August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Choice

by matthewvermaak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My intention with this game was to bring the player into an isolated moment of time. Faced with a morally gray situation, the player will be asked to make a choice. Time will slow and the decision will require perseverance.

Warning: This material may be objectionable to some.

Playable at: http://www.firstcommit.com/games/the-choice

Feedback? @matthewvermaak

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Mood3.78
#281Theme3.46
#478Innovation3.06
#483Overall3.13
#594Audio2.47
#836Graphics2.42
#953Humor1.44
#1106Fun2.03

Comments

Conflei says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Gray like mine, good, good.

TinyWorlds says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25am

I feel guilty :( .. Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

This is why I don't ride in trains and just stay safe in my house all day with the shades down and Jack to keep me company. Well executed idea and nice art for it too. Best use of theme so far for me certainly, and possibly mood too.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Very powerful one! At first I thought I'd have 10 seconds to pick my actions :)

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Amazing. My first idea was something like, a game that would highlight how just 10 seconds could change someone's life. I ultimately abandoned that idea because I couldn't figure out how to take that idea and put it into a game. Well, I applaud you for what I couldn't do - this is fantastic. Easily the best game I've played so far!

Inertia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

:c

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Refreshing interpretation of the theme, well done

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I am now sad. I think that emotional games are on the rise, and stuff like this (more developed) will be a bright future to the games industry.

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Really nice. Top marks for mood. Well done :)

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Excellent interpretation of the theme and nicely told story.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very good story, it's the first "mood game" I see so far and that's very cool :)

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

A thought-provoking experience, nicely communicated. I'm glad I tried this.

frameland says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

My favorite game so far.
I try to translate the experience I had with your game into words and I can't.

This game clearly shows that 'Fun' is not a measurement every game should be rated under. Of course I didn't have fun playing the game, which doesn't mean I couldn't get something out it.

Thanks.

aschearer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Would have liked to been able to drive the text myself as I found often myself waiting for it to progress.

Took too long before any decisions were made.

To an extent I felt you foreshadowed things too much. It seemed clear what was going to happen because of the framing at the start.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

Interesting capture of a moment, I'd love to see this expanded into a serious of similar moments, maybe even randomly generated/pulled from a pool of them to give a dose of emotion to the player.

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

It's a pretty morbid affair but altogether a good concept. I appreciate these types of entries.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

Amazing use of theme! Very powerful.

Blinked says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

Wow, very cool idea, excellent job... However, I feel it's pretty much impossible for those events to all occur within 10 seconds haha, but regardless, very good entry.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

I kept replaying, and replaying. There had to be a way...

I really don't know what else there is to say, other than how it was so very... Affective.

The music didn't loop quite-right, and the brief cut-out broke immersion a bit, but the story covered for it well.

Good work, and I very much look forward to your future entries!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Enjoyable isn't really the right word, good work nonetheless.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very grim. Not entirely sure how to rate this for 'fun' :) A good effort at a game that is trying to do something beyond the boundaries though.

Major quibble - the way the audio sample is looped needs work - it doesn't seem to loop smoothly at all. I found this really jarring, especially in a game that is all about the mood created.

Minor quibble - the game only just fit on my monitor and, given what it was doing, didn't seem to run as smoothly as it could have done.

That said, good effort.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Very sad and moving experience.

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39pm

So emotional, well done.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Good, but too slow for me. Also, I think it would be nice to have some way after the end to restart the game and not just refreshing the page.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

This was great, I really loved it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

An interesting pace and take on the theme. Enjoyed it!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Interesting game. Kind of sad that the choice I wanted to make was not available, seems like I was forced into a certain ending.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08am

Wow, I think we both went with the same kind of game for this LD! Yours is really beautiful - great job!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

I'm sorry, I couldn't get through the intro—just too slow.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28am

Interesting!

Gus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:11am

Grayscale, choice-based, piano-scored, ten seconds makes all the difference in the world.. this is so familiar..

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:31am

It has a preditable ending, but otherwise makes you think about what you should do indeed. Too bad there's no option to leave both (or just the mother at one point) and save yourself.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34am

I love the mood of this game. I was too indecisive to save anyone, which might actually be true about me. :)
The greyout graphics set the mood for the game very well.
Great job on this!

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17am

Nice job. Audio is a but repetitive however.

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice one, good story and mood.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:07am

Very nice, smooth and well written. Very good mood aswell. Excellent entry

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28am

Emotional and thought provoking, well done. It would have been nice if there were sound effects or some kind of visual or color change to accompany the words and choices you made. Amazing atmosphere!

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I will never take a train again. Never o_O

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Quite a unique game. Good Job!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Very unique game. I havent played anything like it so far this jam. Great entry!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Good job.. glad to see more interactive fiction. But I actually stopped for a sec and thought about what choices to make.

I don't want to play it again as it would feel like cheating. The scenario I created is my "truth" so to say.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Thank your for this emotional experience

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Nice! I always enjoy new ways of making a text based game

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33am

Very deep experience. I waited until the last moment to make a choice, and kinda regret it. Good work, man.

flarb says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Definitely one of the stronger story-based entries.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Very powerfull idea. Good job

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Great mood !

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

Nice concept. Good Story line, but i think you could give some more options. But nicely done for the 48 hours =)

flavio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

I played it only once. Truly a great experience. It made me wonder about life and choices, so I think you succeeded in your attempt. A beautiful philosophical game ! There might be some work left on graphics ;)

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Nice interactive story.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

love the moral questions and the stylized graphics. I like making and playing visual novels, so playing your game was a bright spot for today.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Deep game. Love the graphic style. One of the best story games submitted. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

stenol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Good experience !

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:06pm

i played all the possible ways and not one has a happy ending!
i love these decision games!lol

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very sad :-/

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

This was such a good concept. I liked it but it was very depressing :(

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Damn it. I want to save them both, but I guess some things just aren't meant to be. Pretty good writing. I like your interpretation of the theme: Not 10 seconds in game time, but 10 seconds in real life. It would seem lazy, but executed so well it doesn't.

Also, a lot of: :(

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:12am

I know what you are going for, but a little to on the nose for me.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I like what you were trying to do here but I was pretty sure I knew how it would go from the start so it didn't have as much of an impact on me. A good direction for the theme though for sure.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Overall the game was well made. It's interesting to make different choices and see what happens. A text-based game is a good idea and suits the story well. There could perhaps be more descriptions of things like the train itself and what the people looked like. Once you've played it once it becomes quite obvious to see what would happen if you made certain choices. The graphics and audio could do with some work in order to match the quality of the dialogue. A great piece of interactive fiction.

Dotanukii says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Really great mood, the mom being pregnant is a nice touch, great job!

Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:09pm

The moral choice is kind of a well-worn topic, but the story is very well-written. (I did catch a typo, though: "begining".) I like how you worked in the ten second theme.

I liked the graphic. The music is pretty good, but I can't help but feel that it didn't match the mood of most of the story.

I'll probably come back to this game to see what happens if I choose differently.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:20pm

One of the more original implementations of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]