August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Celly

by JimmyDelaney19 - Jam Entry

My first Game Jam! Made with my friend Kevin over the course of the weekend. Hopefully you guys like our game, we had a lot of fun making it. All feedback is much appreciated!

Features 5 levels and different enemies with different behavior. Level 5 doesn't have a win goal, just feel free to play for however long you like.

PostCompoWeb Update!
-Endless sprawling level
-Lots of AI tweaks/bug fixes
-Added circles around each enemy to indicate whether you can eat them or not.
-Tweaks to sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#41Mood(Jam)3.78
#108Graphics(Jam)3.97
#115Fun(Jam)3.38
#150Audio(Jam)3.26
#186Overall(Jam)3.35
#234Innovation(Jam)3.10
#309Humor(Jam)2.35
#379Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

Remembers me of Spore or something like that... or is it Osmos... doesnt matter... Your game is super nice... great mood fantastic gameplay. I like it ;)

Acr1m says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49am

Woo! Great work on the project Jimmy, looking forward to next Jam.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Nice graphics :) and simple game but I didn't like the day night transition :( sometimes I die in the transition

Also I died one time when the level started becz there was a big one at the spawn point

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I like it. It controls similar to my submission Viral Attack (only in reverse ). Osmos was definitely an inspiration for us. Good work.

Your art is better than ours though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

LOVE THE GAME!!! This game is great, cute graphics, a fun relaxing game to play and a great entry. I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vsw

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Tried really hard to crash the level 5, but that's just too difficult.

Could've use 10 seconds indicator in every level, if you ask me.

Excellent audio and mood.

Acr1m says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05pm

@HD408 The music actually serves as the 10 second indicator.

Every phrase of the song (4 measures of 3 beats each) is equal to 10 seconds exactly. But we didn't do well in translating that across to the player regretfully <_<

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Nice work. It feels good to move around and I love the pickup sound effect.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:03am

Very peaceful to look at and play, though the death messages feel kinda out-of-tone with the rest of the game.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

That was a really nice game to play. The art looked pretty, the music matched, the gameplay was addictive. It was pretty good entry. Nice job on this.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:46am

very pretty and relaxing! the different death descriptions were a nice touch

codifeye says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:31am

I love the graphics, the background is great and the other little cells you collect. Nice job!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12am

Looks beatiful, nice to play, although the fact that you are blind for a second after switching worlds makes your survival a bit random. just as in real life i guess..
Good and fitting music.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:21am

This was great, really enjoyed the atmosphere. Nice music and visuals. Very relaxing game.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I like it, game is very relaxing me ;) Cheers!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:32am

What an awesome game! Great job the both of you!

netmute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very atmospheric. The huge red things creeped me out :)
Reminded me of Osmos.

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:44am

The lighting and mood in this game is phenomenal - great work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Fantastically cool looking! Sound - the bomb! I fell in love with this game!

tigerj says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:06am

really fun and original entry. Great work.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Woo! One of the best in the fun category, I played the last level for hours! There are 2 glitches, one was actually fun and the other was a bit of a bother. The respawn mechanism is not very accurate so sometimes we respawn in the outside area of the main square, it was actually fun as on the outside tere are not so much enemies and I can grow larger without being eaten. 2nd, sometimes one of te sounds freezes for 20 seconds or more but then it fades.

It was really a great entry, I just wish I could grow ultra big but before I can reach that size there is allways some red cell that grows the size of the moon and fills the screen.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:23pm

@ Lokarunith

Nice! I'm really glad you liked the game! We are still working on the game, and both the issues you mentioned have been addressed.

The current version has no border around the map now. It is endless level with no bounds. The sound not fading out has also been fixed(I'm pretty sure). We've also fixed the spawn logic a bit to make sure enemies don't spawn right on you. The day night transition has been altered so that the player never completely loses vision. Lots of other small tweaks to fish AI and things.

Maybe I should post a post jam web build?

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I really loved this game. Fun idea, well implemented, good sounds and music, nice graphics, yeah, really great. Well done! :D

I would have prefered if I didn't have to hold down the mouse button while moving, but as the keyboard controls were really great I used that instead, so no big problem. :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:31pm

@JimmyDelaney19: I would be very pleased if you did that, thank you.

Could you tell me what were your influences? I really loved the concept and I want to know if there are more games with the same idea, the only game that I played that was similar to this one was flOw.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:36pm

@Lokarunith The only real influence was Osmos. I never played flOw but heard about it. People also say it reminds them of spore, which I never played either.

I'll try get a new web build up by Tuesday at the latest. I'm currently trying to optimize it for iOS and Android.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Good game :) tried first with mouse, that was really awkward to move, but then when I tried with the arrow keys it got way easier xD

xrm0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:11pm

good game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]