August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 second maze

by connorwiniarczyk - Jam Entry

This is my first ever ludum dare entry, so I wouldn't expect too much. The game challenges you to solve a small maze in under 10 seconds.

Arrow keys to move
Reach the red cube in under 10 seconds to win
The small blue cubes are switches that open doors when collided with
Green cubes give you a time bonus of two seconds

let me know what you think. It's obviously far from perfect, but I'd be interested in knowing what you guys thought.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#385Theme(Jam)2.89
#520Fun(Jam)2.29
#601Graphics(Jam)1.67
#604Overall(Jam)2.06
#610Innovation(Jam)1.59
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Nice idea, could have used some more levels and items.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

i liked this alot you should do more with it in the future :D

JoeCool17 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11am

More levels, more items, and

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:13am

Good place to start but you need more game there. Add to it for a couple of week and learn from the process. Work on it until it's fun for your friends. You will learn a lot.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Mazes are always a nice idea. It's a solid base for a game, even with a few simple extra mechanics it could be really fun.

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Good job for your first LD. I liked the difficulty and how the green blocks gave you extra time.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I think the idea is there and with more time you could add some polish and more levels. Nice job!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Great little game, but really short... More levels or maybe an infinite mode would have been better. :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

Too bad it was that short... Only thing I'd ask you to improve would be to start the timer after the first button has been pressed, maybe also having some arrow to the player, since all I saw at first were a few squares.^^

Arcana says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

Not bad for a first LD. I think in addition to what others have suggested, tighter controls would have been a benefit, like I was kind of moving halfway between things and only kind of fitting into some of the passageways instead of it being a solid tight fit. It's kind of hard to describe but maybe if you play it again you'll see what I mean.

OR, you could have variable-sized hallways, so that they don't always have to be the width of the player.

Good start with LD! Glad I was able to play this.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice game! I like it. Nice use of theme as well. I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

Grafter says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

good first entry! simple idea, good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]