August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Holiday in Russia

by Nerlin - Jam Entry

10 Seconds Wave Spawner Game.
Try your best with crazy monsters.

Press WASD for moving. Press Space for shopping. Use mouse for attacking units.

Shop has 10 second timeout.

made by Nerlin & Silent

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#134Fun(Jam)3.33
#227Humor(Jam)2.70
#249Overall(Jam)3.20
#307Graphics(Jam)3.21
#317Mood(Jam)2.86
#402Audio(Jam)2.46
#403Theme(Jam)2.87
#434Innovation(Jam)2.59

Comments

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Cool game, it's got a nice look to it and plays really well. Gets pretty tricky pretty quickly for me though.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

what shall I do to play once I'm on the google drive page?

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

Press Download at the File Menu if you see old Google Drive style or just press Download button on Google page at the right-bottom corner of your browser.

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

I liked it a lot :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04am

The idea is simple yet the game is great. I love the art!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59am

Looks great; nice cohesive pixelly aesthetic. Surprisingly addictive despite its simplicity. Love that shooting sound! Would liked to have seen a more thoughtful integration of the 10 seconds theme, as I suspect the game could benefit from a bit more of a sense of rhythm.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

Damn that game's hard. Could of been more fun if it was faster paced and had a bigger field

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice game with cute graphics. Felt a bit sluggish at firs tbut then i just needed to increase my attack speed. Some move speed upgrade would also be nice. Two suggestions on the interface: since spacebar opens the shop menu, then spacebar should also close it. While on the shop menu it would make more sense to map the purchase keys to the keys the player is already got there fingers over, so WASD. reaching over there to the h,n etc keys was a minor hindrance.

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

Very addictive gameplay!

Small gripe: the connection with the theme is quite weak IMHO.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18am

Fun little game! The simple RPG systems are really satisfying. I kept accidentally clicking off-screen, which would make the game lose focus, though. Overall, good, simple concept.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

There are giant cats in Russia??
I loved the mood. Good job.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

very interesting :)

-ENDESGA

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

This was pretty fun, I like how it doesn't end after the ten seconds, but gives you the possibility to keep shooting at mobs. Good job. :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01am

Great game! A bit too hard, but I'd like too see an bigger release someday :D

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18am

This was pretty awesome!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24am

.xnb.. I doubt I can emulate that under Linux using Wine..

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

Stunning title, but unfortenly - doesn't launch under Win((

Looking for update of this one. \m/

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

This was hard, but fun none the less.
10 second pressure really gets the blood flowing.

chippers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51am

Fun game plays well. I like the art and the game was challenging~!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

For starting this game you need installed copy of XNA Framework 4.0. Try to install it before launching the game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:11am

Decent enough little game. I enjoyed the graphics most of all.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Exactly what visiting Russia is like. Nice work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

good job

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Great entry! Love the 2d/3d graphics and shop concept.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

nice game. hard but very fun. really like the visual style.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Nice! Funny and hard game. I miseed more space to move and some speed upgrade.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Great game! You should add some speed upgrades, otherwise it's just too hard to avoid the enemies

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

Was amusing and I enjoyed it :D

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

I liked the game's simple pixel art style. I enjoyed the upgrades, but getting kicked out of the store when I couldn't afford anything else caught me off guard a couple of times and got me beaten up. Cool game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

That was pretty crazy, nice job on the escalation throughout the game.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I like the stat system, it was cool to be able to try different strategies each time. It gets pretty crazy. Fun game!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Funny game, I died pretty fast with the robot though xD

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Very basic concept, but it was fun to play. In a post-compo version, I would prevent enemies from spawning on the player's position and I would increase the view size.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]