August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

AEREO

by manuq - Jam Entry

Well, a bit late but I'm happy to have it working! This is my first LD so far, and my first HTML5 game!

Controls: TAP or CLICK inside the game area.

No sound :( But I did the sprites hand-drawing and scanning!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Graphics(Jam)4.10
#112Innovation(Jam)3.43
#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#269Overall(Jam)3.16
#323Fun(Jam)2.86
#369Theme(Jam)2.92
#412Humor(Jam)1.92
#498Audio(Jam)1.56

Comments

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30am

Innovative and original idea, nice!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I really liked the artwork on this one!

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Inovative but hard ;)

manuq says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:47am

Yeah truiton, not hard at all :) I had no time to add progressive difficulty. Also no time to add the humoristic end I was planning. Next time :)

Thanks all!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06am

That was unexpected, but in a totally good way. I really enjoyed it!!

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29am

The artwork and animation, and the original way you achieved it, is so inspiring!

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30am

Adorable graphics and fun game play, cant wait to run it on my phone :D, I would love to see this polished and made into an android/iPhone app.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42am

Really nice use of mixed media. Good potential for a mobile game.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49am

Great looking game. I tried it on my iphone. The controls didn't feel as responsive. Overall nice work!

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:45am

Love the art... some of the controls were hard for clicking near the top and it wouldn't register... but well done overall. Wish there were more "levels".

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:53am

Simple, beautiful game, with an elegant one-button interface. The theme seemed like a bit of an afterthought, but I enjoyed the experience. Thank you for putting this together!

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I like the the idea of art being drawn on paper!

manuq says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

MrRoboman: oh there was a bug and touch was disabled, pushed a one line bugfix. Please try again, and thanks for the report! lurkingshadow, Brian Stegmann: now it can be tested in a mobile :)

davidwparker: you found it! Another odd bug fixed changing one line (which is within the rules).

nathanhoffer, Shmarah, Solifuge, dekart, thanks!

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I love the hand drawn animations! The game is fun to play. The only thing that's missing, is some audio.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice concept, looks pretty too! :)

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Art and animation here is very nice. If this was a grander adventure of a leaf I think it would be very enjoyable.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:45am

NIce art and good idea for the gameplay mechanics

Nerlin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Great graphics! I could be awesome if you added scores for path completing. Well done.

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Ouch, when my game reaches the LD homepage github sends "Error 503 Backend is unhealthy"... Last time I publish in github.io :(

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I don't know if I can really say what I liked so much about your game, maybe the art, maybe the simplicity. There wasn't much gameplay, but for what it was, it was pretty damn cool.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Neat!

Livsk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Good graphics and good gameplay, but there could be sounds. Good luck!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice artwork and animation. Some type of score or progression would be perfect.

anjack says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

The art style is awesome! Fun game!

tony.pe says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

I'd LOVE to see a whole game done in this art style. Neat idea!

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:50am

tony.pe given the nice critics I'm receiving, I may do :) Thanks everyone!!

CMahaff says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Great art style!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:33am

Beautiful and relaxing...
It's just tragic that there wasn't a song to go with it. I am listening to Chopin as I play this.

Idovoodoo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:24am

Lovely artwork. Great first entry, well done :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:39am

Innovative with inspired graphics and nice to play, but I miss atmospheric music and wind sounds. :)

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:41am

Good work. The game is kind of simple though

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Sweet and a little tough. Nice graphics and style :)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Good work, I enjoyed playing the original game.

drkrunk says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:20am

Very cool entry. I love the art style. The clicking to move is a bit different but done very well. I enjoyed playing it.

sanojian says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Lovely animations.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:37am

Nice job on hand-drawing all your assets. The animations are pretty too.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:17am

Beautifully simple game.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:43am

really great artwork. simple gameplay, but fun, could easily see this get expanded into something bigger.

GagaPete says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very nice but difficult though. Love the hand-drawn graphics. But I was really missing a highscore or something alike.

Antidote says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Love the handmade graphics ^^ I wish this had music, could be such a relaxing experience hahahah
Kinda wish the transition between air and water wasn't so abrupt, maybe sticks would stop coming and the leaf floats more slowly towards the bottom of the screen then the games transition. I felt I was being pulled by a vacuum cleaner to the other screen lol. The first time I got to the other screen I was so confused I was trying to float and ended up losing 3 lifes XD But then I figured it out

Here is a video I recorded while playing for the first time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJnqmmVw8XU

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Took me ages to figure out what was going on, but the hand-drawn visuals kept me interested long enough to figure it out. More of this sort of thing!

nthird says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:19pm

I really liked the artwork a lot and the simple gameplay. I just wish there was more to it. The switching back and forth feels a little arbitrary. Maybe you could have a gust of wind blowing you back up and some rainfall pushing you into the water. Something to give reason to the transition. The handdrawn art is beautiful and this could be a really fun relaxing game. I hope you keep working on it.

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:48am

Antidote, nthird: thanks a lot for the feedback on the transition. Indeed I wanted to add smaller leaves passing (they can be seen in the photography) to indicate the direction of the wind. I wanted the wind to be the real protagonist, so I I'll add sounds and music in a post-compo version.

Thanks everyone! There are many great games out there, I am very happy to be part of this.

Terrabyte says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:32am

The graphics are beautiful and the concept is amazing! You've done a really great job :)

Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I really like the hand-drawn graphics :)

crashbanito says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:09am

Pretty interesting concept with beautiful art. It would fit right at home on a mobile device.

If expanded, the game could definitely use a bit more difficulty as it's too easy to just stay at the top and dodge the occasional twig.

Overall great! Especially for your first LD and HTML5 game.

Broxxar says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I actually gave this a 5 on graphics. I see so many instances of people using really spectacular looking 3D assets and dozens of comments about how great the graphics are, but the designer is typically using prebuilt models, or relying heavily on post-processing bloom, AO and alike.

This on the other hand demonstrates really interesting and unique art, and to me that means a lot more than lens flares and sun shafts.

The game itself plays quite smoothly and integrates the theme well, so overall great work!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Neat! Really appreciated your postmortem; was cool to see how you got this graphical style.

EmptyFlash says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Such a good game. Really simplistic, ties in with the theme really well.

wulfdesign says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Love the hand drawn art theme

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I just love those scanned sprites :)
Good game mechanics as well.
Very good for a first LD and new platform!

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Really loved the artwork.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I really miss the audio, the game is very relaxing, it is not really a great challenge so the sound is essencial to build the mood and make the experience more engaging since gameplay is not that fun, nevertheless it's still a nice entry overall.

panurge says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Lovely mood and visuals. With some simple sound effects and varied level design, this could be an excellent little game - I can imagine it doing very well on mobile devices. Anyway, I really enjoyed playing.

aayars says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nobody said "I am a leaf on the wind" yet?

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Congratulations for finishing your first LD. You should be should be proud, this is a strong first entry. :)

I'm envious of your drawing skills. The hand drawn look and background color gave it a very zen look. All it needs is a touch of ambient music. Great work! :)

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

Cool game! I absolutely love the art style, it really adds a lot to the mood of the thing. A little music would have set things off nicely, but even as it is this is a fun piece of work.

manuq says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Thanks a lot everyone for trying my entry and for the insightful comments!! I'm so happy with the rates I got for a first LD!!

It is clear now to me that I will have to do something with music and sound next time. Although audio is not my land, there are many options to consider (specially for jam).

By the way I'm pleased that I didn't just thrown away some random music over it at the last minute. The overall rhythm is important to me, I have things bouncing and moving in loops, so the tempo of the music has to match those, or it will be perceived as wrong. Next time maybe I start with a music track :)

THANKS!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]