August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Night Stalker

by mactinite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where you play a vampire, a hungry vampire. You must stalk around at night and suck peoples blood. But watch out! every ten seconds gaurdsmen are alerted to your position. So go, young vampire, stalk your prey and don't starve to death!

Features:
If you don't kill a human but get close enough to suck their blood they will scream for help!

Humans "go home" after running their "errands"

If you guys could please let me know of any bugs or anything that would be great. also any critiques would be appreciated.

WARNING: HEADPHONE USERS BEWARE; NOTHING SCARY JUST POSSIBLY UNEXPECTED NOISES.

My highscore was 2007
let me know what you guys get? :D
Also could you guys let me know what platform you're on and if it ran okay? this is the first game I've ported to linux using unity, I don't know if it works or not. Thanks in advance! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#212Mood3.26
#325Innovation3.30
#330Audio2.94
#347Overall3.27
#366Fun3.15
#639Humor2.10
#639Theme3.09
#664Graphics2.71

Comments

Sink says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Really cool! I like the whole concept of the game and it is a lot of fun.

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Thanks :)

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

Really good game, nice concept and a whole lot of fun.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Nice game! I found the idea interesting. :)

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06am

Nice music.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Pretty cool!

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Really liked it.
Found a bug where the timer and blood bar completely lost sync. I was running around with Space held down. Not sure if that is what caused it but just a report for you.

That aside, great little bit of fun. Background music was great and the interface for sights was nicely done.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25am

Thanks! I'll see what I can do to replicate that. Maybe I'll fix it. :P

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

Crazy concept. Also nice title screen.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

Loved it. I would've liked some audio on the sucking thing.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great job! The AI, animation, and visuals are brilliant. And it's fun!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

537 score. Gets easy when you realise you can hold down space and move

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Cool concept. Liked it a lot. Great work.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Not bad! The sounds were great and the gameplay showed a lot of promise :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Pretty challenging, I could only get 650 D:

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:12am

Interesting Idea.

Has elements of Hidden in Plain sight.

Might have made the player a bit brighter he's hard to see on my screen.

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:25pm

A lot of fun! Good entry!

mactinite says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Thanks for all the input guys, some confidence boosters and some really good criticism. This is a great experience for me. :)

Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Man I got 832 and could run fast enough to get to my next victim, addicting game ! Nice job !

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:49am

*Windows 7 64 bit machine, 2GBs RAM, 2.0GHz processor*
1226 Blood!
AMAZING WORK! This is one of the first LD games this go round where I have seen stealth done well! I LOVE the lights. The music is GREAT and it has a very simple and clean UI! I love this game! The screaming of people is a bit unreliable if you start harvesting right near a guard and then run off, the person you were just biting screams because you are near them. Which gives away your position. Bookmarking this one for later! 9.5/10!

psc1997 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I have 2540 points :)
Good game :)

mactinite says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Oh wow! Highest reported score yet! you even beat mine! haha thanks for playing! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]