August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds In Hell

by tylorlilley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I completed my first Ludum Dare! Hurray!

10 Seconds in Hell is an old-school Adventure style exploration game in which the protagonist travels to Hell to search for the heart of his departed dearest one. Even the purest of souls do not last long in Hell, however... perhaps not even 10 seconds!

This game has some randomly generated elements to it elements to it to ensure that the experience is varied and different each time you play. Death is permanent, however, so do your best to avoid each of the seven deadly sins, as you will only have one shot at each of the loaded world configurations once!

If you've already beaten the game, you can try to improve on your performance and get a better score, or even aim to unlock the deepest, darkest secrets of hell by discovering the game's secret second ending...

Whatever you do, have fun, and good luck! You'll need it if you want to last more than 10 seconds in Hell.

!Important! EDIT 8/26/2013:
Small edit to fix game-breaking bug. If you already downloaded this game and want to play it again, please, download this version instead! Its a good thing I caught it so quickly; only a few people have played it so far. :)

CONTROLS:
These are listed at the end of the intro at the beginning. In case you forget though, the are:

ARROW KEYS: move around/push blocks/open doors/open chests
Z KEY: light a torch/begin playing
X KEY: pick up/put down an item
C KEY: take out a key
BACKSPACE: restart game/skip intro.
SPACE: pause/unpause the game.
F4: toggles full screen mode
F9: Take a screenshot

Hope that helps! Have fun, and be prepared to lose... a lot! :)

EDIT: 8/29/2013
For those who enjoyed the game itself, I have continue to work on it and improve it over the last few days, and will be coming out with an updated version with some more features and less bugs than the competition version. You can download it on my website here: http://tylorlilley.com/

But PLEASE only play it AFTER you've played AND rated the competition version. It would be unfair to have your criticisms skewed by a better version, and I have no interest in cheating! Haha.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Mood4.00
#128Graphics3.78
#296Overall3.33
#347Fun3.19
#436Audio2.75
#521Innovation3.00
#828Theme2.85
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Very good atmosphere and interesting idea. I played for a while, but I don't think I ever really made much progress. I died a lot :)

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Death ...seems to happen a lot. Reminds me of my old CGA days on my first IBM system I ever got. The intro needs a way to skip if one decides to play again, as it can be long after going through it the first time. Overall, enjoyable if not difficult =)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Very atmospheric, but I didn't get very far. There wasn't too much point having time as health as it was so easy to find.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

There is a way to skip the intro. It is listed with th rest of the controls at the end of the intro. Across from backspace is "restart game" and "skip intro" as these are the two functions backspace serves.

Thanks for playing! And yes, death will happen a lot... it is possible (and very rewarding) to win however! :)

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Great game. Various items, monsters etc.

However, the 10 seconds aren't really there. Right at the beginning, you get a lot of mana and very fast 2 minutes time. I died because of running into a monster, while I had > 100 seconds left - And I made a lot of unnecessary steps forth and back.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Really nice switch-about on the rogue-esque/dungeon crawler genre but without killing monsters you avoid them and think of ways of getting out of there. really liked it! well done!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37am

I am sorry I did not play your game, I can't deal with dark things too well... I am glad you rated my game thank you.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17am

Wow.. the intro was so well written it reminded me of something from Poe. It got my blood boiling reading it.
The game has terrific atmosphere, and lighting up the torches really creates the feel of the abysmal darkness around you. The moment a sin begins to stalk you just creates a sense of sheer terror.
I couldn't figure out how to get away, though, and couldn't survive too long.. Even the skeletons I couldn't avoid correctly.
It's interesting how once the game starts, the back story begins to feel distant. The sense of unbreakable resolution and great purpose seem to fade, and is replaced with doubt and despair.
Hopefully I can finish the game at some point, I want to know how it ends...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Excellent roguelike. Loved the few colors and the theme. It was hard though, so I never finished it, but if the intro is any indication, I would have loved to see the ending!
Cheers for your first LD completion too!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I was submerged by the atmosphere...
Then I wanted to stop, took me a while to understand I just had to leave fullscreen.
Nice game!

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:07am

You should just be able to hit the escape key too...

I kinda like that though, haha. You can just leave Hell because you want to stop! Kind of ironic.

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Well, this is cool!
;)

I'm not sure how far I am, but I got the red-sword(?) or something and some 130 seconds left, but a monster got me and I was like.... DAMMMMIIITT I'M PRETTY CLOSE!!!!!

HAHA!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Fun

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Really neat game, liked it loads. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Really amazing with great atmosphere and tons of content!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]