August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tunnel Vision

by Sink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a light bulb that is trying to save the world from darkness, your basic stuff. There's even a neato boss fight at the end!
Controls: Arrow keys move, Z jumps

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#18Mood4.00
#121Fun3.54
#154Audio3.29
#184Overall3.49
#193Graphics3.57
#353Theme3.37
#449Humor2.43
#450Innovation3.11

Comments

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Very moody and cool!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Art style is very cool. Contributes to the mood.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Oh! I very enjoyed helping the lightbulb achieve its goals. Very cute graphics and nice music to score a fraught but contemplative journey. Disliked the spike segments; took a break after the second savepoint (after spikes were introduced; the one with moving platforms). Could really do with floppy disks on each of the spike screens; since spikes can only be discovered when in really close proximity, encountering them on moving platforms feels (to me) unfair.

Bug: if the player does nothing after falling, they will be unable to restart, as the restart button seems to require a savepoint to have been activated.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

This is easily my favorite entry so far. The level design/mechanics are in perfect harmony with the aesthetics and it makes for a really great experience. Well done.

I'd love to download the source for this, but it's asking me for a username/pw when I try to download it :(

Sink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Thank you so much! Oh and I accidentally linked to my own account, I'll fix it now.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Got it, works now! Thanks a lot :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04pm

This game's pretty funky, the blue colours give it a neat atmosphere and I had fun playing it. Good job

anserran says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Great game! The level design is perfect, slowly increasing the hardness through it. I also liked the song and the art style.

Neil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Very nice game! The platforming feels nice and responsive, and I like the mood.

Sometimes restart does not work...

mactinite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I love this. Lol the light bulb guy is adorable you just want him to make it. Also I really like the music.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

When's the greenlight? :D Joke apart, nice, kinda different platformer. To quote someone in my stream: "Cute and terrifying."

Arcana says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:55am

Nice artwork, but this wasn't my type of platformer. Unfortunately I think the time limit made me rush and get all nervous, and subsequently I died a lot. I think if it was either the jumping/darkness or the jumping/time it would have been fine but putting it all together taxed my patience.

I would have liked more checkpoints for weak and impatient players like me!

Good mood and atmosphere though. I liked that a lot. The artwork was very fitting.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

I love the mood! It reminds me a lot of vvvvvv in a very good way! The visual style is very simple but very effective. Along with the music it creates a very good mood!

This game will definitely work as inspiration for my next one! =)

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Good game. I like this graphic and game have a cool mood :) Good work.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:23am

Loved it! The character graphics were really cute, and the game was a good length. Boss battle was fun. The stage right before that was kind of frustrating, but I did want to beat it and I was relieved that it didn't get more difficult than that. :) I did feel like the horizontal movement of the bulb should be a little higher...

Bug: If, right after falling from the socket, you let time run out instead of getting the disk, you can't play at all. I of course did this.

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:40am

Thanks a bunch for your input! Yeah I am aware of that bug, and it sucks even more because its extremely easy for me to fix. I just can't easily go back and upload a fixed version. Glad you got to complete it!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:10am

Great mood and style! The difficulty is very challenging and I agree with Arcana, I would prefer more checkpoints >:[
Terrific game!

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:42am

Lovely game!

Everything works together nicely. My only niggle: On the longer fall with the spikes and moving platforms, you really need to put a second checkpoint there.

Well done!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:14am

Cool little platformer. :)
Cute graphics, loved the shadowy sort of thing.
However one gripe: the game's very bugged somewhere in there regarding hitboxes: I died more times randomly (0 hazards, spikes or whatever near: just straight-line walking) than with actual intended deaths!

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Well there is a timer that counts down that kills you when it hits zero (The ten second theme and all). Fairly certain it was that because I have been using this collision code for many of my projects and it has never failed me.

murilo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:38pm

The levels design was great! With the right difficulty increase. Very good and moody too!

Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:19pm

augh. i couldn't find it in me to pass the part where you jump to the right over 2 spikes, drop down to the next screen, get on the platform, drop down to the helicopter to grab the 10sec timer refresh. jump down again to the next screen and get on that platform, jump over the spike in the way of the platform as it moves, drop down and there are the two ghost guys with the 10sec timer refresh. that's where died all the time. hurray! gj on the lighting. very creepy. I"m a LIGHTBULB. xD

zzForrest says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This game is pretty awesome, with a smooth music track to go with it. I disliked the insane difficulty with the spike area, but I liked this game overall a lot. Also, the first time you save it gives you an error instead of just creating a save file.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]