August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Ghost

by Sephiroth87 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little puzzle game in which you need to make our little guy reach the exit of each level.
I don't want to say much more that this, as I'd like the game to speak for himself, but just know that it involves ghosts and time travel :P
I hope you'll enjoy it

Spoilers below if you want to know more about the gameplay.

Also, I've added a Video Walkthrough if you get stuck but still want to see more :)

WASD or Arrow Keys to move

PS: if you finish the game, leave me a comment or a tweet :) (@Sephiroth87)

============
PRO TIP
============
If you'd like to try that feature everyone is asking in the comments, and know a little bit about lua/love, you can enabled it in main.lua, you'll find it commented out in love.update ;)





GAMEPLAY SPOILERS HERE
=============================
Every 10 seconds, you'll be teleported to the beginning of the level.
At the beginning, that will be it, but as you progress, your "past ghosts" will start to appear, and replay you previous 10 seconds, helping you present self reach the exit by keeping doors open. Each level generates a different number of ghost, each one will play your moves from further in the past

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#82Theme3.80
#189Innovation3.54
#224Overall3.43
#241Mood3.19
#296Fun3.26
#330Audio2.94
#446Graphics3.06
#563Humor2.22

Comments

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

This game is great! I love the idea and the execution of the game! Great work!

netguy204 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

One of my highest ratings so far. I love your core mechanic and the gameplay works out to be really fun. Great work!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20am

Super cute, good idea, and some enjoyable music. My only feedback would be it would be nice if there was a way to speed up time so you could jump to the next ghost without waiting.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Nice gameplay mechanics, very original! :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

I like it, It's a really interesting concept!!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

@Elrobo: there was in debug mode, but i felt it would ruin the theme a bit :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Really great! I vaguely remember a flash game with a similar concept. Great execution!

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Good game. Could have used a "I want to kill this ghost now" button to be faster. But it is a great idea which could be expanded into a bigger game :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Very nice game! Some sort of indication of how many ghosts you have would be nice. Also, if you could have a reset button so you ca get rid of the distracting ghosts when you screw up.

Great job!

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Great idea! Fits the theme very well. And difficult. I did not make it past level 11 yet :)

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

I love it. Would have been nice for each level to show how many ghosts you can use, but it's just a minor nuisance. A kill-ghost button would also have been useful. Entertaining though, a really good logic puzzle!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Reminds me of "the company of myself" don't remember where It was though.Corners are somtimes wierd...
Nice Game!

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Great puzzler. The ghost mechanic isn't too new but you've made a nice variant of it.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Out of all the games I played so far, I liked this one the most :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nice work! Having to wait 10 seconds to retry something/place one ghost a tile away was a bit tedious, but the gameplay was really challenging!

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

This is a great puzzle game. Great job all around.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Nice idea. Match for the "Death is useful" theme too :)
We definitely needs a "fastforward" button to kiil the current ghost now.

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26pm

This is harder than it looked! Graphics are looking neat and the ghost character is nicely implemented. Well done :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Great concept. It can get boring while waiting 10 seconds repeatedly, a way to speed it up would be nicer.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very cool, and nicely polished.
Interesting mechanics. I have seen this before, but I like your take on it, and you can see that you have thought about the progression through the levels and training the player with new skills and problems.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Yay for Löve!

I only got about nine or ten levels into it. My brain doesn't lend itself very good to memory based games. Once the number of switches ramped up, I started to lose track of what they did, and at that point, the cost of experimentation got very high (having to wait for past ghosts to clear out, etc. Otherwise I got confused by who-does-what). For players like me, a "reset" button and potentially a hint button (which switch toggles what) would help a lot.

I think the core mechanic is solid though, the graphics are cute, and it fits very well with the theme. Good job! :)

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Nice game. Reminded me a lot of Echoshift. I made it to the 11th puzzle before I stopped. I probably would have played longer if there were a way to skip to the next "play" rather than wait the full 10 seconds.

While the mechanic may not be novel, I was really impressed with the quality of the levels. It didn't take long to reach ones that had really elegant approaches. Well done.

tamashihoshi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Gave this game overall 4 stars~

Innovation:****
I already have seen a similar game but there aren't many games like this out there.. and it's not just something almost new but also very good executed
Fun:****
The game is fun if you like such a puzzle genre..
Theme:*****
10 seconds. I think the timer in the upper left corner speaks for itself.
Graphics:**
I think the graphics are a bit too simple for my taste... and in addition the character you play is a bit hyperactive... (the animation contrasts the movement speed alot..) But actually the graphics doesn't matter so you can overlook this low rating..
Audio:****
Well... there is music! And it is not annoying~
it matches the visuals.. not sure if 3 or 4 stars but I gave 4 to even out the graphics
Overall:****
Definetly a game worth a try.. I myself didn't play this game for a long time but still have an impression of the game..
-Good job!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Great use of the 10 second theme. Loved the puzzles, very solid!

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

The two biggest things that would help would be some way of resetting the whole level (all ghosts back to start) and some kind of feedback about which ghost I was currently controlling (number labels, colors, somethin like that) Good job!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Amazing!!! Idea is great, performance is at a very high level.
Damn good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]