August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Agent Dan

by TheBlueRage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Agent Dan is on a secret mission to stop a traitorous villain. Unfortunately, while spying on the traitor during an airplane flight, the traitor jumps out of the plane with the only parachute! Agent Dan must catch the traitor and steal the parachute, else fall to a certainly fatal death...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#236Humor2.90
#459Audio2.72
#666Fun2.79
#792Overall2.82
#838Innovation2.59
#906Mood2.24
#971Theme2.63
#1094Graphics1.91

Comments

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Nice game, but the controls needed to be explained somewhere ingame.
Still, quite fun!

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

If you were going for a mood of "Panic" you hit it dead on. Good job!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

I gave this an overall 3/5. It was cool, and actually pretty fun, but the thing was that I couldn't tell where 10 seconds came from. I guess you had 10 seconds to catch the terrorist, but couldn't you have made a timer to tell you that?

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Was pretty funny, really hard, but when I was colliding with him it didn't do anything, so a generally buggy game, but it was pretty cool.

bhopkins says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Funny sounds and graphics! Nicely tuned difficulty, it took a bunch of tries but I still won before getting frustrated :)

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

Thanks guys :)

Just remember, you have to catch him (from the top) before he deploys his chute.

Post your top score!!! Mine is 8 billion ;)

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

Not a bad concept, but could be executed a little better. Would be nice to have an indicator that shows where the traitor is when he's offscreen. The start collecting mechanic adds a nice extra layer of depth, but they could be a little more spy-themed. The art is a bit overly cartoony and could use a little more polish, but I do like Dan's character design, especially that distinguished 'stache.

Definitely needs some spanky spy-theme guitar riffs for extra atmosphere. The voiceovers sound pretty good, although Dan's line is a little too quiet. More sound effects, like wind wooshing and the parachute opening/fluttering would also be nice.

The Jahn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Pretty fun game! Little easy once you know the trick though. If you tacked on a few more layers of gameplay I could see myself playing something like this over and over again trying to beat my time.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

'hehehehehe'. I landed on the parachute once, and didn't have to die! :D (when the parachute disappeared, i was on the bad guy's head)

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Haha yeah, I didn't feel the need to fix that 'bug' ;)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

"ehehehe"

drilltail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Fun game. Love the voice acting.

It seems that I can't get a score higher than 2147483648, since the value that holds it is only four bytes wide. This must not be true for you if you reached 8 billion; I guess its a machine/browser dependent issue. Perhaps you should scale the point scoring down a bit?

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Thanks! But that score issue is interesting... I never thought about that. Thanks for pointing it out!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

The laughing sound effects just add to it all

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice game, It took me a bit to figure out the controls, but for the rest is great.
Good job!

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice to see another person made a game about falling out of an airplane without a parachute.

Once I understood the mechanics of the game, it played well. It wasn't obvious to me what the stars did nor that the clouds would slow you down (since there is very little to gauge speed by). I think if those were more clear, it'd be easier to get into.

Nice work, and nice voice acting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]