August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Antarctic-Toc

by Meep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Antarctic-Toc revolves around a penguin running around to feed newborn penguins. A newborn penguin must be fed within 10 seconds of hatching. Additionally, random events happen every 10 seconds, making the task more difficult.

Unfortunately I didn't have time to add music or sound effects, but I hope the art makes up for it.

I didn't have time to balance the difficulty very well; it feels like it starts a little slow but escalates very quickly.

Details on how to play are in-game, but for redundancy:

- Arrows to run
- X to jump
- C to throw a snowball
- R to quick restart

Pressing towards a wall then pressing away from it will perform a wall-jump. This can be used to quickly climb or avoid hazards.

Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#288Graphics3.35
#406Theme3.32
#418Fun3.09
#435Overall3.17
#491Humor2.33
#703Mood2.54
#726Innovation2.75
#971Audio1.28

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15am

So I saw this anf thought "Hey, didn't that person already make a penguin-based game some time ago?"

This means the style is recognizable :)

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

This is pretty charming. I like the idea of the "random event".

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Simple, cute, and fun! Good stuff.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I felt pretty terrible watching those little penguins die. :) I really like the random events. Great Job!

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

cute graphics !

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

i got 22!
Really cute game. Loved the graphics (tho i wished it had been double sized pixels so i could see more detail!)
I think the balance is kinda ok - easy in the start just to get the hang of it, then BAM, hell freezes over and there is fucking penguins everywhere ;)
Sound would really have added to the experience.
Great fun!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I see dead penguins :'(

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20pm

It's cute. I like that the main avatar can't die, it makes me more brave to save little penguins.
The hunger bars filling up could be life bars going down. This briefly confused me. I understand an ally with dropping health.
How to play should include what keys to use for control.

Well done.

Vico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really nice! Congrats! :D

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

Good game but some sounds and help with controls right in game could make it better. Well done.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50am

Old school arcade style game play with an event timer! Really cool idea using the theme as triggers for difficulty. Sound would definitely complete the experience, good stuff!

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

awesome graphics, love the style.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Simple but fun

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

I found the controls a bit slippery, but, being ice, maybe they're meant to be.

The random-event-every-ten-seconds works well. And the penguins look good :)

Blecta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nice entry ! Cute graphics and the random hazards idea is pretty cool :)

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice game, really cute! Random events are good. I didn't like the hatchlings dying, can't they just end up crying? :)

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Good entry.

Damn spikes -.- Stopping me right before I can feed a little one.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:52am

Every ten seconds a penguin starves :[
Nice art style and game play, good job!

bitowl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

awwww it's sooo cute :3

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Scored 17 : ) Wall jumpin penguin ftw! I found the death time you're stunned for a little frustrating but it was interesting that your character cant die and that you lose by not saving the little penguins! Snowballing the bad penguins was fun too but I really liked wall jumpin up the center part heheh. Nice work man.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Very nice and funny game, good idea :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

NO! Are be penguin babies dying? Fun game anyway!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:18pm

good job

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17pm

The animation of the little penguins getting fed is so cute! In fact, all the graphics are pretty cool.

I really like the gameplay! The snowball seems strangely satisfying, and I think not using hitpoints but just stunning the player was a pretty good decision. It's also cool that the "events" are taking up the whole 10 seconds - I was expecting just momentary events, which wouldn't have been as cool. The events bring a lot of variety which games like this really need. The difficulty balance is fine until a certain point.

Regarding the music: Check out http://abundant-music.com next time! It's a generator with a surprising high quality.

Really charming game!

siat says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:29am

So cute. It would be nice to have multiple levels and some ways of getting health back. But it was very enjoyable!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:11am

Cute fun game!! I love it! I featured this game in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/biBzDWmV3kc

MetroidMan347 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:54am

IT was quite difficult to get the penguin where I wanted him to go.

Darkfrost says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:06am

Fellow penguin-platformer! :D Simple, obvious game mechanics, that need very little explanation (Except that I didn't realize the other penguins were enemies at first!)

Good game :) Managed to score 23!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Nice little game! You should add the controls somewhere.

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:54pm

At first it seemed simple, but soon things started to get complicated! Good job!

domrein says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Fun and cute penguins! Good job.

blackotus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:19pm

It's a cute game!
I like how the events change as the game goes :)

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great implementation of game mechanics.
Nice and simple graphics. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]