August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chrono Defense

by Cardanis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: Deployment problems fixed! Compiled it in XNA instead of Monogame. It should work now. I wanted to make more content (levels and units) but spent the time I allotted to that working on deployment. Enjoy!

I spent the last three hours running into huge deployment issues, and I can't guarantete this will work on your Computer. If it doesn't, make sure you have .Net installed, as well as OpenAL and up to date graphics drivers for OpenGL. If that still doesn't work, then I'm sorry! I'm hopefully going to get this figured out before submissions end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#141Theme3.68
#239Overall3.41
#271Fun3.29
#298Mood3.08
#415Audio2.78
#508Innovation3.03
#705Graphics2.64
#750Humor1.94

Comments

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice! Very challenging. Love the soundtrack.

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice game. I could not get past level one haha but it was pretty cool.

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Tried my damnedest to win, but I kept getting overrun. Pretty fun take on RTS.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Good idea, i like it. And it's a good challenge.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18pm

A good fun game, wish there where more :D (btw is it possible to beat lvl 1?)

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I enjoyed the audio a lot. But it is quite difficult so my motivation dropped after 5 minutes playing :/

Cardanis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22pm

To those wondering, yes level 1 is beatable! (Having a sniper or two really helps with the hounds). I'm working on more post-competition Content that I will throw a link up for once it's done.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27pm

That was pretty cool! It's a nice take on defense games.

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Wow, this is hard. Level 1 was already too difficult for me.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

An engaging game the diversity of units adds a lot too it, shame there is only one level

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Really fun take on the Tower Defense genre, quite different from everything else I've played, really nice work!

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Really cool idea and fun, a bit hard though

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

The graphics were sweet. I died miserably on the first level. I'm not sure if I was missing rules or doing something wrong. I thought the unit selection screen was a cool way to represent purchasing points. Nice work!

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Couldn't get past the first level, but seemed quite fun. An interesting approach to the theme.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice game. Played a few rounds and did never survive, but was fun nonetheless.
The soothing music and the unit sounds did not go well together, I think. At least for my taste.

simple says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I just really like these kinds of games, nice one!

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I loved this game! The only thing that could make it better (with current gameplay elements) would be allowing you to micromanage your units. It's incredibly frustrating when I have 3 snipers and they all attack the little guys, instead of the wave of hounds attacking my foot soldier blockade :(

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:12pm

The sfx were far too loud compared to the background music, imo... The game needs balancing, right now, it is really too hard. Once you can select units, move them, etc, it would give more control to the player. Right now, it seems to depend a lot on luck... Still, it was fun playing it =)

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice concept, but not very well balanced out. I felt like just picking soldiers every time was the best option, but even then I couldn't win.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]