August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Omnom10

by klambrike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Basically a survival game against the clock.

Player starts with 10 HP, but looses 5 HP every 10 seconds and 7HP when bit by enemy. Killing an enemy spawn a healt pickup with 5HP.

Every 10 seconds the enemies also get faster and start spawning faster so eventually the player will be overrun.

So pick up the gun and try to survive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#371Mood2.97
#451Audio2.73
#606Graphics2.79
#693Humor2.00
#872Fun2.53
#958Overall2.61
#1035Innovation2.21
#1047Theme2.47

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

Heh, why does he have two flashlights? :) And i like the "nyum" sound effect :) Gameplay is boring though

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27am

Quite addictive! :D
The only thing i hate about it is that i can't see how much time i have left! :(

klambrike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

At first the game had a long story and different kinds of mechanics and finish goal. The Main character was supposed to be a robot, thats why he has 2 flashlights facing in different directions.
Post-compo I'm going to change the mouse pointer based on character health (0-20 red, 20-40 yellow, 40+ green) to help get some sense of current state, but ideally would like to keep the HUD to a minimum.

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I don't like how the enemies can turn you. As soon as one got to me, it was game over! I made it 51 seconds, and it was pretty fun! :)

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Fun game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Pretty fun would like to see development continue!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice idea, but I don't quite understand how it fit the theme... For the game itself, like the fact that it was dark.

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Nice graphics effects. One note: I know, mouse rotated player, butt he player should face in the direction of motion automatically.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Nice graphics and lighting :D

Really really annoying sound though. Ahhhhh.

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

The sound was kind of broken (all staticy) except for the 'nom' sound, which was pretty funny. Neat game, regardless of the small flaws.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Atmosphere dark, spiders .. All that I love!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11pm

The visuals were great! Some enemies spawned on top of me, but otherwise good.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Thats beauty! Very well done atmosphere, the lighting is quite impressive.
Also, I like that the gameplay pushes to play fast.
Critics? When the spider is too close I can shoot them.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice work with the lighting!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Oh man, I've got arachnophobia and I don't like the dark... AHHHHH! The gameplay was alright and actually voicing the 'nom',death sound, etc. was pretty funny hah. There's a glitch though a spider seems to get stuck to you and you can't shoot it for some reason (hitbox too close?) so you just end up dying : (

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Besides the "explosion" in the back (sfx) the sounds are great :D

g_o says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:56am

HAHA THE SOUND IS JUST AWSOME XD
HYUM!!!

Zap says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:00am

Things that bothered me: the repetitive explosion sound, neither flash light facing forward, the inaccurate cross hair, and being unable to shoot a spider when they are close.
I do like that you destroy the spiders for time to benefit your own self preservation (rather the usual, pointless 'points'), and I was quite fond of the controls.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]