August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MAGIC DUEL

by Rnd - Jam Entry

like a cowboy Duel, where you must walk 10 step before firing at will, in this game we try to create Duel, not with guns, but Magic.
Press the correct keyboard arrow sequences and Elements during the 10s channeling phase before unleashing your Magic! The more you able to get the correct sequence, the more powerful your magic will become. Remember, you have to make sure that your energy is higher than your opponent's in order to inflict damage. Elements are also a key factor!
It's still buggy but in case something happens, just refresh the game.

Enjoy our game!
Thank You!

Rnd & JCI Crew

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Animated says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:30pm

My character vanished, but decent. Gets a little boring though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22am

Nice idea!

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Neat concept. Need to figure out a way to make it a bit faster paced.

FanFan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

Sometimes the characters glitched, other than that nice job!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice take on the duel concept :D The characters did mysteriously vanish during the button combo phase, but other than that I had no problems. I like the gameplay

acro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Hey, the concept is nice and fairly original for the 10 seconds. I like the webcomic-style manga characters and the element cards (they look very appealing and well designed, despite probably taking about 10 seconds to draw :P ). Less good is the lack of explanation as to what elements do, and how I almost won in 5 rounds, then was beaten by fluke hits and winners by the AI (fire beats water? Rly?) Also highly saturated blue and red constrasting like that is physically painful to look at.

Rnd says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:26am

Thank you guys for the comment
@acro if you win the elements (fire vs water) water give twice damage to the enemy

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Except that blue background, art is great.
I feel the game mecanism to be a bit too simplistic but I really like this kind of card game.

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I like the idea of key combos, it perfectly matches with the 10 second limit and makes the game pretty challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]