August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds To Live

by 5ants team - Jam Entry

Game created by Xavi Terris, Marc Terris, Albert Badosa, Luis Miguel Blanco and Miguel Santirso.
Music by Alex Rodríguez Flaqué

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.19
Coolness62%
#6Overall(Jam)4.13
#9Graphics(Jam)4.67
#15Mood(Jam)4.07
#31Fun(Jam)3.73
#48Innovation(Jam)3.71
#103Audio(Jam)3.45
#155Humor(Jam)2.94

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30am

Really nice game, good design

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

It's a very pretty game, but I found there just wasn't enough time to actually explore, and certainly not enough time to solve several of the puzzles in a row in 10 seconds. Re-solving the same puzzles each time also didn't help. It would be really interesting to play if there wasn't a time limit, though.

shohs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

This is pretty interesting. I especially liked the art style, so good job on that. On minor thing that could be improved is possibly continuing to play the music while investigating things. Good job!

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

The game is pretty nice, but it doesn't really fit with the theme and all. A game where you explore + a 10 second timelimit isn't a good combination. Other than that, the art style and music is pretty nice. Also, I haven't really found any glitches. Not important, but using both the spacebar and ctrl button seemed redundant and could have been combined into one button. (Only important when you gotta go fest)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15am

Beautiful looking game. I couldn't make something this nice looking over time let alone 72 hours.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38am

Hint to people getting stuck and without time to progress: Explore the bathroom first ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38am

I got everything quickly except how to actually open the door of the room XD But the game was fun, though a bit short (but then, LD ^_-). And I really like the design!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53am

It's incredibly awesome, man! Really enjoyed with it!

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Nicely done, also fits the theme.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Wonderful game and great design.

wccrawford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14pm

That was a great game!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29pm

This was a really fun entry with nice, non-obtrusive audio and a gorgeous art style.
I thought it fit the theme quite nicely.
Would be interested in an expansion of sorts.
Great job, guys!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Fits the theme well and really well designed. I enjoyed it a lot!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

OMG the graphics are so terrific!!!
The game story is also good.
Cheers.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Wow..
Best game so far, I like the idea, the setup and graphics, even the theme ties in well.
Great job..

A bit hard, but that's the idea I guess.. just it doesn't get to repetative.

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Funny game. Good design !

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Brilliant palette!

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Really intriguing, though I didn't manage to finish it even after getting the pills. Is there a walkthrough somewhere?

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Cool take on the theme, i liked the idea of reliving 10 seconds over and over again and having to piece together where the antidote is hidden.

Art, Music & Game Design are great. I really had fun playing it (and I also liked the ending ^^).

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Very good game, I love the graphic style.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

We like the game, got the Olives, but died alone before finding the antidote.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

You turned the theme into a very nice plot! Altogether very well presented. I'd prefer to have just the spacebar instead of spacebar and ctrl. Also I seem to lose keyboard focus sometimes, so I have to click on the scenery to be able to move the character again.

Neil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I really liked this! It fit the theme very well, was fun to figure out and the art was fantastic!

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Really great game! Only the highest rates for you. Because of 10 seconds theme and time limitation I died a lot of times to fully explore the house. Game art is stunning. Level design is well planned. Game mechanic is smoth.

I think, if you'll make story line more detailed and increase time limit - it will be excellent game! Thank you!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Thanks for making this game.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

The art is stunningly good! I also enjoyed exploring the house and solving puzzles and mysteries.

I don't know if this is a bug, but the audio cut out every time I interacted with an object, and it was really jarring!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

enjoyed the art mucho.. interesting idea.. could see this evolving into something cool if you played around a bit more with how the time works..

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:26pm

wow - I'm blown away by how polished this is
very well done

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:50am

I couldn't run:

Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: tensecondhero.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 521df73d
Problem Signature 04: TenSecondHero
Problem Signature 05: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 521df73d
Problem Signature 07: 81
Problem Signature 08: 2d
Problem Signature 09: System.IO.FileLoadException
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 93dc
Additional Information 2: 93dc5102dc487fd12658226153db25f9
Additional Information 3: 0636
Additional Information 4: 06367b88ce1fd2879529443ee7b37c90

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:52am

Omg, wrong post LMAO ^^^^ That's what I get for having 5 Ludum Dare pages opened. Sorry about that.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:16am

very fun game idea!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:53pm

great just not enuf time to finish -- nice artwork

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Will post video review when ready.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Baah! After all the work I had to save him, he was just as ruthless (or worse) as the person who poisoned him. I really enjoyed this game.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:44am

That was an amazing goog game, loved the art, and the gameplay

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:14am

Really well-done mystery. It was tricky at times, but I think the pacing of the game was perfect.

One small issue I noticed though: after the ending scene, you're back in the house again, but with no objective. There should probably be some sort of end-game screen.

blackotus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I really like the way the theme is integrated in the game! Having ten seconds to cure yourself, and gradually finding new clues on how to do so is really neat.

I also like the narrative, told by the scenery.

The game looks really really good, too.

Top notch work!

blackotus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:46pm

As an addendum to the previous comment, we identify ourselves with your graphical style and love your use of colors!

Again, great job :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Wow, great game!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Great art style, and it did genuinely feel like a mystery that I wanted to solve, nice work

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I like the "Memento" structure of the story.
This game has a real tension during the whole adventure.
I had some trouble with the music, it's stopping every time I watch an item, is it intended ?

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:08pm

This is a very cool game. The mood was very intense and I was motivated to find all the hints to help the poor guy.
The ending is however a little bit strange

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:02am

great entry! fantastic visuals and good use of the theme for the story and gameplay. but i didn't like using ctrl and space, used space would have sufficed. also, the music stops every time i interact, which i found quite frustrating. the music is good though, sets the mood.

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Wonderful graphics, nice music, and it fits the theme perfectly.
(Thanks for the hint about the bathroom).

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:30am

The game looks nice and the idea is interesting. However, two major issues prevented me to have fun while playing it :
- The music pausing each time you investigate an item;
- The awkward "CTRL + SPACE" controls I keep mixing - why not only one button ?

Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:41am

very outstanding art. i particularly love your color palette.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]