August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

YorkTime

by Steve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YorkTime!
Interactive video game from the cold mountains of Sweden!
-------

Playable version featuring 1 tutorial level, 1 ordinary level, and 1 end screen.

Controls/info, in case tutorial is incomprehensible (or tl;dr):
- Step 1: click to place nodes
- Step 2: hit space to start 10 second turn
- Step 3: wait, character will move automatically towards next node in line
- Step 4: repeat until the goal is reached!

Protip missing from tutorial: if the turn is still running but no nodes are left, hit space to instantly end the turn.
Also, press M to toggle music (why would you want to?!)

Software used:
- Unity 4 (game!)
- MonoDevelop 2.8.2 (code!)
- Presonus Studio One 2 (music, sound fx!)
- Adobe Photoshop CS6 (graphix!)
- Blender 2.68a (3d super models!)
- mIRC 7.32 (complain, spam test links!)

Hardware used:
- Personal computer (code, test, everything!)
- Elektron Monomachine (music, sound fx!)
- Canon 6D (overkill!)
- Wacom Intuos 5 (write, paint!)

Beverages, nutrients enjoyed:
- Coffee (yum)!
- Billy's Pan Pizza (Burning Pepper!)

Also, due some confusion/uncertainy on IRC, the source archive also includes assets. I'm not sure they're required, probably not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#250Innovation3.41
#269Audio3.05
#313Mood3.06
#419Graphics3.11
#525Humor2.27
#610Overall3.00
#765Theme2.93
#805Fun2.64

Comments

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:14pm

DAT Load =X
Tou should check your resources and make this small or create a .exe or something like this.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27am

The Windows version has an .exe!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Arhg, how to pass the pit? Can't figure out.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

And it's very dark.

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

I remember playing the tech demo of this that you put up on the IRC, and I though that it would make for a GREAT game. I was right! This is addictive, and extremely well built.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

I cant wait to try

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Strange game, but I liked the graphics. Definitely had a nice mood to it.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

This would make for a really cool RTS :D

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Not my kind of game, to be honest, so'll rate on what I could appreciate and understand: I liked the music and the mood. The graphics were too dark, in second level. I understand the reasoning behind such decision, but it was hard to see the platforms. I couldn't pass the second level, even with protips.

I had no fun while playing this game, since this is not the kind of game I like to play.

Game ran smoothly on Arch Linux 64 bits.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

*HINT/SPOILER*

Some people seem to miss the tutorial sign which tells you that you can switch node types with the 1/2/3 keys.

Try that if you get stuck!

Type 2 isn't used in any of the levels though.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

I liked the flow of the game. Most other games this time are really fast paced, this was a nice alternative.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

$%^&ing Right! (I'll actually play your game later)

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

Nice job! For some reason this kind of reminds me of Little Big Planet, I really really liked the different pointer types, and 1,2,3 was a good way to switch. Music was nice, visuals were well done. The time was a bit annoying, but other than that, get it up!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

took me 3 tries to understand how to use the jump correctly but liked the gameplay

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

Interesting concept, i found the control scheme to be unique and fun. But i think the instructions could be improved.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

Very cool concept. Nice visuals—brilliant. I did get a bit confused and my character ended up stuck. I want to play this more though, which is more than I can say for some entries.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20am

Very interesting concept. I found myself playing by putting down only one or two nodes at a time, then resetting the clock with space. Seems like there's not a big incentive (at least in the first level or two) to string together longer sequences, but I suppose you'd want to introduce that sort of thing to the player gently in any case. Sorry for the novel haha, really good work - got me thinking! :D

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17am

To the last commenter: You're right! I never got around to implementing any real levels, puzzles or real challenges. I definitely have some ideas for the future though. Thanks for playing!

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

awesome mecanic

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09am

It semm that I'm not able to jump the pit.. seems pretty fun tough.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14am

Neat concept! Reminded me of Sphere and Droidscape: Basilica.

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Gameplay is strangely satisfying.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37am

Good game, I got spooked by the popping face. The thing moves way too slow to my tastes, honestly, but it's an interesting mechanic nonetheless.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

This is a game I will need to come back to to fully understand. There are loads of good things about it. I like the graphics and I've never played anything like this before. I think I will end up really liking it.

But so far I'm finding it more frustrating than fun. Probably because I'm trying to zoom in to see the tutorials, that are written in handwriting that's hard to read, on a screen that is too dark, while accidently clicking the screen and placing a node where I didn't want it, all the while being driven crazy by the repetive music.

That sounds really negative. But I do think this will be really good one day.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

The music can be muted with M!

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Interesting idea. Not sure what the point of the Stop node is, however. I wish hitting space would reset the view to your player. Good job, regardless!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice control mechanics. Additional points for adding a zoom function. :) And the music had a nice beat to it. Solid game!

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49pm

It looks cool but it feels very tedious that you can't barely see anything and have to hope for the best.
I think the game would be better if it was just one screen for each level and then you have to command the player over the obstacles within those 10 seconds.

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Pretty cool and fun, have no idea how I'm supposed to pass that pit though.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

good job

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

As far as I got, this game was great! I couldn't seem to get past the scary face, though. But the textures are excellent, and the music is great. The mechanic seemed promising, and was fun to mess around with for a while, but doesn't seem like it was used to its full potential... At least not in the first two levels.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Really interesting idea and nice looking graphic

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Dig the music!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

A clever game, I love puzzle game and this one would be awesome in a complete feature. Plus, the theme is respected in a unique way, it easy to lear. Quite an inpressive work in 48hours.

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27am

Cool game!

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

I think you utilized the theme very well. The darkness and music (and creepy face) set the mood very nicely. I got stuck at the creepy face actually but might end up trying to beat it later. From a gameplay perspective, the mechanics were neat and unique. It took me a bit to figure everything out, but after I got it, it was very enjoyable.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Really interesting mechanic, it would be something to see it taken further.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46pm

That face! It scared me! :-O

Really nice idea, you should expand it!

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Really neat idea here. Fun game.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Overall, great game! Not sure how much I really like the time limit though... but, doesn't really get in the way!

Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

It's an interesting idea. I don't know if it's really any more fun than direct control. I couldn't get passed that wall, and honestly it just felt a bit mean. The moon is a dick.

I liked the music and the feel of the graphics.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Really neat little game, I liked the game mechanics and how you control the player. I would really like to see a whole new game expanded upon this idea. Keep up the good work!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Quite original and simplistic. Liking the music a lot. The level designs should be more involving, right now it's kind of "go to point B then wait for the timer to reset".

I couldn't help but think of some RoboRally-style pseudo-programming game while playing. That would be neat with the main mechanic.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Nice game, but could do with a rethink of the controls. It is very fiddly and there is no explanation for the nodes.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

Nice 3d tutorial in the background, simple but very efficient! Although it's quite simple, it feels quite professional, for example the first pit with tutorial telling you to press R to restart is a great touch. Nice job, I enjoyed it.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24am

Pretty cool concept! I think the theme feels rather forced on the game though, and it'd be way better if the time-per-turn limitation wasn't there. Still, really great looking, really unique and well executed. Congrats!

netguy204 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34am

So, i thought I had finally figured out how to ace the pit when i zoomed too far with the mousewheel and flipped the world! Yeah, that doesn't work... Couldn't read the sign that said how to change node types so I had to get creative.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very different. I didn't get it at first, but I caught on. Good job!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:37am

Great crafting of mood, with the textures, lighting, and music. Reminds me a bit of Little Big Planet. Interesting node-based movement system as well; it's like a turn-based-strategy platformer. Very fresh!

I couldn't get past the pit with the face. I tried to jump it a few times, and jumped and returned to the platform, but nothing seemed to help. I also couldn't figure out the point of the Stop Node.

Well done, nevertheless. Thanks for putting this together!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43am

Live review available at: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831221

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Hey this is awesome! It reminds me of little big planet for some reason. top marks for theme and mood!

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:30am

Interesting idea. I liked the visuals. The idea is quite unique.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]