August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Duellists

by jay griffin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tale of two Generals, their ten trusty seconds and a whole lot of duels to the death.

Controlled entirely with the mouse and the left mouse button. Click to start, hold your cursor still until the bell, touch the flashing cursor to load and left-click to fire.

The Web version is missing the persistent graveyard from the Windows version, but is otherwise identical. Audio does not seem to work in vanilla Firefox, you'll need a browser with WebAudio support (some beta versions of FF or any recent version of Chrome will do) or try the native Windows download instead.

If my server goes down, try the mirrors at GameJolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/the-duellists/17099/

UPDATE (28/08): Due to the positive response the game has been getting (thanks so much), I'll be continuing active development and have plans to expand the game considerably over the next couple of weeks. Hopefully I should have the first of a few updates live over the next few days, with the first of the planned features that didn't make the cut (which should help the difficulty level make a little more sense). The original competition version will remain as is, but I'll provide extra links to the new version when it becomes available. I'll keep you posted.

UPDATE: New Version details at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/09/01/the-duellists-alpha-2/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Graphics4.41
#45Fun3.80
#47Overall3.87
#115Mood3.47
#127Humor3.29
#161Innovation3.59
#233Theme3.51
#419Audio2.77

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

Wow the graphics for this look amazing. The gameplay reminds me of the quickdraw minigame from Nightmare in Dreamland. The concept is fun and cute and is a more unique approach to the theme. Love it.

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Brilliant! Really polished - right down to the detail of shooting before the bell. It's great that it lets you do it, and then 'forfeits' you rather than, say, just resetting.

Could use a little more fanfare when you win overall (I like my fanfares...) but really, really good game. :)

(Oh and bonus points for interesting interpretation of the theme!!)

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45am

Great job. Nice and tight and simple.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

I enjoyed this A LOT, nice graphics, nice polish and pretty cool mechanics!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice graphics and simple gameplay.

Tortche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14am

The graphics and art is lovely. I think your opponent could of drawn faster though. It might work well as a 2 player game. Great work!

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Great polish, nice graphics, but it took a while to figure out what I had to do (even with the instructions).

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

GREAT job... so much polish. Love the silhouette effect when someone gets shot, love moving the cursor up to cock my gun...

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

I had a lot of fun playing this. I want a multiplayer version. Kinda like the divekick of shooters.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50am

I love this so much that it's not even fair. Love the setting and concept. Clever play on the LD theme. And what an execution! Fantastic.

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51am

This is a great use of really simple mechanics. At first I was leaving the box too fast to notice the text telling me not to, and I was confused by my shameless cheating. But then I figured it out and had a lot of fun with it :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24am

Love all the different characters, and the shooting mechanic is fun :D

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Great graphics, great idea. Nice to see someone do another interpretation of the theme. Needs sound!

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

Great game! Nice graphics and original approach of the theme. Keep working on it with more challenging ennemies for example, and it could be an awesome game.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

awesome! :) really enjoyed this one!

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37am

Haha, you can shoot their hats off! Great little detail!

I really liked it!

However, sometimes they seem to miss completely even though had the cross hair over the head? Is this a bug or am I missing something?

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11am

@rasmusrn the shots have a random chance to scatter depending on how long you've waited to "steady" your aim (you can tell by the size/colour of the crosshair, big/red=huge scatter, medium/yellow = moderate, small/green=on target). Enemies have a similar random scatter, but based on their skill level, getting more accurate and faster with each round.

Waiting longer will give you a much more accurate shot but at the risk of being shot yourself. Shooting earlier is much more random, but can sometimes "panic" your opponent into completely messing up their shot (especially at lower levels).

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

what a nice game you have made here! I like it! The first few times i played i turned around right away and shot them in the head XD. I lost the round, but won the war!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

Simple gameplay, original and with beautiful graphics. I think that I saw a couple of "duelist" games being made for this Ludum Dare. It'd be even better with a faster game pace but I guess you have to stick to the "10 seconds" theme.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47am

This was a pretty good game jam game. The graphics were pretty cool, and the gameplay was pretty fun. My one major problem was that it kept on suspecting me of foul play, and I didn't know why. Also, it didn't really meet the theme, cause the rounds were always less than ten seconds.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

Lovely game! Simple, fun and addicting. What more can you ask? :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

@Impmaster: once you click on the icon to start the duel, you need to keep your cursor inside that area until your character makes their ten paces until you can legally fire. You can tell when it's time as a tone will sound and the cursor changes.

As for meeting the theme, the characters themselves are the theme, as there's ten of them and they're all "seconds", duellists appointed to stand in for their respective challengers. It's an old duelling term.

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32am

What can I say?
Best LD27 so far
Incredible graphics, nice sfxr-like sounds, addicting gameplay (can't stop playing xD), hilarious names and so on
Oh.. and unbelievably polished for 48h parameters, this is just amazing.
Definetely going to be checking your site from now on. :DD

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

This game is genius. Simply genius. It's so simple and straightforward and yet addictive. Graphics are gorgeous and gameplay is solid.

I didn't get audio to play though, I couldn't hear the bell (running Firefox on Linux).

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

Also reminded me of GunBlood
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/554695

And @Morgawr, The bell is amazing.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

I love the graphics, the level of polish is top notch. As for gameplay, it's simple, fun and a clever use of the theme. The overall attention to detail that it shows makes it stand out (cheating, the hats...brilliant!)

Amazing entry :D

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

Awesome game. Graphics reminds me style of River City Ransom.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

I love this game. Only thing I miss is some kind of progression - XP earning, evolving your character ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39am

I really like! It's a nice idea and well implemented, but it's quite easy to win.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

@Morgawr: I didn't have the time to test Firefox sadly, sound is tested working on Chrome though. Might be worth trying the GameJolt version in case it's an issue with my server. Native linux support will hopefully be coming for a later version.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

That was fun! :D The graphics are looking good.
It's ways too easy, though.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Really interesting take on the theme.

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

A lot of fun, and beautiful sprites. The game looks great.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Sound doesn't work at all in Firefox on Mac, but it works great in Chrome...
Great game though :)

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I think it's too easy.

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Thoroughly enjoyed this, could have done with a couple more difficult enemies though. Excellent polish.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Smooth and fun gameplay, and nice graphics!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Wow, this is an insanely polished game. Really amazing job on this one.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Wow that art is amazing, also love the game, could be super fun if multiplayer, would love to see a post-compo version :)

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I had this as second idea but it would never have been this polished and looking so good.
Great little game, love to see it with vs. Player in the future.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Great graphics and neat gameplay. Would have like more content, does not perfectly fit the theme IMHO

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Nice game, awesome details, but where are the 10 seconds?

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Funny game, great graphics. The text boxes went away a bit too quickly sometimes.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Very nice, love the graphics.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Love the art! They are so cute I can't kill them.
Concept is fresh too. Very short though.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

This is one of the better games i've seen in this contest. However one or to things stand to mind. The gunshots are far too loud. Head-shots are apparently the way to end everything as the AI is far too slow for anything else. Also when he AI does wizen up it kills with no exceptions.However I'm currently on my third play-though, so it's still awesome.

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Really cool game. Wish there were more levels/variation. Beautiful graphics and effects.

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Very cool ! Amazing Graphics !

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Fantastic art. The concept is fun and executed well. I would like to see either difficulty levels or perhaps an endless mode where you opponents get progressively harder. The accuracy mechanic feels a little unfair to the player, since the enemies don't seem to have a similar system.

The theme seems a bit loosely interpreted, but the 10 paces vs. 10 seconds actually feels fresh after playing so many 'finish the level in 10 seconds' games.

The sound effects are great, but the atmosphere could be greatly enhanced with a couple of short music loops - a title theme, a round end theme (possibly with win, lose,e and draw variations) and a game over victory/defeat theme would add a lot of character to the game.

If you have no musical inclination, I may try to whip something up for you in the next couple days, as I really like what you've got so far and would be happy to collaborate, if you're interested.

Well done!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Just saw your explanation of the theme in another comment, changing my 'theme' rating to 5. Got to love that wordplay. :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

The art is wonderful. The game was a bit lacking, it's too easy and short. Still, nice work!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Funny, great idea for a short game. The graphics are great, and the characters have a lot of charisma, great work!

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Not bad, it's pretty fun.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice pixel art! Took me a moment to figure out to keep cursor on enemy to decrease spreading. Otherwise this was well done! great shooting mechanics.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Great game, it's as simple and effective, as a gun shoot :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Yeah! This game is really good fun! I love the attentiion to detail with the shots in some cases, I won't spoil the bit with Jack the bastard of course. Sound effects gel well with the look, nice character designs, really fun little game!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Shooting their hat off is both satisfying and annoying. Good fun game.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Nice graphics and mechanics.
A bit repetitive after some duels.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Well executed, good concept, nite graphics. A good game !

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Pretty graphics. Although it may have ran too slow for me. That, after paying attention to the instructions, it felt like I had no idea what I was doing.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

I had a lot of fun playing this! The little details like shooting hats off really counts!
To make it a little harder, I only count a win if the opponent got his shot off before being killed.
I don't think I've seen this duel game mechanic anywhere before, did you come up with it?

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

@Dooleus: I was thinking of some music stings along those lines, but ran out of time to do anything decent. I'm fairly musically inclined but would be interested in hearing your take on it.

@theholychicken: it's not copying anything that I'm aware of (there may well be something similar I've missed, or something I've played in the past that I've since forgotten about, but I think it's fairly original).

I'm taking on board the criticism here for the next release version. It's too easy to cheese the duels at the moment, so I'll definitely be adjusting that a bit. Players can't currently misfire, but I think I'll re-jig that so they have a moderate chance to with a red crosshair, diminishing as the crosshair narrows. Return fire needs to be a bit more random as well.

Planned additions include a betting system and "skill shots". With the betting system, you can pay to have enemies miss their shot, or take a bribe to throw matches yourself. You'll also be able to wager money on the outcome of each round. Skill shots will let you earn a 2x cash bonus for making a specific non-lethal shot on your opponent (randomized each round), at the risk of leaving your duellist open to return fire. I want to try and encourage a bit more strategy in the gameplay rather than just aiming "centre mass" and hoping for the best.

The new main gameplay mode will probably be an endless duel mode with character permadeath, where the objective is to reach a set cash target with at least one character left standing, still using a starting team of five.

Other features possible down the line include a light upgrade/levelling system, a roster of duellists to hire from and persistent injuries from non-lethal wounds that can heal with cash or time.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07am

It is really fun! For such a small game it is pretty intense. A multiplayer version would be really enjoyable if it were possible.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

I've played a lot of shooters, but this felt very gruesome, very real, for some reason. I didn't want to kill my comrades... even if they are on the other side of the team.

Anyway I loved every bit of it, it's very well polished for such a short development period, I hope you can expand this into something even better! Have you considered a mobile version?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33am

This is so cool, I played it for ages. It's very satisfying to win a duel with a headshot. I knocked a guy's hat off once too. Whole game is finished off with fantastic graphics too, nice work

loolpolo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Wow, really good game! congrats!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Nice, simple game and some great graphics. I love being able to shoot the hat off the other dude's head.

blopit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

So simple yet so much fun!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Great fun! Sound didn't play on my PC, web version. Not sure if the later duels were harder, didn't seem like it got more difficult. Liked that you can tie. Too much fun to cheat, lol

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58am

@Zero0Kelvin it seems to have trouble with firefox especially, Chrome should work okay (or the native windows version). I'll try and get that fixed for the next version. It gets a little trickier as it goes on, enemies draw a little faster, miss their shots a lot less often and can't be panicked into firing early as easily. It's a fairly steady increase, but I suppose even at level 5 it's still pretty easy.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

An awesome, simple and interesting game. That game shows how Ludum Dare looks like with the top sides.

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

Holy crap. First 5 star from me.

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35am

Sound didn't work for me on the web version, otherwise this is terrific, love the artwork.

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45am

I just had to play a fellow duelist's game ;). The graphics are very well drawn and the game seems well polished. The death/shooting silhouettes work well and the sound effects fit with the 8-bit theme. I'd love to hear a fanfare when you win too! Well done.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

I am incredibly glad that you can shoot the hats right off your opponents. Not that I ever did it on purpose, but I could never be too disappointed in a loss against a hatless enemy.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

Excellent game. Took me two reads of the summary to understand the play on the theme, but when I got it, it made me happy. Cheers

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14am

this is a amazing game please make more

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15am

Head shots AND hat shots? Love it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21am

I quite like what you did with this. Rather unconventional, but nice use of Ten "seconds" ;) The graphics are great, although I'm not sure if it's just me, but there didn't seem to be any audio.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

Nice work, the graphics look really great!

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56am

Nice work here, I think it only lacks a little bit of snap during the aiming phase (see Call of Juarez 2 for reference), but it's quite interesting overall, suits the dare well.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

I got no audio on webplayer. Also, I would have enjoyed having the choice of shooting in the leg or trying to talk my way out of this :D. This is one of the #LD27 games I enjoyed the most. Well done sir !

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11am

Great little game! Love the style and feel. Superb work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13am

Beautiful!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37am

Love it! Very fun! And getting an headshot is strangely satisfying, so you may have something there.

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

That was pretty fun! good suspense building as you waiting to shoot! I'd say maybe look at adding movement like ducking jumping, could add a lot of challenge, moving target.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15am

Incredible game! Nice graphics, good sounds and the texts were just amazing. :)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

Interesting take on the theme. Had to download the game to get sound.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46am

I played the webversion with Firefox, and no sounds at all showed up.. After that, really nice art-style, i loved how it becomes when you kill someone!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05am

The Firefox audio problem seems to be coming from GM's new audio system requiring a WebAudio-capable browser to work correctly. I'm trying to hack something together using the legacy audio system but it's not too pretty so far. For the moment your best best is trying it in chrome or downloading the native windows version (it's a vanilla zip, no installers or anything). Apologies to anyone having trouble.

bombjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09am

My current favorite :) Very fun !

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

NICE Game Play
check out our Roguelike Game

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08am

Good pixel art. I love the game mechanics, it's simple but fun. nice work :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14am

Great game! I really enjoyed the fact that it was possible to shoot before the bell rang, nice touch. I had a lot of fun playing.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18am

Such a great game. Graphics look super, controls are easy to understand the first time around and a good challenge!

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:46am

Great job, fun to play :D
The graphism are top

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52am

Overall A fun simple game hehe, I kept goin out of the box and just blasting them XD

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great game! Loved the graphics and the concept. Though it did take a little while to figure out how exactly the whole thing worked, and I dont know if it's a bug or what, but is there supposed to be audio? It says to keep the cursor in the box until the bell rings, but I never heard anything. Might be due to play the web version, not sure, but it was a little confusing but I was still able to win just by waiting until both players turned. Could be good as a 2P game, and if it maybe had some intense music.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Can't rate it less then 5, its stunning! I could play this all day long)

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26pm

I really like your controls and concept. the art looks good too.

My only suggestion is to add an indicator other than sound for when to move the cursor out of the box.

Fun game thanks for making!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

wow, very polished and solid gameplay.

sebb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Jolly good fun, i really like the graphics :)

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26pm

My first thought for the compo was actually to use 'seconds' in this sense but I couldn't think of a way to do it. This, of course, is the way to do it! An excellent little game with great graphics and audio and a really satisfying duelling mechanic. Superb!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Well done! I even shot the hat off one, nice touch :0)

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

One of the most solid games that I played in this LD. Stuning graphics, really fun mechanics and all the little touches are welcome in a time restricted competition like these.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This is one nice duel simulation right there. Good job!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Very nice! I thought it was funny when the hats flew off.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Great game! everything works fantastic... Make more!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Nice gameplay mechanic and art, simple and fun idea.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice graphics. Cool gameplay and idea. I had fun with this. Great work.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Great idea, awesome graphics. Good job!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

i thought this was good! very polished, a good concept well executed. cool game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice game, nice polish, efficient concept, 100 % great job

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:47pm

wow -- that was a great game -- fun and great graphics -- great job!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Wow this awesome! Sweeet graphics and really well executed.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Liked the mechanics. Great spin on the duel game :D Also the art is great.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very solid game! I really like your dueling mechanics. I've played a few dueling games this LD but this one had the most unique implementation. Also very nice art. Great Job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24pm

nice game... is it like cheating, if i leave the box before the bell rings?

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Wow, this looks astoundingly good. Gorgous pixel art and a lot of polish - at first I thought this was a jam entry, no kidding. And the attention to detail - I just shot of somebodies hat. There are gravestones from the past rounds in the background. I love it.

The sounds are perfect. It's a pity there's no music though! If you can't make some yourself or if you're in a hurry, you could use a generator like http://abundant-music.com. It's super-easy to use (after a few minutes of reading the tutorial) and has a surprisingly high quality.

The gameplay is fun too! It took me a while to understand that my aim gets steadier over time, but then I won a lot more - I was wondering why I shot the ground when I was aiming perfectly.

I love it that you actually made a "Round tied - both duelists fallen" condition. I was like WHAT HAPPENED there, haha :D

Superb job! And: Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Great use of.... everything

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Excellent realisation, graphics and polish !

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

good graphics - good idea - but which bell should ring? or is there no sound at all?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Very nice, once you understand what is going on...
Really cute graphics, good job!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Nice art, and great use of a different kind of seconds, but it'd probably increase the difficulty a bit, it wasn't very challenging

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:48am

Fun game, wanted to see the shot characters collapse to the floor when dying.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:04am

Great graphics, nice use of the theme! I really enjoyed it!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41am

Astounding graphics, great gameplay

NoahC_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:20am

Really enjoyed the over all mechanic of the game. Amazing amount of detail in the art as well! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37am

The staying inside the box thing was confusing at first, took me a while to figure out what it meant. :P
But other than that, this is an excellent entry, really polished! Graphics is amazing!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47am

Very well done, great polish in so little time :D

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52am

Fun game, I liked the story and the simple mechanics. A little tricky when the box sometimes appears up in the sky, not sure what that's about... I thought I had to click it for the longest time.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51am

Well-designed gameplay with difficulty that felt just right for me, and the graphics are incredibly polished. I like how the names and text complemented the setting too, it's consistent throughout. One of my favorites so far, nice work!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53am

Very fun! And charming graphics. I loved the flavor text.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:52am

really liked the simplicity and polish

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

Great artwork. Very solid gameplay, good job!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19am

This game is awesome fun, took me a few rounds to figure out which side I was on but after that I had great fun. Very good job

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30am

Fun, polished, and nice to look at :D Could have been harder though :)

Laguna says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31am

Wow! Sweet graphics and an absolut great idea! Like it! Sound could be better but serves pragmatically. Some Background Music would be great.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20am

One of the best that I played, really enjoyed it. The graphics is also great. Imagine if you countinue developing this game!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41am

Haha, love it! Also toyed with the idea of this type of second.
A well made game, great grafix, simple but addictive i have to say :)

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:56am

You're featured on Indiestatik Highlights :) Congrats !

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Fantastic!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:12pm

@lcarpentier: Wow, that's really cool, thanks for the heads up! I notice they mentioned the difficulty again, ah well.

The next version should be designed to give quite a bit more challenge. Not faster necessarily, but there should be a better balance of risk/reward with the new scoring systems and a longer-form game where permadeath of a team member is a much bigger deal.

With the all the attention this has been getting I've decided to go ahead and develop this one as far as I can take it and see how it goes. There should be a new non-comp version within the next few days with a lot more game to it.

Sithdown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Very polished :)

aglushakov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Very nice game!
The idea is similar to mine. But this game was polished very well unlike mine. :)
Great job!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Fire in the hole sir! - splendid!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Quite awesome, I enjoyed it a good bit!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22pm

You could have explained where we should shoot to earn points

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27pm

The best entry for 48 hours i have see so far.
Very well made.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very cool! Difficulty needs a bit of adjusting of course, but I see you're already on to it. Excited to try the post compo release!

madk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Awesome idea!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really great game. Had fun with it. :)

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Very good game, simple yet challenging!

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Really beautiful game, but the gameplay is a little bit too simple ;) Good work !
Oh, and I need music :(

Zammy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Really good game! Deserves all the attention it gets! :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:14pm

I just love that style of pixel art. Entertaining lock and load mechanic, very tactile.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Are these people randomly generated??
This is such an awesome gem of a game!

Top marks all around.
++++extra marks for including women, I'm so tired of games revolving around only guys.

Thanks for this!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nice take on loading your pistol. Game had a nice feel, good job!

mtrc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:42am

Wonderful! Enjoyed it so much, great idea and, a-heh, execution.

epiplon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:49am

Awesome entry! And I can cheat, hahaha!

VoxPlacitum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24am

So nice looking. You are so speedy! Also a really good game.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

"Ok, ten steps away. One, Two, Thr... *BLAM* AAAARGH Traitor! Cheater! *dies*"
So much fun :D

everblind says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I like the "kunio-kun" style art <3
Cheers and congrats :)

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Great pixel artwork, love it!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Really cool graphics!

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Awesome game!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Very good, long time I haven't play something like this

Tigro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

One of the best games submitted in this compo, surely one of those with great potential for further updates. Absolutely gorgeus graphics, nontrivial theme interpretation and simply fun to play. Magnificent work, sir :)

Toshiro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Awesome art, simple but very cool concept. I didn't wasted my time. Love it !

disease says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

Great game, pretty challenging for how simple it is. I loved all the different things that could happen depending on where the bullets went. Great job and it looks like you are going for an all-time high in the Coolness rating!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

Very well done. Had to disable sound due to sitting in the train so a visible indicator should be implemented.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

I really like the look and feel of this game - great work! It's frustrating to lose when I had the cross-hairs spot on target but my bullet randomly goes wide then the AI takes their sweet time and scores a perfect head-shot (when I lose a game I like to know that it's my fault and not the game engine). But overall a really good game.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

elegant solution to classical duel in game form. been thinking about something like this since Dishonored, but your version is better than everything I came up with so far. this could make a great coffee break multiplayer game.

deammer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This is by far the best taking on dueling games i've seen in a while. Make it multiplayer?

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Nice idea and cool graphics, I like it.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

This game is so well made I'd never have guessed it's a Ludum Dare entry!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Thanks again for all the feedback everyone, I'll be sure to get to your games soon too (for anyone I haven't got to yet) :)

Next version will be live this Sunday with a bunch of new stuff, you can find details and a comparison screen of the old and new versions at http://farfromsleep.com/?p=1238

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The game looks gorgeous, and the duel mechanic is very cool.
I also like how each duelist has his/her own name :)

Very solid, polished work here. Congratulations on an amazing game! :D

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Cool, event though the idea is simple, the gameplay is surprisingly fun. Took me a couple of rounds to understand the mechanic though. The texts where kind of fast.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Oh this is just great. Pretty graphics and cool mechanics!
I need this on mobile! Right now! DO IT. :)

jay griffin says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:52am

@hbocao there's an android version coming :). iOS maybe later in the month.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Fantastic. Simple, fun and polished 48hours entry.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Very very very nice

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I really shouldn't try playing HTML5 games on firefox... it seemed that your games was slow, but when I played it on chrome it ran greatly. :)

Nice and well polished game!
And the graphics ares great!

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I really shouldn't try playing HTML5 games on firefox... it seemed that your games was slow, but when I played it on chrome it ran greatly. :)

Nice and well polished game!
And the graphics are great!

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Really nice work. Graphics were great and reminded me of simpler times..haha.

Per says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice one!
I liked the game mechanics when I figured it out :)
The graphics was great.

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice graphics!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I love that you can shoot their hats off! So great!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Haha! Won 2, Lost 2, Tied 1!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:22pm

For some reason I also really like the sprite for Ariel Fischer - that focused look makes me laugh, and I think an entire game is required for her.

redo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Love the art. The sounds are great. Simple and clean.
Excellent Job!

brmassa says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great Game! Very addictive.

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I totally said, "YES!" when I shot the hat off. Great work! I love being able to cheat. Lots of little fun things to find. Graphics are pleasing and the theme is represented well. Good work all around!

megashroom says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:10am

Simple, polished and humorous, well done.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:34am

Cute setup. It's simple and fun, I played several times!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:51am

Lovely reaction-game! The names are great. (they reminds me a bit of my own game :P)

Yakka says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:46am

Great idea. I would appreciate a longer game with more challenge but this one is already very good :D
Audio didn't work for me :-/

Pierrec says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:57am

I would have love detonation sounds, and some suspense music, but it's already a great entry!

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:05am

Nice work! Love the graphics, I thought the gameplay was a little too easy though. It's a fun idea and I see you're already working post compo to improve it, which is great!

manuq says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:53am

I laughed a lot when I blew the other character's hat. Great game.

Misfit says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Very polished and gameplay is awesome. Best entry ever!

Jorqell says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Great twist on the theme, and otherwise extremely good game also.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Just brilliant, great concept and thoroughly enjoyable!

recursor says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice. I would love to see more rounds available with the opponents getting faster. The rounds that I played were all very easy, but it is still quite fun.

Miltage says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Marvellous!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:26am

Nice. Short and simple, but quite a fun little distraction. Nicely polished, fantastic graphics, and the tone and setting were very nice too. Well done!

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:04am

Nice and simple game! i love pixellated art so i gave it full on visuals :D
great job with the audio too!
pretty tough to beat the game with a trackpad, will try again with mouse

markusfisch says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:51pm

That is a very cool little game which is actually not that easy as it looks. Well done!

murilo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:55am

Lovely art! I like the simple mechanics too! Good job, man!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Bravo -- very cool shooting mechanic.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:40am

Very cute graphics, at first it was a bit hard but quickly I got the hang of it.

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:12am

Awesome game. A good challenge. Played it for quite some time.

dudsen says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:54pm

What else can be said? Well played sir. Very cool stuff!

ratking says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:39am

The graphics and the whole idea are really great. I love the little characters.
What I don't get so far is why I have to put the mouse into the '!'-Icon before shooting and when the cross hairs is green and yellow. There is very much around a game, that would be otherwise even more simple and pure.

jay griffin says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:47pm

@ratking the point of keeping your cursor in the '!' icon is to simulate not being able to see your opponent, to prevent you lining up the shot in advance before your character turns to fire (this is also why the icon's in a neutral position in the centre of the screen). The 'load' icon randomly appears either above or below the cursor to introduce an element of controlled chaos that can potentially throw you off instead of it being an exactly repeatable process.

The cursor narrowing and becoming more accurate as you wait is to introduce an element of gambling into the mix. You can shoot first and risk misfiring or your shot going wide, or hold your fire as long as you can for a more certain shot. The whole design is built around the idea of taking an educated risk at the right time, and it's something later versions of the game will build on even more.

Cosr says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Fun game, with a nicely non-standard interpretation of the theme. It took me a while to get how the accuracy worked, and even once I did I found I mostly shot quickly and inaccurately anyways and just hoped the shot was close enough to target, because standing and waiting for a certain shot just felt kinda oddly slow for a pistol duel to me.

I liked the use of a mouse gesture to cock the gun, that had a nice feel to it.

Sascha says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Great one. Love the mouse-mechanics and graphics!

urth says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Loved it and i hope to see it commercial soon.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Awesome game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Wow, the graphics are beatiful, and the game is fun. I just don't see where the theme goes here, but anyway, good job! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice! I really like the graphics and gameplay seems well polished too :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]