August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LEGACY

by DanHayesGamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Legacy, an experimental art game for the LUDUM DARE #27 competition! The theme for this ludum dare was 10 seconds.

The game is a highly optimised 3D game for the web.

It's a game about parenthood and responsibility.

The entire game was made in 48 hours, using the UNITY, GIMP and BLENDER programs, as well as the itween and HTLiquid plugins.

The environment was created using unity's built in terrain tool.

All the music and sound effects are remixed recordings of my ocarina, all composed and created in the 48 hour weekend.

I hope everyone likes my first art game. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Mood3.66
#92Audio3.48
#115Graphics3.82
#440Theme3.29
#492Innovation3.05
#497Overall3.11
#735Humor1.96
#1067Fun2.17

Comments

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Really cool atmosphere. I really wanted the fish to swim alot faster though, it kind of felt like i was swimming through molasses

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

A nice moody game, the music was a real treat.

However I found the fish moved so sluggishly and the clock rarely started at 10 when it moved to the new fish that I was constantly in the "fish has died" screen - more so than in the game screen! Without a clear objective, I got bored quite quickly :(

The idea is nice though and I think with some polish and more indication that you are actually progressing it could be a poignant little art game. :)

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Great presentation. The audio really fits the setting. Clever use of the theme.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

Thanks for the comments guys! Yeah I really enjoyed making it, I plan to add some indicators that progression is actually occurring and a few other things, but just didn't have time. After the judging is over I'll come back to it, I think :)

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

wasn't sure when I started moving, then by the third try I understood but got bored, great art thought

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Not sure what I'm doing here...

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45am

Gave you 5/5. Very, very strong submission. With a little polish and better physics, I would play this on my phone.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

mpath, thanks! That means alot.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

I'm going to add some speed changing obstacles and other stuff after the judging is done, to really get the game to where I wanted it to be :)

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

The first resentment kicked me straight in the feels. I never let it happen again T_T

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43am

This submission has awesome atmosphere. I do agree with some of the other comments about the fish speed, though. It's very slow.

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

This is a pretty grim take on the Pixar classic Finding Nemo. I never see the fish ever produce offspring, so I got really confused with what was going on.

It's okay. It got really boring fast and it didn't have any personal impact on me.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

I'm not a huge fan of art games, and this isn't going to tip me that way, so I didn't exactly enjoy it. That being said, you can see the quality of the work. The graphics were a bit bland, but they were cohesive and had a bit of shine to them. The music was awesome, and that working together with the mechanics made for a great feel. It was an interesting take on choosing between progress and commitment. On the one hand, if you leave the child behind you get much further, but there's nothing out there, so there's not really a point. On the other if you stay with your child you get more time, but again to what end? I would have liked to see more options than stay or leave, but it was definitely a fresh idea.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40am

Interesting take on the theme, i found the music really gave the game a good mood but the speed of the fish got old quite fast.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

really beautiful and atmospheric! would love to be able to play without the time limit and just... swim :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11am

I found it a bit hard—too slow for the distances between "air bubbles"—which was frustrating because I really wanted to see the nice environment.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35am

You managed to create an atmosphere in few seconds, well done !

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Great game and excellent immersion

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

interesting

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54pm

A little sad

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really interesting idea.

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Beautifully done. Well done this game is incredible

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I can't run this on my mac:P

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Sorry! I just added a quick fix to the mac version to allow playing, otherwise it might be a dropbox permissions issue...

Tinard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice animations!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

awesome sound effect, very moody

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Really nice little game. :)

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

It's beautiful

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Pretty unique experience, and very atmospheric. The mood is great.

lambomang says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

Is there an end to this game? It got boring when all I could see was more bubbles in the distance with no end in sight. Got my fish's strength up to about 40 seconds.

Alexander says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52am

No women fish? Come on.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46am

Love this! Graphics and concept are beautiful :)

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Oh and it took me 11 generations, im slow i think

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00am

I really like this game. At first I was like, why do'st you resent me fishy!? Then I was like. Oh.. That's cute. Stay with me and we die togethar!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

I really liked this a lot. Very good atmosphere.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

The graphics were beautiful. Great game!

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

Very nice game! It looks and sounds amazing. Some of the best art and audio I've seen for this competition yet!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06am

Good atmosphere and interesting mechanics. I did notice that the timer would consistently go below 0 and then add extra time to the next life, not sure if intended but did not look to be. Other than that though, good idea and fit well with theme!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45am

Great mood, great caustics, music's really atmospheric too. Kind of wish the fish could swim in vertically too, but then again, maybe I just didn't figure out how, and they actually can.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Touching tale of a fish and his father.

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07am

How dare you make me feel a feel.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08am

:D Thanks so much for the feedback guys

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15am

Controls are very hard, can't really judge the depth with bullet. Theme and audio are good !

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27am

Great atmosphere. Wished the fish controlled a little tighter. Dug the water reflections. Good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01am

ohh, artsy

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52am

I felt that the controls were frustrating and floaty, I was expecting to have more nimble controls but then had very slow movements. It could also be more interesting opening up the range of motion, so rotating left and right. Otherwise you nailed the water effect!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:56am

Really cool art style, too bad the movement are limitated... i wanted to go up (y-axis on current view).

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

Hearing you guys, I wanted to add 360 movement but didn't have time to deal with all the issues that could create in the time, more and more I want to complete this project in full if feedback continues to be good. :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:54am

Interesting idea, some life-deaths cicle will take the fish children to a future life in ocean, but it will be sad to see them dying all the time...
Love the art and atmosphere

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Amazing atmosphere.
Really think you should fix counter so it doesn't count down to -1 constantly.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Noted :)

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice work on athmosphere. You yould add a little more feedbacks about progression of the player.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Liked the contemplative atmosphere. Poor fishes :( This reminds me Rogue Legacy ^^
Good work !

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I found it very hard, but it's a nice concept and graphics are cool. Great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

OAUU!!! Deep is eat me!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Great art and music: they created a very relaxing, dreamy mood.

As for fun, the idea is interesting (a bit sad, so it has a melancholic vibe that I'm particularly fond of), and I really liked the legacy idea. I think it could have been a bit more complex, but I guess that time may have got in the way. Also, at times I wasn't completely sure if I'd left my offspring behind or not until the countdown was over.

A very good entry nonetheless. Congrats! =)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Beautiful game. Great mood. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Original idea and cool game!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Love it ! The atmosphere is very special

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:17pm

really nice fish animation

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23pm

It's good experiment. It looks good and moody. Nice job :)

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Great graphics and atmosphere. Good work ! :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

This is a very beautiful game. It gets a bit tedious towards the end, I started wondering if there would even be one.
The controls are a bit slow.
The mood in this game is awesome, and the music is just right for this setting.

Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Beautiful game. Well done.

netmute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43am

Nice music, very moody. Reminded me of the farm song in Ocarina of Time somewhat :)
The water effects gave a nice touch.

I patiently waited for my sons for 9 generations, then I had 30 seconds and just rushed through, leaving the last poor guy behind.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57am

The fish models are quite nice, although I wish I could see their faces. Nice ambiance music too.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Great visuals and audio! Nice work!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very good atmosphere

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Great mood and music, good job!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Really beautiful game! I love how the water was designed. Tough game, but very nice!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Interesting idea and a strong atmosphere. However there was not much to discover.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:34pm

makes you wanna go deeper.

Misfit says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:21am

Great graphics and awesome soundtrack

wine says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Mood is great. Nice work!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Nice atmosphere, and good work on the environment.

I liked how you get to choose if you go far, or if you stay ith your son to strenghten the bond and family resistance.

Nice work!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:48pm

eery music, touching theme. innovative use of 10 seconds and cool water physics.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Love the mood. The underwater effect was beautiful and the ambient music fitted so well. Nice entry :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:36pm

That was an interesting experience. It's visually pleasing and the soundscape creates an interesting mood - I like it.

At first, I was utterly confused, but after some generations, I picked up what was happening myself. I'm not sure whether I would make anything clearer - I think games like this should have some exploration. I would've liked an ending screen. though, and the controls could've been a bit less soft.

Really interesting experience, thank you! And congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Really liked the setting for this, but the gameplay could use a lot of work. For a long, long time I couldn't work out the controls. I was using WASD but didn't really know what was going on and at one stage I actually thought I was playing as the smaller fish. Mostly I think this was because it didn't really feel as though I was moving until I could really see the terrain come a lot closer into view. I liked the music and thought it was awesome that you had time to produce that within the 48 hours on top of making a game like this. Would have really liked to have seen how this game turned out with some more work, and perhaps a different theme attached to it.

H-Bomb says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Interesting use of the theme.
Very atmospheric and experimental game, yet using a simple but efficient gameplay. Congrats, man.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Wish this wasn't so short. Maybe I'm doing something wrong! Good take on the 10 second theme. Soothing.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:47am

Nice audio. Agree on control speed, a little frustrating. Was unclear to me what the rules were. I swam toward the white bubbles/dots but they didn't always give me more time, which I assumed.

flavio says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Beautiful. I loved it, and will remember it.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:53am

Great music/graphics. Great job, I loved it. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

porglezomp says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

Love the mood, but it feels too slow. I didn't make much progress, and at first didn't even understand that you could stay with the little fish. Interesting game overall.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]