August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Antarctic Glitch

by Beavl - Jam Entry

Antarctic Glitch is an infinite brawler about a bearded doc, evil government agents and parallel worlds.

INSTRUCTIONS
Kill evil government agents in Antarctica and try to stay alive! Strange glitch brings a new doc from parallel worlds every ten seconds!

CONTROLS
Left + Right + Up + Z + X
Note: There are 5 different docs to play with. Use them wisely!

STORY
We do not want to spoil it! Just watch the intro!

CREDITS
Beavl + Ruppel
HighScores thanks to Dreamlo!
We used some sound effects by @Jordinewcastle & @Fin_Send

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Graphics(Jam)4.11
#165Mood(Jam)3.25
#183Humor(Jam)2.84
#186Theme(Jam)3.34
#206Overall(Jam)3.30
#221Audio(Jam)3.03
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05
#273Fun(Jam)2.99
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

agumaster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09am

this is seriously awesome. The graphics are superb,and the concept is weird and cool

Meep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

I really liked the cutscene intro, and it was a really nice take on the theme. It would've been nice to introduce what each character was able to do either ahead of time or the first time you use each one. I wasn't sure what to do with some of them. D: Nice work, regardless!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Just amazing art, and mostly I fancy the logo - the text name of the game. :)

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Why so little feedback? This game is great, nice work on arts and atmosphere. The heroes that keep changing are a wonderful addition. Really nice game.

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice intro & hilarious gameplay. Well done! )

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

The intro sequence has some really great artwork, and the characters in-game are interesting. The idea is really cool, and I like how random the transformations are. Good work! - SB

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Good game! I enjoyed it! and loved the transitions in the cutscenes.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Awesome combination of the 10 second theme with glitches (If I recall correctly, it was also in the final voting round for themes). Some visual feedback when shooting would be nice, I thought that I wasn't doing anything with some of Doc's different forms.

Great work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Overall, nice art and animations! Great looking cutscenes, especially.

Eelfroth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I love this game!
Funny how both of our games' plots are about glitched spacetime. But your take on it is different, gameplay-wise. I like it. Nice glitch effects by the way!

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Hey, guys! Thanks for all the feedback! We love our character (the bearded doc), so we will be developing the whole universe a little further, at least on paper!

About the “visual feedback when shooting”... Yeah. We ran out of time. As simple as that!

Note: If you are interested in bearded Doc's story, follow us on twitter or send us messages on Facebook and we will keep you posted!

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Sorry about that. We rephrase that weird looking paragraph, heh:

About 'the visual feedback when shooting'... Yeah. We ran out of time. As simple as that!.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

The Magneto-looking character was my favorite to play as, though steampunk jetpack man was a close second.
The intro really got me excited for the game, and I hope you'll take the time to add more attack feedback and an outro of some kind!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:48am

Woah I really like the character and vehicle designs! Great artwork overall. Also very fun to try out all the different kinds of attacks.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:19am

Cool characters! I like the "flying professor X" and the jetman a lot. The story is interesting and the opening is awesome. Nice work :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Great cutscene art! Nice use of the theme, good job!

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Cool idea and it's pretty well made. I wish there was more user feedback with that the character would blink when he got hirt. Also I noticed that the shot doesn't show when the bullet character shoots.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Amazing introduction and music, but the game itself isn't really fun (quickly boring). Graphics are ... awesome ! Good work ! :)

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Very good game though sounds are a bit annoying. Graphics are beautiful.

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very good and polished graphics.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I love the glitch effect...but i'm not totally sure to having understood the gameplay. Maybe it need more obvious feedbacks.

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Really nice graphics and awesome opening sequence! The different characters with different play styles are cool too.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Nice and fun game with great art and sounds!

urth says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13am

Nice work!

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

Wow, I really liked the transitions between the scenes and the characters! really neat intro, I was really well executed. and the game is really polished, I must say, congrats for the outcome

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

What a lot of good work and innovation! :)

Jason says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Nice work guys! I'm constantly amazed at what people are pulling off in 48-72 hours!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Curious game, good graphics and I like the concept!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I'm sure glad you managed to spend so much time on the intro that the game itself feels like it's barely been playtested.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Looks good, sounds good! Great job guys..

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice intro, and the changing character is fun. With such nice looking sprites its surprising a simple laser shot is not among them. The 10 seconds jump between glitches seems a bit of a technical afterthought, when you were really following the glitch theme.

dudsen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Glitching his way to the top of LD27 ;)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:17am

Cool art and setup. Gameplay needs a little work. I'd polish it up and work on it some more vs shelving it.

loxo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:44am

Great graphics and an interesting concept. Sadly, controls are optimized for qwerty.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:59am

fantastic graphics! I struggled with the controls of the jetpack at first, but I got used to it quickly. 5/5 mood and fun!

Beavl says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:44pm

We will work eventually in this project and develop it further more! So thanks for all your feedback, guys!

We like the concept of an infinite brawler with multiple characters and survival mode. So we will work on some adds that help improve, as various stated, the gameplay:

- Platforms in order to let you jump and avoid certain enemies
- Better enemy's behaviour (they will try to knock you out with weird sticks and bombs that get you stunned. No more standing there and shooting!)
- Visual feedback when shooting
- Unlockable scenarios and story mode

So thank you all for your kind words! Cheers and keep playing and rating #ld27 games!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great

evilentity says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Pretty curious.

graytest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:03pm

The intro and title screen are super nice. The game art is also nice, but I didn't really like the game play. Felt like I was just button mashing and it didn't matter much which character I had (except the flying one maybe).

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Pretty cool graphics! The gameplay itself feels like it needs a bit more polish to really shine. Keep working on it, that would be awesome!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:03am

maybe best visuals so far -- good game -- nice job

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I like the concept and the gameplay variation.

Good use of the theme in order to improve the gameplay, too.

Good work!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:19pm

This is lovely. Nice work!

murilo says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Amazing graphics! I liked the story and idea too. But the controls and collision detection let down a little.

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Art and music are awesome! Soldier's gun looks funny - like a photocamera from paparazzi :) Don't understand - do story events after some point, when i move forward, or it all endless?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]