August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

shoot 'o clock

by Anheurystics - Jam Entry

There are four download links, with one of them being the universal jar file. I'm sorry if the Linux or Mac builds won't work, I do not have another machine to test it on, and I just followed the procedures of a jar to sh/app program.

That said, it would be very nice of those out there with Mac/Linux to test it out for me!
Also, the game will create its own "record.sav" file at the directory its in, for the high score thing.

Sorry for the lack of tutorial, I'll get to that.
Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Also, if you find the music annoying (which would be understandable), you can use M to toggle it on or off.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Fun(Jam)3.00
#270Theme(Jam)3.13
#314Overall(Jam)3.06
#383Innovation(Jam)2.75
#489Graphics(Jam)2.56
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Drakonid says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:35am

Interesting concept. Just one minor thing: You can just stay in place and shoot while red squares pile over you, you'll start killing them one by one and and getting the pink power ups.

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 1:59pm

@Drakonid
The moment they'll pile over you, that's when your fire rate and speed would go down, which means that you wouldn't be able to take one down and get the power up in time.
Or did I upload an older version without that feature? Anyway, thanks for the feedback. I will be updating the game as I go along.

Drakonid says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I noticed the fire rate and speed down, but it's still not enough to make you lose, maybe make the nerf increase as you stay in contact.

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:25am

Ah, I see. I didn't notice that, thanks for pointing it out. Thanks (I should get to uploading the new version sometime soon).

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

Great game concept; it has a potential to be addictive.
However, it'd be rather easier and more intuitive if diagonal movement is supported.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10am

Interesting dynamics :)
Although, as noted at the top, it's possible to live forever by standing in one place. Waiting for the new version.

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48am

New version is up! Its basically the first and final stable build, except if there are found bugs or cracks that need fixing.
@triforcespark I guess its part of the challenge? If its more of a nuisance than a challenge, however, then I'll be glad to change it. It's only a few lines of code anyway.
@comrad_gremlin Well, here's to hoping that the new version will fix that!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56pm

I like the new version! It's got interesting mechanics.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Fun game, the art is very basic but you were still able to make it look very nice, as well as the music helps compensate to make a good game feel, great work

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I wasn't able to get the linux version working. it said that there was a bad interpreter. I was able to get the jar to work.

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

@SusanTheCat I'm awfully sorry, in truth the linux and mac versions are just files generated by this program I use to make EXE files from JAR files, and I don't get to test them.
If the JAR file works, then just use that.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

It works quite well, although a bit too hard for me :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]