August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Where Lights Never Wander

by Puck - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My incomplete entry to the Ludum Dare 27 Competition made with Unity.

This was my first entry into a LD competition and it was quite a hectic experience. I mismanaged my time terribly, so some elements of the game are finished and polished, while others are unfinished or missing.

The theme is implemented as your character's lifespan being ten seconds, with the possibility of extending it by collecting additional lights which also last ten seconds each.

Looking forward to the possibility of returning for Ludum Dare 28!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Audio2.77
#686Mood2.56
#769Graphics2.55
#919Innovation2.45
#971Humor1.33
#1026Theme2.52
#1052Overall2.45
#1074Fun2.14
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Fun little game, I've no idea if this was supposed to happen but I found a green cube, touched it and then changed level where there was nothing and kept running out of time.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I really liked where this was going! It wasn't clear to me that hitting the tree hurt me at first, but after that I enjoyed controlling the player.

The opening text could do with being skippable as it's quite slow. Other than that, keep working on it :)

Puck says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25am

Thanks for the comments! Unfortunately I had a mere hour to actually build levels after the gameplay and other miscellaneous elements were finished, so I only managed to crank out one poorly designed level. I had planned (and still do) to create four or five levels of much longer length. I do believe I will continue to develop the game to a finished state now that the competition is over, and release the full version on my website.

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

yup, keep working on it ! seemed quite interesting. Playing with a Trackpad of my laptop was quite hard though :P

Puck says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:29am

WASD and a gamepad also work! I wanted to make the input as intuitive and flexible as possible, though touch is unfortunately not supported yet.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The music is a big plus, nice choice!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

This is a demon game. i keep touching the black parts. ahhh!!!!!!.

cool concept and the music is boss.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I just finished the game. i think :) keep working on this! :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very cool game, although instructions might have been helpful

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:21pm

The intro gave a nice sense of mood. It, in combination with the screenshot, kind of gave the impression that it would be a dark, moody game; thus I was a little disappointed when the game started and it turned out to be bright and happy.

I like the concept though; it's a shame you didn't have time to flesh it out.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:33am

I'm sorry to say I didn't really enjoyed that little game but I have to admit you are talnted with words. The title "Where Lights Never Wander" is very poetic and was the main reason I checked the game and the intro is quite well made and atmospheric.

Puck says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:01am

Thanks for the comments guys! I will update my entry with the finished game when I can find time to do proper level design and polish it up a bit, including tutorial instructions on the first level.

BlackBulletIV: I sympathize with your feelings. My idea for the game was for each level to advance time toward night, becoming progressively darker, more moody, and of course more difficult. Unfortunately I completely ran out of time before the first level was even finished.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Great title. That's what made me click and see your entry. The intro should be skippable pressing some key.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:31am

Cool idea and story, I like what gameplay there is. Glad to hear you plan on developing it further

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]