August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lurker

by Plu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Due to an unfortunate miscalculating, the Lurker satelitte sent to explore the Spectral Belt has arrived with only 10 seconds worth of rocket fuel... can you maneauver it to collect as many research points as possible?

Remember! You are in a completely frictionless enviroment, controls might take a little getting used to. You will continue to move and rotate until you apply your thrusters to change your course. Move in close to a planet and then point the light-grey front of the satellite towards it to scan.

(Hit the space bar at the end of the game to play again)

Windows 64bit executable + .love file included. If you don't have Windows 64bit, download Love from love2d.org and double click the .love file to play.

If you install the Chrome plugin Loveliness, you can play the game straight from your browser by picking the "Web" link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#763Innovation2.70
#879Fun2.52
#891Overall2.70
#902Theme2.74
#1051Graphics2.00
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

Serishmus says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Is there a way to restart once it's over without quitting the game?

Plu says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:43am

Hitting the space bar brings you back to the intro screen. Probably should've mentioned that on the end screen...

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Interesting concept. I'm not sure how close I need to get to a planet (or if I need to push a button of some sort) to scan it.

Nice job!

Plu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21am

No button needed, but you have to get fairly close and point the front of the satellite (the lighter gray part) towards the planet to scan.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Fun game once you get the hang of it. It really feels like I am controlling a sattelite. Though some sound effects would have improved the experience even further.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Please call your Download LD27-Lurker.love oror similar. If everybody in LD27 calls their file LD.love or game.exe it gets very confusing

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13pm

The concept is quite cool, but it's a bit too tricky to control. The rotation seems off-axis a bit too, and it's pretty to stop yourself once you start spinning in any great measure.

oajfh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice first effort as well, heh.

It's a shame though, I didn't hear any audio, the right music would have set the mood nicely. The controls feel pretty good, too. I also quite like the 'transmission lost' effect.

Let's each make a really good one next time, eh ? :)

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

It was pretty cool, I liked the physics!

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26am

nice game, tricky controls

alts says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:18am

Interesting game. It took me a while to figure out which end to point at the planet. Felt a bit dumb.

This game has the unfortunate property of the optimal strategy being the least interesting one. If you barely use any fuel, and simply wait to arrive near a planet, not only do you guarantee that you'll have enough time to scan, but you'll have done so with minimal fuel usage.

A way I thought of to make the optimal strategy a more interesting one is to add gravity. Satellite trajectories are often plotted to use gravitational slingshots (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slingshot_effect). These allow for velocity changes without the use of external power supplies. This would nullify the old strategy, as drifting objects wouldn't have enough speed to take advantage of the slingshot effect, and would just be dragged towards to planet (or waste fuel escaping).

Enough rambling. Congrats on your first LD. Nice work.

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Kind of wish the gravity took hold at a higher altitude. Was basically impossible to do much interesting w/ ten seconds of fuel and no gravity. :\

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]