August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pizzapocalypse 20XX

by GrooveMan - Jam Entry

Edit: Updated to split version formats for a smaller filesize (and because I was told the All version wasn't working on Linux).

A retrofuture visual novel, mashing high fantasy with modern subculture. You are Alana Sorayama, codename Neon Berserker. A bounty hunter by trade, you are about to confront an evil Glam Necromancer and his nefarious scheme to destroy all pizza in the world!

Made in Ren'Py, and worked on by two people, both new to Ludum Dare and Ren'Py! Wicked did the art, and Nathan did the words (and ironically awful titlecard).

Music is by Kevin MacLeod. Sound effects ripped from The World Ends With You.

The link should also contain working versions for OS/X and Linux, if I understand Ren'Py's exporting system correctly. If not, I will look into uploading OS/X and Linux versions separately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#47Humor(Jam)3.68
#89Graphics(Jam)4.09
#157Mood(Jam)3.27
#206Overall(Jam)3.30
#207Fun(Jam)3.12
#207Audio(Jam)3.07
#441Innovation(Jam)2.58
#461Theme(Jam)2.70

Comments

Overkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

I loved the writing and the artwork. The characters are wonderful, and I gotta say, the Glam Necromancer was the cutest villain ever. Aaaa play this!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08am

It's actually cross platform, not just Widows!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Was very amusing, art was awesome!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56am

It looks so cool, nice work!

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37am

Pretty entertaining story you have here, and nice art too!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48am

That was intense storytelling

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59am

Loved the look and the sound, wouldn't have minded a bit more gameplay. :-)

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51am

Awesome game. One of my favourite entries. Great art and characters, pretty good music, funny story. Near perfect !

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

Pretty basic use of the theme though, and TOO SHORT !

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40pm

i enjoyed this a lot, the writing and artwork is great.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very good entry, liked it all (except too short but what can you do in 72 hours :P)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

The art style was so unique, even if the colors were kind of blindingly over-saturated; five stars for mood! These guys deserve their own universe. Would have loved to see even more custom designed things like an HUD/fonts but the important thing in 72 hours was the glamtastic story!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I'll admit I was rather skittish about messing with the default GUI graphics out of a fear I'd break shit, or I'd end up submitting something that looked sloppily done. Ren'Py is easy to use, but I am Not A Fan of its documentation.

Still though, I've learned a lot! My next foray into Ren'Py will def. be more ambitious. By the by, both me and Wicked are blown away by all these positive comments. We're so happy you've enjoyed playing.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Love the idea. I thought the 10s would be a last minute forced into the story but you worked it into the game in a way that I didn't expect it to.

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Abolutely hilarious! The art is wonderful!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

That was a sweet story, I'm glad I saved the world from a pizzapocalypse. Love that priest has a cross patterned hoodie. also the typo (was it?) near the end made me laugh... "sharted" instead of "started".

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:38am

That was pretty cool, I haven't seen anything like the time restraint mechanic in a visual novel before. The art and the music was good, the writing was funny. Nice job.

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Cool artwork!! Awesome! Thanks for game

Yngar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I love those characters, great writing and the art is amazing.

epiplon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Haha, I had fun. Nice story.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Loved the writing and graphics. Really hooked me in with the story, great job :D

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

This game is super dynamic fun! Let me know if you want help redoing the interface in Ren'py.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:25am

Fantastic work you two!!!

ananasblau says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:17am

Haha, unlicensed manipulation of deceased sound so nice but i don't want to think about it.

Hillarious story, sounds, music, graphics all there. Excellent work for your first ludum dare.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:59am

Awww.. A pizza heart :3
Despite being not a game, but an interactive story, the player hasn't really an impact on (the game needs you to get to the "good" ending), I enjoyed it. The artwork was good and the music did fit the game.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Ah, there are people that would heavily contest that kind of definition of a game. I presently work on the paradigm that a game is "an experience defined by rules", if that gives context.

I did consider including an option to turn down Priest's offer to reset things, leading to the game ending, but that doesn't achieve much other than making the player go through everything again if they didn't save.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:27am

like the idea -- not sure where the theme fit in -- also the characters swearing took away from the otherwise fine scripting you were doing -- nice effort

Mandraw says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Reaaaly good !
tough I dint like the theme was used I think everything else is so good , it almost overcomes it !

Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:41pm

short, fun and good art style, pretty unique entry really. good jam.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]