August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Particle Fighter

by Tym0r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided to make a arcady fighter game with massive particle effects all over the place.

It's absurdy colorful and quite fast therefore it needs a little bit of practice.

Gameplay video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5sJ8e_FMZk

Controls: WASD, v(fps/stats), mouse

Bouncing: Generates extra acceleration (capped at ~2.5)

Power-ups:
Cross: Invulnerability
Lightning: Faster reload speed
Skull: Kills everything

Time-Modifications:
Droped Energy: +1.0 sec
Bounce: +0.3 sec
DoubleBounce: +1.0 sec
Enemy Collision: -3.0 sec
Getting Hit: -0.05 - -0.25 sec (level 1)
Level increases over time and so does received damage.

Used Tools:
Libgdx + Libgdx ParticleEditor+ cgMusic + Audacity + 3ds Max + ship.shapewright.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#66Graphics4.00
#330Audio2.94
#688Overall2.94
#712Mood2.52
#730Fun2.71
#811Humor1.81
#946Innovation2.40
#971Theme2.63

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

I can't seem to use the web link.

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

dropbox 404

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Error 404 from Dropbox on the weblink.

Shackelford says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Same error as the others. Screenshot looks fun though :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

Dropbox 404

Tym0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

i'm sorry. i can't reproduce the 404 error. i checked it with 2 PCs. Chrome works but firefox displays just white screen. i have no idea why.

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Looks really cool. It's pretty hard to control your ship, especially when you bounce in a corner and get stuck bouncing back and forth. I think it would help if it didn't re-orient your ship after you bounced.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

It reminds me "Geometry Wars". Really cool and nice looking game ! I love the music :).

It's a bit difficult to control the ship though.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Awesome little space shooter, loved the presentation.

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very nice! At times got completely lost, because it was so chaotic ... But yet, somehow I was killing baddies and collecting goodies.

Fun!

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04am

Oh noes 404!

Tym0r says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57am

i got it working on firefox, framerate is not stable like in chrome though. but i don't know if it fixes the 404 error. looks like a common dropbox issue.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Funny game but very confusing

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Loading bar doesn't seem to load, but could be my internet connection.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:51pm

NICE! Very good job!

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

Visuals are great but controlling the ship is way too twitchy. Usually just ends bouncing around the screen and then dies.

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

Pretty hard to follow where your ship is; chaotic, but I LOVE PARTICLES!

noom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

Bouncing off the walls seemed to exponentially increase my speed, which made this almost impossible to play. Neat concept but I found it too hard to control my ship at all. (played in the web version under waterfox, which may explain the bug I experienced)

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

The particle effects are really nice, but they made the ship control a bit confusing.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:08am

Crikey can you flight fast! Beautiful graphics. I wish the screen spun around with you. I spent all my time out of control and progressing by luck, it felt! And an extra compliment on the graphics for good measure! :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Weird but very original control scheme for the ship... Liked that xD Special effects and overall smoothness was a delight!

A VERY solid entry!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:39am

It's too hard to tell what's going on, since you aren't really differentiated from your bullets, and they're barely differentiated from your enemies. Even so, I really enjoyed bouncing around the screen spamming everywhere, the particle effects look nice, and the sounds are nice, it's just difficult to play very deliberately.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:42am

Cool, but hard to understand what is going on or have control over anything.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

Throws up an error. D:

yagiz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

I got an error (web version) saying that 'mainMenu/mainMenuButtons/menuButton.png' does not exist...

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

very difficult at first

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Particle effects are pretty, but the game itself is too chaotic.. it's really hard to see where your ship is on the screen.

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

Spectacular visuals. My netbook doesn't handle the game very well, so I got very few fps. I couldn't see where was the theme applied. Hope to try it again in a better computer.

mollymus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:55am

It quickly got a bit messy, lost track of my ship multiple times - and the bouncing when trying to go outside screen felt abit strange, would've rather seen that the sides looped into each others like in many other similar games! Anyway, you definitly succeeded in adding "particle effects all over the place", so good job on that!:D Always fun to try other libgdx games!:)

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I like how hectic the game can get :)

Nice work on making the game colorful and lively!

Nice job!

goyal says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:19am

Looks good, but I cant seem to get the controls right.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]