August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hide and Seek

by codifeye - 48 Hour Compo Entry

black circles - safe areas
red circle - enemy
blue circle - your character

To avoid losing you must keep the blue circle away from the red circle, and also not run out of time. You can move the blue circle by aiming the mouse cursor.

The red circle moves slowly, until it gets a clear line of sight to you. If this happens, the only way out is to hide on or behind a black safe area, or pick up green power ups for a temporary speed boost. You start off with ten seconds which is counting down. Picking up a green power up will also add a second to your time limit.

The black safe areas are generated randomly on each restart. This was pretty rushed since I scrapped my main game idea and worked on this in 6 hours. You can play it in a browser but if the music is missing or you run into any or trouble, you can download the source and open index.html, which should be more reliable.

Thanks for playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#702Fun2.75
#804Innovation2.64
#849Audio1.84
#971Theme2.63
#987Overall2.57
#1037Mood1.87
#1129Graphics1.81

Comments

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

The blue circle do not appear on my browser :(, I couldn't play it!

Oxydam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

Great randomly generated game. My highscore 26 seconds.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58am

I enjoyed this. It took me a couple of times to get the hang of it, but when I did, I liked it. My record is 67 seconds so far.

codifeye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

@ratalaika, what browser are you using? Thanks for the heads up. It may also be a bug where the blue circle was randomly positioned outside the bounds, so refreshing should fix that one. Also, if the music isn't working for you, just download the source and open index.html. Thanks for the comments guys!

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07am

Very cool ! I agree with Crowbeak, it is best played several times

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:10am

46 seconds! haha strangely addicting :) and I found myself getting more and more greedy! GJ!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11am

My record is also 67 :P
Really fun game! Good Job.. The AI is not perfect but it's good enough for an LD :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Dropbox 404 :(

codifeye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Oops, not sure what's up with Dropbox, I'll check it out this evening. In the mean time you can play by downloading the source and opening index.html. Thanks

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I get a dropbox 404 from both of your links :(

codifeye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Links seem good now, Cheers :-)

Badger says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

really fun!! great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

It's like GTA, only simpler))

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14am

Simple concept with good execution. I love the minimalist presentation, very effective! Technical notes: The music works in my Chrome. Game does not work in my Firefox though.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Incredibly simple concept, but pretty addicting gameplay. Do you hide in cover letting your seconds burn away? Or do you rush out of cover to add even more seconds to the counter?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:49am

The sound works fine in chrome. Or is there supposed to be other music? Also this is one of those "Hard to learn, Simple to master" games where if you get how to play, you become very good at it.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53am

Very addicting. Have to get back to work! I did manage to start a level where the red dot was pretty much penned in so wasn't much of a challenge when that happened.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice, clean simple game.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

I was streaming when I played your game, BTW. http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2836952

codifeye says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

haha, thanks for that, it was cool watching a video of someone playing this. Can always do with more playtesting!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Very good and addicting concept! Could be used in a larger game with no problem as a minigame or as a standalone game. I like it! :)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

Ah yeah, seems pretty bare. Though everything seems to be in the game and seems to work well. There's not really a whole lot for me to say about it to be honest. It's not bad at all, but there isn't much to keep me attached to playing for very long.

I do want to say good job though moving on from an idea that could have held you back from making anything at all for the competition! Better to have regained your composure and finished something than to get stuck and give up or upload something completely unplayable.

Joror says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:30am

Fun mechanic! Would have likes a few more tactics/powerups.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

Doesn't work in firefox, no sound and blue circle. But what HTML5 works in firefox... :D Interesting concept, collision is a little off (red circle was sometimes touching me and nothing happenned)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]