August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I disagree

by papercaves - Jam Entry

I disagree.

The Duke of Pummlesbury has insulted your honour by claiming your hair is not bouffant enough. You disagree, and to show your discontent you proceed to destroy his establishment, and within 10 seconds at that.

In your fit of rage time seems to slow to a crawl, the more destruction you cause, the slower time seems.

Controls:

Click: Punch
Click and hold: Charge Uppercut
Release: Uppercut
Click (Airborne): Ground Slam

Code and Design: @jonboris
Art and Design: @papercaves

Reclaim your honour, and disagree as much as possible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Graphics(Jam)4.58
#29Fun(Jam)3.76
#61Humor(Jam)3.52
#109Overall(Jam)3.52
#181Mood(Jam)3.21
#248Audio(Jam)2.96
#276Theme(Jam)3.12
#406Innovation(Jam)2.68
#1906Coolness10%

Comments

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Amazing visual style you have! Even though the take on the theme was nothing extraordinary, the destroying mechanic itself was simple but addictive.

MRLIGHT234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

Would be awesome if you were to have stated the controls
even after playing it several times im still confused as to how
-Nice Arcade-y feel to it which i love
- great graphics and character design im obviously jealous about

aglushakov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice graphics and gameplay!

Very nice and attractive game!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Superb graphics! I was confused about how the game works at first, but got the hang of it quite quickly.
As the game is frustratingly short now, I recommend making a version with a less harsh time limit. ;-)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54pm

A fun way to kill time and blow off a little steam :P
Great graphics.
After a minute or so of playing, though, I ran out of scenery and my character disappeared, making the timer run out and resulting in a game over.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Once I found out about the uppercut move, the game really took off for me. In some ways literally, as I spent several seconds waiting for the character to fall back down to earth.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Ha, this is lovely. Love the choice of guineas :)

epaik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:08am

Fun!

I too ran out of screen space at the end though. My score was 4620

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37pm

lol, the flying combo was awesome!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Oh man more people have gotta play this! The graphics were great and it was so fun comboing stuff and flying through the air faster (reminded me of dkc2 in that kind of way : D) Really cool guys you should make an ipad game or something out of this!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

but this looks real good! fun to see original design!

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I love one-button-games
very well done

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Great concept!
Smashing stuff around is really fun, and the game looks great!

Keep up the good work!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Loved the style and really fun to play.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:58pm

interesting look and feel to this and very clever use of theme. nice one guys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]