August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quizz Ball

by KamikaziUk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Quizz ball is a fast-paced 1-4 player futuristic sport game. The aim is to grab the ball with your tractor beam and then shoot the ball to score. Use all kinds of tactics and trick shots to get the ball in.

The 10 second theme was incorporated into the powerups. They last 10 seconds before deactivating. I was planning more powerups but didn't get time to add them in near the end. The ball also takes 10 seconds to travel from one side of map to other haha.

The game is best played on 4 xbox controls but supports keyboard & mouse.

Warning:
The web build only supports keyboard and mouse. If you want a better experience download the full windows game. This is just a build so you can see what the game is like quickly :).

Controls:
Up/Down Arrows = Change Team
Mouse = Shoot/Suck
WASD = Movement
Enter/Space = Menus

DPad = Change Team
Triggers = Shoot/Suck
Analog Sticks = Movement
A/Start/Back = Menus

Video (Incase your not already excited about it!):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxpvZs45i9I

Hope You Enjoy!.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#382Graphics3.19
#773Humor1.89
#864Audio1.80
#966Overall2.59
#968Innovation2.37
#1027Mood1.90
#1043Fun2.22
#1190Theme1.33
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Awesome graphics! Controller support is very cool!

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice mouth noises haha.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Although it does say 1-4 players, it is not really playable when you're only one, so I didn't rate. Since I don't have any friends :'(
Game seems fun though!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I just don't get how I can compete against other team on PC... I am always alone in there.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

10 seconds? ... Sorry, but I fail to see the connection...

Other than that, nice sci-fi layout. Too bad there's no sci-fi music. Something similar to your backgroundmusic on your trailer maybe? SFX? No comment...

Tested multiplayer, too... would be nice to configure gamepad controls and/or balance the mousesensitivity.

KamikaziUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

The powerups last for 10 seconds. I was planning more powerups that fit the theme better but ran out of time near the end.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

It's very prettyful, but I'm not entirely sure what's the connection to 10 seconds.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

Good graphics, requiring more than 1 player might be a bit much.

Suese says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

Keyboard controls don't work.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Loved the SFX. Seems really fun, I would like to see it a bit more fast paced though.

justi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very nice game, good graphics effects.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:33pm

funny sounds, nice concept

blay09 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:39pm

This would probably be quite fun in multiplayer. Nice graphic effects.

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:31pm

It's nice to see a sports game here, and a pretty different one at that!

I think you could really expand this beyond the Ludum Dare game, it's a really neat concept!

Great entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]