Something slower would fit better

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16pm

This is really well done! Love the graphics, audio, and concept. I truly suck at making these decisions apparently :D

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Heh, that was a cute idea. I especially like the graphics.

vvolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Very nice graphics, idea and mood.
Seems like a very simple solution, but it works so well. Great job!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I did enjoy the fact someone clearly said during this game's development "What if people don't want to read all that intro text?" :>

Nice style though, I'm always a fan of good pixel work.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I also did a pixel-art branching path game! Yours branches way better than mine though. Good job, nice replay value.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Fantastic soundtrack and graphics! Very interesting approach to the theme. Enjoyed it quite a bit!

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice game! I would have likes a way to restart a new game (like pressing 'r').

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Oh, I see some real A-bomb enthusiasm! Too bad I read the whole intro first, just then tl;dr :( Great game, but I feel responsible for that :<

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

Nice graphics and story-telling, but audio is bit repetitive.

mutilator says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:48pm

9906533 needs more explosions

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Only played through long enough to get two endings (tried to polarize things: kill everyone or save everyone), enjoyable game though. Graphics were great, and I loved that you tl;dr'd almost everything lol.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:45am

good job

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Good graphics, nice overall feeling. Seems that there is no way to restart game, except for closing it and starting again.

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:24pm

really love those options :D

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:42am

Great mood and interesting moral choices. Not sure if it was by design but the consequences of most of my actions were not evident on my first play through when I made the choice. Kind of have to play to the end to see the results, then play again, now having a better idea of what causes what.

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Interesting concept. Loved the tl;dr messages :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]