August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ride the Bullet

by RadJor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very simple concept emphasizing speed and maneuverability. Give it a try and let me know your best score.

Play in third person of a bullet. You have 10 seconds to take down as many organization members as you can with your last bullet. Keep your speed up by hitting the orange boosters. Keep your bullet airborne by hitting the blue air currents

Controls: Left and Right or A and D to steer bullet. Space to restart.

UPDATE: I've added an Android build. This is my first attempt at building for android. I would love to hear some feedback as to how smoothly it runs and how difficult it is compared to the other builds. Controls: Tap left or right of screen to move left or right. Best in portrait mode.
**This is after the competition deadline, so ignore this for judging.

ANDROID BUILD:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/26106562/UnityProjects/RideTheBullet_Android.apk



-Jordan Sendar
Follow me @radjor64


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#121Fun3.54
#180Humor3.08
#295Innovation3.34
#296Overall3.33
#535Audio2.59
#536Theme3.20
#670Mood2.58
#757Graphics2.57

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Haha this was excellent! I would suggest adding more people to kill and less boxes... or maybe I just suck... lol ;) fun stuff.

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

Nice little power ups and the reaction on the people is great. I just kept having to try get further!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

I really had a lot of fun with that! Cool!

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Infinite running game is a little stale. But it fits the theme well.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55am

this is a pretty cool concept, lots of potential. but it seemed kinda buggy for me as the text was not being rendered correctly.
but kudos for the idea, lots of fun.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Great game, had a blast playing it. Couldn't score higher than 7, though. Will most likely come back for more later :).

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16am

@TheBlueRage: I appreciate it. Yeah it was a balancing act. I thought I'd make it tough for me (as a pretty bad gamer) and it would be good for others. Then again, I spent hours playing it :P.

@raincole: I agree :). Didn't very much like the theme, and the infinite running game thing is pretty generic.

@Omar_q8: can you give me an idea of what was wrong with the text so I can see if its something that I can replicate? Or is it just that the text looks bad, because it certainly does :)

Thanks everyone who played it so far. I really appreciate it!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Boom headshot. This game reminds me of the ending of Wanted. I'm a fan. Good job!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51am

Awesome game, I probably have a soft-spot for rag-doll damaging games like this but it was definitely fun =D

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

Haha this was my first time using ragdolls. I didn't have the best rig set up for them, so there was some funky behavior, but I thought they were necessary for this experience :P

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20am

Reminds me of the Korn Music Video =p

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Really cool concept. Simple, yet effective visuals, but the sound really pulled it together for me. Good work.

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06am

Interesting :D. Never saw such thing before.

I think the fonts on my browser are screwed up. It just shows squares or are they supposed to be like that?

RadJor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09am

That's really strange. I didn't do anything funky with fonts. Just arial font with a color change... not sure how I might fix a problem with something so basic :/ . You definitely should be seeing speed, time remaining, and points on the screen. Thanks for letting me know

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:56pm

That was a lot of fun and pretty addictive. Good work!

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

This game was truly fun to play

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

Fun stuff, I got up to 87. If I get a chance I may try and play the android version. Only thing that was kind of annoying was that at one point I knocked a box in front of me that picked up a bunch of speed and knocked several enemies out from in front of me. great game

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

Nice work! Simple, Yet really fun. Only thing I wanted was cool looking characters to blast through.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

LOL! Bodies everywhere!... This is fun, I love it xD ... Great stuff.

RadJor says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

Thanks so much guys for trying it out. I'm glad you had fun with it.

@RARRoadkill: That's a good score. Yeah they do go flying, kinda annoying. I'll have to decide how I want to approach them getting hit by boxes (stay still unless the force is big enough, then ragdoll, or maybe not react at all, who knows).

@asc3nsion: yeah, I just threw a crappy model together without any textures. I got a nice mafia suit texture going in a continued version i'm working on :P

MrBlade says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:52am

Nice work! I love the sound and the visuals were very nice. I think this game used Unity's physics engine in a pretty cool way. Keep it up!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice game ! Lot of fun :)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

I like the set up to the game. I was disappointed when a box that I hit flew hit one of the mob members off the map, I was hoping for that kill.

haxpor says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Hey, I found that your idea is pretty similar and close in concept to mine as well :)

First time I play this, I smile and laugh of how happy I can go along with the game with less effort trying to grasp the concept! Nice work!

Grafter says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Excellent game! loved the idea and the feel!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Nice game. Man, I WISH you could curve bullets like that guy!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]