August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Microbes

by keyboardmonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

# Microbes, a life in ten seconds.

Microbes was created in half a day for Ludum Dare 27, 2013.
I hope you have fun playing it :)

It was a late entry, I spent about 12 hours on this.

* you are a microbe with a 10 second lifespan.
* eat green/blue microbes to extend your life.
* avoid red/pink microbes who steal your life.
* score is determined by the number of seconds you stay alive, plus the amount of microbes you ate.
* two player hotseat for your friends.

_Added fixes for crash bugs only._

== For Windows ==

Everything included in the download


== For GNU / Linux ==

Requires Python 2.7 and PyGame.

apt users can simply install with:

:$ sudo apt-get install python-pygame

and play with:

:$ python microbes.py

Please substitute your favorite package manager when appropriate :-)


== Tools used ==

* Geany code editor and bash terminal
* GIMP for graphics
* MilkyTracker for music

Resources were created by me, from scratch.


== License ==

This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
any later version.

This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
GNU General Public License for more details.

You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
along with this program. If not, see http://www.gnu.org/licenses/.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#449Humor2.43
#571Graphics2.86
#584Overall3.03
#588Audio2.48
#602Mood2.67
#694Fun2.76
#851Theme2.82
#884Innovation2.50

Comments

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47am

greetings, fellow pygame coder!

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Hi, sorry but I can't run this even though I have python installed, I think because it requires pygame. Is there any way you could have included it in the download?

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

couldn't play it, game crashed!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18am

Game crashed :(
It looked cute.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22am

Game looks nice, but you're going to have a hard time getting people to play it when it requires that they have Python AND Pygame installed.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

@markengley, Feysoura & Cthulhu, sorry it did not run. It does use PyGame, I included helpful steps on this above, I will update to include direct links to the installers if this helps.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26am

wow, written in Python? that's neat :)

very cool game overall :D

-ENDESGA

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21am

Hi folks. I have tried to create a windows executable but it fails to run. Running via source is still the way to go. Thank you for you time :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Fortunately had everything to play this game. Good job! Yet I think Windows executable would give you more ratings. Anyways good luck!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I have tried using py2exe on a work pc, however the result did not run.

Tonight I found the pyg project which lets one distribute pygames as one bundle with an exe, however I cannot test this. If anyone can give feedback I would appreciate it!

The link is: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/18686471/microbes/microbes-LD27-submission.zip - run the included "run.bat" file *fingers crossed*

berkano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Loving the XM music! I didn't get all the requirements working yet to run the game, but will try to figure it out.

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

As a micro biologist I must say I don't fully recognize the microbes, but it's hard not to like the combination of python and microbiology. (I was first pressing WASD, which made the game crash, so you might want to look into that.)

Dissing says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10am

Very nice game. Loved the graphics. But next time please show the time on the screen and not in the shell. The game was way to fast-paced to look both at the game and the shell.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

berkano, which OS are you running? I tried include thorough steps up above, if those did not work I'd like to find out why and update my steps.

local minimum, they are mostly imaginary designs ;)

Dissing, the time is actually displayed as a bar underneath your character, but you are right to suggest a numeric display too.

Thank you all for the feedback! Appreciated.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

Nice work for half a day!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Good game!

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Good gamplay, 90 here :) Also, make exe!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:07am

Hello all, I have made a 32-bit exe for you Windows folk :D

Have fun!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

@local minimum, thanks for pointing out that crash bug. I have fixed that - luckily the rules say crash fixes are ok. No new content added.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:46am

Was very laggy, even though my hardware was updated recently..
The game mechanic is well known. The audio is ok.
I like the colors used, but not the sprites itself.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Cool. The gameplay is pretty familiar and there's not a lot of variety, but the challenge level and pacing are spot on, so I wanted to replay it a few times. My best score is 133. I thought the music and graphics set a nice creepy mood, and I thought the names that pop up when you press Tab are pretty funny. My main suggestion would be to make it clearer whether I actually eat another microbe.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:33am

Not bad for 12 hours! Simple concept, but well implemented and with really cool graphics!

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Couldn't play it, The traceback is pasted below, it can't find an ubuntu related font. I think you should add fallback to use another font. I hope this is useful to you.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "microbes.py", line 286, in <module>
score_card_image = draw_score_card(score_card)
File "microbes.py", line 259, in draw_score_card
font = pygame.font.Font('UbuntuMono-B.ttf', 16)
IOError: unable to read font filename

Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:11am

manuq, I apologize for that! Added the missing font in the repo, thanks for the feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]