August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spoken

by chrisamaphone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A haphazard experiment with audio-based IF, made with Twine and Audacity.

I really encourage you to follow the instructions at the end :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Audio4.06
#9Innovation4.24
#122Mood3.44
#239Humor2.88
#347Overall3.27
#727Fun2.72
#828Theme2.85
#1080Graphics1.95
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29am

I liked the idea of using sound files for the game, hope you get far!

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

Translating poems into games, never easy, but it fits. Nice work.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Original idea, i like it!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Super-cool approach! Really liked the embedded audio files.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I don't get it. It's very intriguing but I don't really understand what I'm supposed to do. If all the audio was 10 seconds long I'd kind of get it, but the first one is over minute then another is 5 seconds. Then there are links asking me if I want a drink at the bar. Different links to click on the same page, and I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do.

I'd be interested to read some kind of explanation.

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Hi Dream of Sleeping - the theme comes up in a few ways. All the audio clips except the first one are under 10s (I know, I should have made a 10 second intro to keep it more consistent). But also, the event you're attending is a speaking event where you get the mic for 10 seconds. If you click around to explore all the available links, you'll see how that comes into play. A few of the choices you make can affect the outcome.

Sorry it was confusing!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

woah, very original, inspiring and really well done. i've been to a couple of poetry readings so this resonated with me a lot. also, you're a great reader.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:15pm

There is a reason I never get books on tape, my mind just wonders, I start day dreaming and miss everything, so you can probably take what I have to say with a pinch of salt.

I thought it was a great idea, but the whole thing just needed more focus. I think it would have been better if all the clips that you could see the timer on were exactly ten seconds. You needed to get to the point on intro.

Still you get 5 out of 5 for innovation, and it had a great mood. And I think you would know that doing this your target audience is probably kind of small anyway. I can't even get people to read one paragaraph on instructions on a game.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice entry. Good luck!

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I like your experiment!

I've had audio-based interactive fiction on my mind lately - this is an interesting take on it, and it's given me some stuff to think about. I think the choice to set it in a bar, with very short - almost truncated - writing (like poetry) is a good combination with an audio experiment (nice side effect of the theme). Like Dream of Sleeping, I find audio hard to listen to for a long time, but I think short snippets of dialogue and sound get around that.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very nice try!
This is, in fact, so much better than interactive fiction with only text!!! :)
I might actually want to record something for this game one day! Yeah, really !

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Full marks for innovation. I was a bit unsure about it at first, but once I got into what was going on, I enjoyed it a lot. More of an artwork than a game, but it's a good artwork.

The audio is, of course, great. At first I thought that the main narration (yours?) was a bit unpolished, but the slight lack of flow added to the spontaneity. The use of music and sound effects is also great and not overdone.

I unfortunately don't have the equipment or the experience to do a sound recording for you, but I wish you all luck with this project.

Also, that Leonard Cohen poem is indeed amazing.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

Fun! Good job :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

sound AND text? good

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very original idea!

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

I usually already frown when I hear Twine because most of those entries are really bad, but I haven't seen one using sound files for the text yet, so you get those innovation points for sure ;)
I also like the future readers list thingy, good luck with that!

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

It's quite creative, I liked it, specially because it has been made, using a girl's voice.
Congratulations!

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

canvapps: it's just my voice; i'm a bit too old (27) to be called a "girl" :) but i'm glad you liked it.

thanks for all the kind feedback, everyone.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:40am

A creative idea, and the voice acting / audio is pretty good. Playing with headphones and with the sparse visuals was surprisingly gripping. But what if, like at the game event, we're all too nervous to submit our performances?

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:59pm

<3 Lovely idea. If I can get my microphone to work I will happily add to the noise.

cafeine says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Brilliant! I especially liked the ending, how you managed to evoke feelings of stage fright in a few short sentences (I was paralyzed by your instructions for a few seconds, ah ah).

The HTML5 audio APIs to enable audio capture and upload are maturing quickly, it will help a lot with this kind of games (having to launch and fiddle with an audio recording program is unfortunately immersion-breaking).

Congratulations!

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:41am

Interesting weird thing.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I love interactive fiction, and making it all with clips of sound is a very original idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]