August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GO AWAY I'M EXPLODING

by sirtetris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

= = = C O N T R O L = = =

move : arrow keys
jump : up / space



= = = S T O R Y = = =

Someone tied a bomb onto you and two precious friends are about to visit. Prevent their death and you'll be sent back to the living. Unfortunately, people seem to misunderstand your reincarnation resulting in an evergrowing popularity of your person. Even when you're sent back to the most remote and bizarre places there's always at least one fruitcake trying to get near you.

Followers of the cult forming around your case soon started creating cheesy statues depicting you. Try to stop the madness by taking these symbols of stupidity with you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#43Humor3.82
#213Fun3.38
#260Theme3.48
#316Innovation3.31
#610Overall3.00
#712Mood2.52
#894Graphics2.31

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Fun but glitchy in Chrome, the character dissappears when he explodes and is replaced with an image icon :/

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

Thanks for pointing that out! Fixed it. :)

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

The controls aren't working, Chrome acts as if I'm not interacting with the game (space makes the page scroll down)

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

Ahaha oh wow, I'm laughing at this humor, it's simply great. Good job, simple gameplay, interesting setting. 10/10

Citiral says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

Amazing game! It was truly original!

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

Chrome works for me.
Lol, at first I thought I was a terrorist and I had to kill max number of people ;-)
Then I realized it's the opposite !

Funny and innovative concept

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Really creative idea! Also, great humor. Very good.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

10/10 would explode again.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Nice idea.. Great job! ;)

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Fun premise and some great little touches like the maniac grins of your fans and the spurts of blood. Good tricky level design too. One or two sounds (explosions particularly) would have been nice but I really enjoyed playing this.

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Strange game. I like the mechanics.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

The concept actually was more fun then I expected. Could be a great game with larger level and features. Nice job!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

Awesome premise, the expressions on your friends' faces and the way they move had me laughing out loud.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44am

Funny take on the 10 seconds time limit, like it :) Reminds me of a Flashpoint ep.

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Fun little game. I was thinking that the game would be a bog-standard platformer but I was pleasantly surprised to see a lot of thought had gone into the level design to turn it more into puzzle platformer. There are glitches in the collision detection in places and the use of acceleration, rather than a steady distance per frame, for the movement code was a little bit of a shame - as well as the lack of any audio.

But it was a really fun game to play and figure out and the concept was quite funny. Well done!

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Damn, thats exacly what happens when somone ties a bomb to me!

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice game! I don't really get why they go after me, but that increases the humor rank :)
Btw I couldn't focus the game, so it scrolled to bottom once I pressed space. You can fix it by adding the tabindex="0" attribute to the gameField <div> ;)

sirtetris says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32pm

> You can fix it by adding the tabindex="0" attribute to the gameField <div> ;)

done :)


Thanks to everyone for the nice feedback so far!

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

really funny entry. nice job.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Was kinda fun

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 1:54pm

awsome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]