August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

'Dungeon Escape'

by designatius - Jam Entry

Hi, we are Appnormals Team and this is our first participation in a LudumDare event. Our game is called 'Dungeon Escape'. The goal is very easy: you must help the explorer to escape each dungeon in 10 second runs, managing his right path to the exit. You need to avoid borders, fire and holes, and the only thing you need to do is switch arrows to choose the right path. But be careful with those grey arrows, they are locked and it's easy to get trapped or fall apart!

We have designed a few levels for now, but we want to keep working on the basics to make a bigger and better game very soon. We're very happy with our first experience in a LudumDare contest and we'll be joining the event in the future, no doubt! We hope you like our 'Dungeon Escape' little game by the way!

LINK TO PLAY THE GAME
http://appnormals.com/dungeonescape

Remember to check out our former games PixelWorld #1 & PixelWorld vol. 2 (both available on iOS / Android). More info about us and our apps: www.appnormals.com

Cheers! ;)

Credits:
Dani Moya & Sergio Perales (code) / Inaki Diaz (art)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#65Fun(Jam)3.57
#69Theme(Jam)3.64
#85Overall(Jam)3.58
#94Audio(Jam)3.50
#138Graphics(Jam)3.83
#229Innovation(Jam)3.11
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#293Humor(Jam)2.40

Comments

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Good work!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great job for a first entry!

The game looks really polished and it's quite fun, congratulations :D

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33am

I loved the graphics and the general intuitiveness of the controls. Congratulations!

ryan0788 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33am

Great entry, this would be great as a mobile game! I would definitely get it!

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55am

I liked the music a lot! It was catchy. I also really liked the concept, interesting to have a speed puzzler.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

Cool real-time puzzle concept, and great art/music! Deliciously unforgiving...

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19am

Great work!

light says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very fun and challenging. I love it!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Really solid. Would be great as a mobile game. My main issue was death penalty was a bit cruel, but still was very fun.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice little game. Simple, but fun. Only thing I would have to say I didn't like is that the game started at the first level again when I died. Got myself to level 6 before I had to sadly give up :( Good work for your first LD!

epiplon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Haha, it's a bit frustrating.

BitDemon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Very fun game, love the graphics too.

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Very nice game, whoa! Fantastic graphics and easy game mechanics. Great take on the theme.

Quickly becomes quite challenging. Really liked the Indiana Jones-got-to-slide-through-the-door-just-in-time-feeling :)

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Thanks to everyone for the nice feedback & comments! We haven't had time to make checkpoints or something less hard than pure game over each time you die. But we'll fix that for sure! :)

Dew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Keep it up! I want to see you on the next edition.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I hate you for making me start over, but I love you for reminding me of Chu Chu Rocket.

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Love the concept! The fact that you have to start from the beginning is sort of frustrating, buuuut if you're planning to expand on this, that kind of thing is something that could have its own dedicated game mode with its own rewards and perks.

Really solid stuff!

Gear says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:50am

Good fun!

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Really fun game and solid mechanics! Just wish I didn't have to start over from the first level.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Felt like playing chuchurocket under pressure xD

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

Fun and intense gameplay!
The lively pixel art animation on the main character really counts!

canvapps says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

old school game! Great graphics and musics and nice playabilty!
I think it should be mobile too :)

Volute says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Great gameplay and music, I like it !

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:38am

Nice game here. Interesting premise, nice art and style.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

Really interesting fun game. Love the graphics as well. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:54am

Nice game! This really is that kind of game that has you sitting at the tip of the chair, completely focused on the screen and clicking franctically! hahaha
Reached level 5 I think! Then it gets really messy to keep adjusting the path in front of the character and at the same time checking back to see if he isn't stuck in some stupid place. hahaha
This would really make a cool mobile game! Congrats buddy!

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:37am

This game is really addicting. I gave you five stars on fun!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Fun game! Pretty crushing being sent back to level one each time but it encouraged me to get better!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:59am

love the game just wish it did not start over all the time

lesterpig says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Whooaaa ! Excellent moving effects :) But only one life... It's very hard ;)

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Really excellent work, very polished looking and fun to play :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]