August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Charybdis

by LD_LAN_Party - Jam Entry

Our "10 Seconds" used the translation of seconds to mean a nautical distace (using the angle of seconds and the distance at the surface of the ocean) to be 101.4 feet. Or just over 1014 feet.

You pilot a pirate ship, trying to be the first to reach shore with your bounty and escapse certian death. Watch out for the dangers of the sea - rocks, sand bars and the Charybdis.

Controls are Left and Right to steer the ship. 'Z' to shoot left, 'X' to shoot forward, 'C' to shoot right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#213Theme(Jam)3.27
#389Audio(Jam)2.50
#399Humor(Jam)1.96
#419Innovation(Jam)2.64
#426Overall(Jam)2.79
#445Mood(Jam)2.46
#517Fun(Jam)2.30
#542Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

I'm not able to run it on Linux :(

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Did it give an error message?

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

I was wondering when I would find one that interpreted the theme that way! This must get really hectic with a bunch of people. Reminds me of Mariokart.

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

I'd like to try this out with a friend later tonight, but it's still really cool to play solo, just as a concept. Well done!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Nice idea for the game!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Neat game! Love the pirate ship.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31am

I'm so bad at this haha! Cool concept, it's quite challenging, and I bet it's a fun multiplayer experience. Good job!

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36am

Nice use of the theme, I enjoyed your game!

Kramin42 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27am

On Linux I get this:
./Charybdis: error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I have updated the Linux archive to include libGLEW.so.1.7

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40pm

amusing.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44pm

The linux build worked for me on arch. I really enjoyed the music and how the ship spins around when it gets in a whirlpool

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Might be more enjoyable multiplayer, but I didn't find the solo game to be that interesting. I love the interpretation of the theme though (and am hoping to find more games that went this route with it).

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

For a start, I love the sounds but the controls of the boat are a bit off. You might be trying to simulate boat but it is making the game somewhat unplayable and way too hard.
Good entry overall, nice job. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13am

Cool interpretation of the meaning of 'seconds' ;)

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:51am

Had to end process to make the music stop, and the game was kind of funky getting used to, other than that great work!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

At the end, if you win, it crashes for me.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

Simple game, good use of theme!! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Good game and good graphics but the game crash after it shows me my score. I have to restart it each time. But great job however.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Chilled out, quite nice to play

dagothig says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Not bad, but I managed to get stuck against two rocks during one of my gameplays, with no way out of it. Takes you out of the gaming mood a bit.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Great use of theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]