August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Skafgatch

by VeloSpectre - Jam Entry

Keys
Movement: A->Left D->Right
Jump: W or Space
Select Door: E
Attack: J

Story
You are the young adventurer named Char. Upon adventuring into the sewers you stumble across a series of doors that either open or close every 10 seconds. Venturing further into the sewers you realize you are not alone. A strange creature approaches. LOOK OUT! It's a Skafgatch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#193Graphics(Jam)3.63
#478Humor(Jam)1.53
#482Mood(Jam)2.32
#578Fun(Jam)2.00
#579Overall(Jam)2.33
#581Theme(Jam)1.96
#594Innovation(Jam)1.91
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

Great graphics!

Please rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=21017

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Couldn't get any higher then room 9. All doors lead back to 8.
And the creatures don't seem to do anything to me - except blocking.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I like how you put each room in the middle of the dark !

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:09am

As of right now the enemies do not attack essentially making them a moving object. This is something we are going to change as soon as we can. Also we will look into the door issue and we plan to make have multiple doors open as well as adding items to the game. Thanks for the feedback guys!

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

nice artwork! great job!

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

Well done, very few people have some sort of animation (The creature dying)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Wow, amazing graphics. Well done!
But I must say that the gameplay is a bit dull at the moment. What am I supposed to do? Am I trying to escape? And why don't the Skafgatchs harm me?
And I'm not quite sure where the "10 seconds" theme is in your game.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Graphics really catches all my attention!

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@Urfoex I believe I have fixed the door loopback problem that was occurring before so go ahead and redownload the .jar and let me know if it happens again.

@ZYXer The skafgatches don't harm you because the code for them attacking did not get done in time. Also the 10 seconds them is that the doors toggle every 10 seconds.

Thank you everyone for the feedback.

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:05pm

The character sprites are very good.

The control scheme is a little strange. I believe arrow keys would have worked better.

Keep at it! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:09am

graphics were nice but the game did not seem to have a purpose -- good effort

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

Found the game to be very glitchy, but the graphics are good! Good attempt! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:05am

Kinda Glitchy, sometimes I would end up on top of the monsters then I couldn't kill them, and couldn't get to the door... Good graphics though.

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Really great artwork :D
Gameplay got dull pretty quickly though..

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Pretty good artwork, but after a few rooms it all felt the same.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:12pm

interesting monster design and excellent graphics, I enjoyed this. Can the character die btw?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]