August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Origin Within

by FanFan - Jam Entry

A curse made the Boy stuck in a perpetual 10-seconds loop. Find a way to break free from this misery!

[Controls]
Arrow keys - Movement
Spacebar - Various

Tools : FlashDevelop, Adobe Flash CS5.5, SFXR, GraphicsGale
Coder, Designer : FanFan
Artist : Vresu

Feel free to drop a feedback/error report! Also, please post your final score of the first play :D

If control isn't responsive, click the game area first to gain focus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#18Fun(Jam)3.84
#23Innovation(Jam)3.84
#24Theme(Jam)3.88
#32Overall(Jam)3.86
#90Graphics(Jam)4.08
#96Mood(Jam)3.49
#374Humor(Jam)2.09
#393Audio(Jam)2.49

Comments

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Fun! Creative and original; it really made me think what I should do next, and there was no time to spare. Good job!

rakyatmiskin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24am

nice game.... finished in 52 cycle...
too many circling move because i don't know the usage of the item.... but very interesting...

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40am

nice graphic this game's great

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

Great game, good job. :)

mire says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Love it! Great idea, great execution!

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

51 cycyles, 3 treasures. Good game! Add some audio so I can rate it high :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I think the game would be better without respawning every 10 seconds. Bu t the game is still great.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

If you didn't respawn every 10 seconds, there would be no challenge! The entire point of the 10 seconds is to make you think what path you're going to take, you know? ;)

Alink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Genial idea about how to use the theme to still have a big map to explore in a 10 sec range. And the various unlocks are nicely done.

The graphics are lovely, but why so small? I zoomed and big pixels are good with such pretty sprites.

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Thanks all!

@Alink the small sprites are artist's choice - he wants to make the game resemble a handheld screen.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Great content! Loved it.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I like the graphics a lot. The controls were a bit slow to respond.

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice idea, great visual style.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Nicely done.This boy won in 59 cycles and 4 treasures. I kept flinging myself onto the spikes for no good reason. Tiny sprites!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Good stuff! The art, story, mechanic all mesh, keep me curious and engaged.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Very fun game. I like the idea of a previous (limited) run influencing the next run. The art was a big plus, too. :)

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44pm

UPDATE: ADDED SIMPLE SOUND

Really glad you all enjoyed it, everyone!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

It's really small, can't really see what's going on, is there anyway to maximize it?

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:36am

I also got out in 59 cycles and 4 treasures. Great game, great concept, great level progression. It was also interesting that leveling up simply was a matter of encountering ghosts rather than fighting them - that simplified the gameplay a lot.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Nice. Very polished. High marks for you.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Awesomely polished game! Cool how many items and gameplay features you managed to finish. Also the level design is awesome! Everything fits perfectly.

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49pm

wowww this is definitely one of my favourite LD games i've played!!! i got 48 cycles and 2 treasures but I would have tried to get all of them if I knew the yellow thing ended the game.

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Awesome graphics and gameplay, nice !

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

The game have great tone and feeling. The graphics are great! Also really nice fit with the theme!

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

These graphics are amazing, love the artwork. The concept is great, the "do something over and over in ten seconds" idea was one I wanted to see well done and you nailed it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Finished it with 59 cycles! Really nice work! Proceeding and gaining abilities was interesting, you could have explained somewhere what the bravery does though, that took a moment to figure out. There should be some music!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

this is ridiculously good. seriously.

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24pm

This was greta, nice graphic, nice gameplay, too bad there's no music...
I'd say the screen size was a bit too small

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Amazing job, the sprite art is really well done, the gameplay was interesting and had decent pacing and the controls worked really well. I really like with a little bit of music it could have really set a mood of some sort. Otherwise I feel like it was really good!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Best game that tried to do something like this that I've played this LD, very good job and the graphics were fantastic

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Interesting solution, never played anything like this! Five balls!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

Great idea! I really liked the gameplay and the graphics. The stepping sound got a little annoying though.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

Very nice game!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Great job. 53 and 4. Wish there was a full-screen or 2x scale option.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:28pm

It is quite creative. I really was missing an rpg type game :)
Great work!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Fun game! I like the base mechanic quite a bit.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:53am

Nice graphics, some music would be great.. Overall good job :-)

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:15am

Took me 60 cycles, but I finally got out with all the treasure. Great game!

foumart says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice mood and addictive gameplay. I like the less burdensome direction you've taken when there are not "lives" for the player to worry about :) Maybe a pause/messege screen will be helpfull because I was not able to read what I've taken in the last second.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:09pm

This game is like an interesting mix between Zelda and Metroid. I like the fact that you have to experiment for a while before you understand what you're meant to do. The 'bravery' bar was quite a good idea and I liked breaking down the walls with the gauntlet. Overall a great game and definitely a lot of fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]