August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Speed of love

by bobylito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The fastest dating simulator on this side of the galaxy!

Downloads and Links




Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57am

Aside from the up/down arrows moving too the options too quickly, it's a pretty cool take on the 10s theme =]

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35am

Ha ha! 10 second dating sim. That's classic... I think you've started a new sub-genre. I think I'd do better with the ladies if real-life worked under these conditions.

levsha128 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

Very interesting

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54am

I had real trouble trying to select the option I wanted with the arrow keys, but neat concept!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Good take on the theme. Same issues as others, touch picking right option and had trouble reading that fast!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Good theme fit and the writing is really funny. Fun to play.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Very odd.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Indeed it's odd.

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Didn't catch the point... :'(
Nice shot around the ten seconds theme though.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

It's really hard to read and choose that fast.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

That is some fast speed dating :0) Highest rank was C for me.

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Brilliant idea. The arrows and spacebar scrolled my browser down, making it hard to see the game, for some reason. I zoomed out to fix it, but the text was tinu. (I guess my screen resolution is low?) Great entry.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21am

Hah, interesting!

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11am

interesting game, but text is too fast to read.Anyway good entry!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33am

Interesting game, the controls were pretty hard to work with. Not sure if it was on purpose or not, I didn't have any trouble reading the text for the most part. Very interesting take on the theme. I feel like a little bit of context could have been added using imagery or sound though. I didn't realize that it was a phone conversation the first few tries.

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Text is going really too fast. I would like to have much more than 1 ^^. Interesting theme however !

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice 10 second theme, but some of that text went way too fast to read. Good game anyway!

g_o says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30pm

The problem with this is that I finished the game in 10 secs : O

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Funny idea, although not sure what was being said/what I was saying most of the time. It all goes a bit quick.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Good use of theme and funny too :)

raoz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

ervion: Really interesting concept, hits the mood of the theme very well, everything moving so fast. Controls are a bit slippery thought.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Cool idea! Trying to make comment in 10 seconds. ;-)

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Megaspeed dating :P Liked this, short and sweet.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Cool idea, these quickly conversations... ;) But when I lost I had rank screen and probably sometime something is wrong with it ;) Check it ttp:// :) However nice work.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20pm

*http at line two in link, my mistake ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Great idea, and I like what you've done with the text (it took a few tries to get used to, but that's part of the challenge). Unfortunately, there wasn't a whole lot to it. It would have worked a lot better with more meaningful conversation topics, I think.

A couple of weird words: "unfornately" (unless that was intentionally slurred), "glooming".

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02am

Not much to the gameplay but I love the idea. :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47am

Cool idea, is there only one valid option?

bobylito says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:57am

Thanks for all the comments so far. I'm taking notes for all of them. Generally speaking I was way too full of myself before starting to write anything "it'll be something simple" (yeah that's right) and I struggled with my tech (which is not the point of LD right? ;) ). Here are some answers :

- I couldn't figure out how to make a good menu with keyboard selection so that's why it is totally weird and hard to play. If you have any resources about how to do that properly, share the love ;)

- it definitely lack some context. I didn't have time to make more artwork nor i though about about adding some descriptive text (well, retrospectively I had the idea at some point but then I rushed).

- The points calculation is indeed buggy, I can fix that. (it is in the rule to be able to patch for bugs right?)

- SPOILER ALERT : yes there is only one valid option :P

Thanks so much for taking the time to figure out the idea behind this game. I'll write a more in depth post mortem about the ideas I wanted to implement and how I could have improved everything.

bobylito says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01am

One more thing about the text speed : time continues to clock while text is displaying so I tried to balance this side effect over the points. It doesn't work out well after all :P

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

fun but tough!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:28am

Damn, it happens so fast. Is this a statement about a stereotypical guy's attention span? :P

Selecting a response is a little slippery, I sometimes skip one item.

This is a pretty neat game, I feel like there could be a sequel to this :P

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:45am

speed dating (sim) lol kinda awesome. I like the name choice to as a closet Evengellion fan

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

Rank: A. LOL I love it.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:54am

Interesting game. Needs a bit more everything though.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]