August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sonnet 49

by 65C816 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Something between exploration and game to illustrate the william shakespear's poem "sonnet 49" which talk about elapsing time.

ps: Currently it's not finished, I don't have time to finish it today (because I cannot work on it), I finish a version with sound and interactions bugs fixed as soon as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Innovation3.00
#556Graphics2.88
#602Mood2.67
#1057Overall2.44
#1064Theme2.43
#1172Fun1.73
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

devwil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Inspired by Jason Rohrer's Passage? :)

This is interesting!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Ooh, that was pretty interesting.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I don't know if is a problem with my browser but when i die i need to wait a lot time to show a message D: .... but anyways good job :D i like the concept of the game! looks interesting.

larb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57pm

The death screen takes a really long time to display. Not sure what I'm doing.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really like the visuals and the passages were cool but they took an excruciatingly long time to fade in! Other than that though I liked it

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01pm

i had slow text too, but the game itself was interesting enough.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:03pm

throw up a link to the finish version when your done :D

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Holy pixels, batman! That was interesting. However, I couldn't quite figure out what I'm supposed to do there. I'd say it's worth expanding this into a full game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I love the aesthetic, reminds me a bit of Rohrer's "Passage".
Would definitely benefit from some player introduction to controls & the death timeout is far too slow for my liking.

65C816 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Sorry, I currently have many problems, I'll make a free bug version as soon as possible. But thank you very much for your encouragements.

blay09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:33pm

The graphic effects were nice and I liked the gameover screen apart from the extremely long fade-in. However, I had no idea what I was supposed to do. I just kept dieing when walking around.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:41pm

definitely remind me of rohrer's passage. it's a very interesting game, but i would like to be able to read trough the text two times before it dissolves (which is a fantastic thing for it to do actually; when time go by the world some into existence but then then disappear again, with the flow of time).

good use of the poem, but as i said, i would like to read it through and at least get a glimpse of what it's about, so i can contemplate on this when i play the next segment.

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:04am

Didn't quite understood what I was supposed to do, liked the art style.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]