August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

It's You or Me

by JtM - Jam Entry

This is a two player game where you fight for survival while both plummeting to your doom (for 10 seconds ~490.5 meters).

The objective is to land on the other player's head in order to survive the fall.

Player 1 controls are WASD for movement and holding E to charge a dash move to stun your opponent.

Player 2 controls are Arrow keys for movement and / (i.e. ?) for charging dash.

Both players hold down to begin.

R resets the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Humor(Jam)3.17
#145Innovation(Jam)3.32
#285Fun(Jam)2.95
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#343Mood(Jam)2.76
#365Overall(Jam)2.95
#389Audio(Jam)2.50
#517Graphics(Jam)2.42
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

I'm drawn to simple stuff like this. Reminds me of Bennett Foddy. :)

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Hahahaha. Awesome gameplay with another friend. I would love to see this game played on a phone with bluetooth or internet :D

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

LOL! that death sound effect is too good XD

fun!

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

There was an old game similar to final fight where there was a scene light this one, where you fall and have to grab another guy. I think it was The Punisher.
Anyway, nice work

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

Hey John! :)
This is cool, a little info, like P1 wins! would be nice too

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Hah, pretty solid, but I am forever alone and have no one to play it with right now :( Some AI would have made it better for the jam :P?

Very well executed though, feels smooth and polished... good luck!

Oxydam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Great and fun game. A score for each player can be a great idea.

ravine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I love the splat sound effect! It would be cool if there was some sort of notification at the bottom to press 'r' to restart, and say who won.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Fun game

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

cool twist upon the usual fighting game stuff. could have a great future, never seen anything like it before. some music would be nice, but the sound effects are really satisfying.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Interesting idea. I tried it alone but definitively need another player to get the most of it. Are you planning on adding an IA post jam ?

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:35am

Simple multiplayer gameplay! Just wished the 'dash' effect had better feedback, we couldn't really tell what it did. Also a restart button at the end would help a bunch!

JtM says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 7:19am

I've made an updated version with animated characters that hopefully adds some more clarity and personality to the game: http://twolivesleft.com/ItsYouOrMe/Updated/Web.html

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]