August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fast Explorer

by Acrimiens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You start as a Skillfull explorer seeking the treasure, you have activated the trap of this dungeon so you will have to suscesfully complete all the stages in less than 10 seconds. Will you become the faster among all explorers?

Follow the tips given when the timer reach 0 seconds.

In the middle of the game there is a save point.

I personally recomend playing this game in full screen, the envolving experience will be improved.

I've made this game using the following tools
- Unity 4.2
- Qubicle Constructor
- Photoshop
- Cubase

I sincerelly hope you enjoy it. Regards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#115Graphics3.82
#274Theme3.47
#351Mood3.00
#402Humor2.53
#409Overall3.20
#479Audio2.69
#677Fun2.78
#756Innovation2.71

Comments

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59am

Ok this was funny but really hard. I tried the second level about 6-7 times and I can't complete it, but my skill on this types of games is -1, so, good job!

I'm going to keep trying :)!

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Like Zekyon, I'm stuck in level 2.
Good:
I like the graphics and how you implemented the 10-s restriction.
It's level based, so you could work on more in a post-ludum version.

Bad:
So hard.
You have to lose once to know what you need to find in that level.
When you fail, you start from level 1 again.

Cheers ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Cool idea!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Looks really good and feels well put together. Kinda tough!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Really hard ! Stuck at level 2 me too

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Good job, the models look great! Levels are not so difficult after you fail them once. :)

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Neat idea, and I liked the atmosphere. My one complaint is the lack of friction between you and the ground; it made it so much harder to pull off jumps. All in all, a good game though.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

It looks nice but I lose a lot of times :(

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Nice game, mouse control was a bit stiff and i couldn't get past level 4. Otherwise very good!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I like this! You should add some death message when you fall from the world and level loading so you don't start from the begining every time u fail. Otherwise I love it!

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Thanks all!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Good work, why restart in the beginning if you fail?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Kind of like the game, a bit annoying that you have no idea where to go first time in most levels. Don't understand why looking up and down is so slow.

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Interesting idea. I wish you got a message about what to do before dying though. Couldn't get to the treasure room door after numerous attempts, and no hint in the death message there.

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Music got really repetitive after a while, and the y-axis mouse look was way too insensitive, but other than that it was quite fun (I completed it).

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Pretty fun, but I have a few complaints.
Level 2 seems a bit arbitrary, it's hard to figure out what to do.
Level 4 breaks the previous theme of only using the lens flare for the goal, so that causes some confusion.
Level 5 has a missing collider, and seems to be unbeatable.

Lurieh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I like the visuals.
But a FPS with tight platforming is not something that should be done at all. Unless maybe with VR?
Stuck at level 5, I stopped after falling through the last platform a few times. Can we actually land our feets on this one?
The fact that we have to start all levels if we don't catch a passing point is quite frustrating too :p

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

"Cant you even jump? Boooh" :) hilarious
It would be more fun, if I didnt have to start all over again every time I fail somehow

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Very cool game! I love the 3d art. It could have been really cool if the interface (fonts and intro screen) had followed the same pixel style..

Game wise it was quite entertaining and addictive! It was a little tedious in level 2 when you fall over the edge, that you didn't restart right away (to me some time to figure it out). And also a little tedious to restart from level 1 every time - but i guess that's a part of what makes it challenging ;)

I got to level 6 (just after the treasure) but i simple couldn't figure out how to progress! Hope i didn't miss much more levels.

Overall a fun experience!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Cool cool! But I kept falling on second level. Must be a restart button or restart from the current level.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Great look. I found it a bit too hard and got stuck on the 2nd level though, couldn't work out what to do

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Really neat game. The artstyle is very simple (but nice) and reminds me of the old Ace of Spades.

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Kind of frustrating having to repeat levels, when they seem designed to be impossible to beat on your first try. Like fake platforms you couldn't anticipate (unless that was a glitch I guess?), or the dwarf one (why am I running to him? He isn't shining like everything else was...). I like the graphics in the levels there seems to be a lot of interesting things in each level, certainly more than you can take in in the limited time, which is good.

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Great job with this, well done :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:18pm

I liked the visuals and the game plays pretty well, but it's pretty darn difficult. It's never very clear from the start where you need to go, and the fake platform caught me off guard. You can't figure out what to do without at least dying once a room, and having to start all over again.

I had fun with it though, wish it just was more clear what to do.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Awww man. Played to the last level surely 10 times until I finally made it to the treasure room. And then [Spoiler Alert, kind of], since I expected to be rewarded somehow (e.g. by not having to play any further :D), I lost motivation when it still wasn't over.
Very cool idea and execution.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

can't figure out how the beat the 5th room before the treasure, but i really like everything with it and hope you'll expand on the game in the future.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]