August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Adventure Company

by Venturelli - Jam Entry

Hi, my name is Mark. I'm the designer of Dungeonland and this is my first time in LD - also the first time I ever make a game completely by myself!

I have a life-long obsession with both Gauntlet and turn-based games, and with this game I think I've hit both of these notes!

Adventure Company is a half turn-based, half real-time game inspired by Gauntlet. Your party of adventurers must find their way out of each level with as much Loot as possible, but don't get too greedy as the monsters get stronger every turn!

In the Hero Phase, you can take your time and place your heroes. During the Monster Phase, the game goes real-time and the monsters will have 10 seconds to kill you!

Features:
---------
* Innovative turn-based/real-time gameplay;
* 3 playable stages with randomly-placed elements;
* Full support for X360 gamepad and mouse+keyboard;
* Highscore table;
* Flying orc bits!

Known Issues:
-------------
* My pathfinding sometimes goes crazy and orcs think they can fly. Please excuse the horrible deaths you will experience because of it :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Fun(Jam)4.01
#12Overall(Jam)4.00
#23Innovation(Jam)3.84
#68Audio(Jam)3.61
#132Mood(Jam)3.36
#134Humor(Jam)3.02
#213Graphics(Jam)3.58
#218Theme(Jam)3.26

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Hey, this is a pretty neat idea and you guys should continue making this. It's like a combination of two of my favorite things: Gauntlet and tower defense games.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Thanks man :D

But unfortunately it's not "guys", it's just me... Would love to have a good artist and a decent programmer on board!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

It was really fun until I realized I couldn't beat the tutorial level. Then I got pissed off.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

This is fantastic! It takes some time to master, but once you get the hang of it it's tons of fun. Nice job!

thephantom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

awesome graphics,game play and idea

great job :)(try to improve the tutorial a little because it took me alot of time to know how to end my turn )

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08am

Really cute a quirky pixel art style going on in this one, very enjoyable game. Rated highly. :)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice. Takes a time to get the hang on it.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Thanks for the comments, people! Yeah, the game is weird, you gotta give it some time, but it's really fun after you learn it :D

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

Like it, I believe I played 1 like this long ago in kong but it didn't have the aiming part.

scottwashi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

I really like this.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

Man that's really awesome. I couldn't get past 1st level but still :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

I find this game to be very easy to understand. I guess its because I have played a lot of tactical games. It really fun and I'd love to see a polished version of this.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

This is a really superb idea for a game. You absolutely should develop this further. Holy crap this was so fun.

blopit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Wow that was very fun. It was like a unique TD

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

Neat concept, but I don't think that you really pulled it off yet. It was too slow, both during the planning part and the real-time part (especially if there are no enemies on screen).

It was also a little weird how the turn-based part still was sort-of real-time in that you could move around and collect money.

I had a case where I started assigning an attack diretion (whether intentionally or not), and I could exit out of it, and I could revisit that character after assigning an attack direction. Because of that, I thought that it needs a way to go back to a character and change what you want him to do during the upcoming turn.

Finally, I thought that it was odd that the real-time portion just seemed to continue until all enemies are dead. I expected some kind of time limit.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

This game is really fun! The mechanics are well designed and easy to use, and killing bottlenecked enemies is very satisfying!

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17am

This game is freakin' awesome! Such a nice idea and implementation, this needs to be made into a full game! Great Job!

Antidote says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36am

Really liked the idea :D You start to formulate strategies on which character to face where, quite interesting ^^

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Wow. This is so cohesive as a whole and just altogether a good game. I did run into the pathfinding glitch in the second level that led to my demise. As you said, it is a bit similar to my game but dang man yours blows my entry out of the water. It's also interesting how you went more the console route while I went with a mobile control scheme.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Thanks for the kind words, Schwiggy :D

ghostmaple says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Excellent! Reminded me of the mood of the anxious parts in the original X-Com when you position your guys and hope hope hope you'll scrape through to the next turn.

Lord_X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

Seems interesting, but the link is broken, so I can't download it!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

Oops, it's fixed now, Lord_X. Dropbox playing tricks on me!

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Can't manage to pass level 2 x) But very fun to play! Nice work

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

Interesting and fun game! The first time I tried the game I quit because I wasn't sure how to make the damn game move to the next turn. It was frustrating. I was about to give up on it but then I saw the comments and well, they made it look like it was a really good game (once you know how to play it) so I noticed there was this "how to play" inside the file so I read it.
Then I gave it a second chance and I can totally say this is actually fun and innovative. I quite like it! Congrats :)

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

Thanks for giving the game some time, ConflictiveLabs :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

It's an X-COM made right. keep on it guys, will be more than happy to play to play the full game.

tokw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

good game its like a tower defense
but more interactive nice job continue with this

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:52pm

:D

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Wow, X-COM? I'm humbled for you to just mention the name in the same page as my game, thanks :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Loved the music and style. Gameplay was fun as well. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Good job and well done!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Fun, fun, fun! Thoroughly enjoyed this and echo everyone else in saying that I'd buy a complete game of this.

Finn Stokes says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

This is a great game. I love the tactical positioning and the fact that once you understand the game, every death is due to some obvious tactical error. However, it takes some time to get the hang of the tutorial level, so I think the difficulty curve needs a little work, and restarting the game on death is painful.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

good job

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

An amazing game! Great execution!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Nice idea, really enjoyed it :)

davisan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

Amazing game!

Zammy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

Hey Mark, terrific game mate! Congratulations for putting this whole thing together in 3 days!
I've really enjoyed it. I've never played Gauntlet, but I think I'll do if it's anything like your game!
Some suggestions:
- Put mute sound button there. I wanted to keep it running in the background, but not being able to stop the sounds prevented me from doing that.
- Put "restart level" button too.

And a bug report:
On the second stage, at the center near the key, the monsters killed 3 of the heroes, then suddenly instead of pursuing the 4th one, they've just continued on the vector they've chosen to move before that. They've continued to move across walls and off the sceen, as if collision stopped working. Check the screenshot:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8311249/adventurecompany_bug.jpg
After that, no other monsters have been spawned.

Please continue developing this title! With better graphics it'll be real gem!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Thanks Zammy! The pathfinding bug is a known issue (see description), but at least I think it's the only bug in the build.

As for mute and restart, I ran out of time =( I can't add those now, I guess, since that would be adding new features to the game and the rules forbid it...

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Wow! Great, original game you've got here! Music + cool graphics gave it a really cool character!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:12am

Very interesting tactics game, nice work!

Gabriel says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:30am

Hey, Venturelli! Gabriel from Pixel Cows here! Congratulations, AWESOME game! I loved the tactics / tower defense hybrid approach, really makes for an equally deep but less brainy approach to this type of game. As others said here, this is surely a concept that deserves to be more fully developed to see where it takes. Personally, I think dragging and dropping characters within their allowed movement circles instead of moving in 8 directions style would make it a little faster to set up the heroes at each turn. Also, it seems I stumbled on a visual glich that would have the floor replaced by random bits of other images, take a look: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/69894467/Adventure%20Company%20ground%20glitch.jpg

Still, surely one of the best games I've played in this LD. I'm a total sucker for tactics games, I guess. hahah

Great work! Congrats!

Cheers from Brazil

Danex317 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Great Job! The tutorial level is a bit difficult but I still liked it.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Epic one!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Thanks Gabriel, your game is awesome!

farmergnome says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

Please continue with this, I had a lot of fun with this one!

Hegemege says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Really awesome game, enjoyed it a lot!

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:09am

3 seconds playing -> BAM. NEW FAVORITE GAME! <3

panurge says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Awesome! One of my favourites so far. The mechanic is perfectly balanced - not too tricky but just difficult enough to be really satisfying when you get it right. The style is great too.

My only complaint is one which others have already noted - it took me a long time to work out that I had to place all the attack cones to end my turn.

Overall, an excellent entry. I really enjoyed playing and hope a full game will come of this!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Great game!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:23pm

The third level took me much longer to beat than I expected, but it was still a great game. I got really lucky on my winning run and had most enemies only spawn from one side long enough for me to wipe out the spawn points on the other side. From there it was just keeping everyone tight together till I got to the exit.

Venturelli says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 2:32am

Wow, blown away by the high ratings, guys! This is my first time participating in LD, I'm really happy for this! Thank you very much :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]