August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mind-Controlled Monster

by Todnut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your control panel to make your monster pick up all the bananas in under 10 seconds.

This is my first Ludum Dare! I tried to make a game that has some of the feel of programming but with a casual interface so it's approachable. What do you think?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#132Innovation3.66
#239Humor2.88
#314Fun3.24
#328Theme3.39
#372Overall3.24
#465Audio2.71
#528Mood2.76
#705Graphics2.64
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

I got all 31 bananas!

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Simple and great game! I have seen a couple other games which did a similar timeline concept but I like the drag and drop and the ability to reset. It feels like a great game for kids. I wish there were more levels.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Really cool idea! Good job.. :D

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Bananas everywhere!! THat was really fun!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great mechanics! Lots of fun! however, the player should always get the chance to see the entire level briefly before selecting their actions. (Otherwise you feel hopeless during the first selection process-even if the first try is just supposed to teach you how to proceed, it's not good to feel hopeless during that first round.)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Awesome graphics, funny audios, and good gameplay!
Well done :)

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I got all 31 bananas too! Really fun, would probably be an successful mobile game. (You should port it and make more levels and make a meeelion dollars.)

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Simple concept, a lot of trial and error but it was funny.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Good job, second game with a timeline within the first 5 games tried, but very different mechanics. This one was a lot simpler and easier to understand. Also loved the sound!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

entertaining.Good job

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Good implementation. Nice soft intro.

If I had seen this game first I would have rated it high for innovation but I guess this idea isn't very innovative. Tis being the 6th or 7th game featuring this mechanic. I now understand where the '10 seconds meme' comes from. I just wish someone would get it out in the open for me before the compo's since I'm not terribly versed in the internet casual-game culture.

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Fun game! Nice FX on all sides, kept me entertained for quite some time!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Solving each level using a trial-and-error approach was fun!
The "both hands in the air dual-wielding magnets" sprite cracked me up. =)
For a first time Ludum Dare entry this is awesome!
Using the balloon was certainly tricky and challenging to optimize.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Funny little game, with some pretty good ideas. Love the monster's voice.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:21am

Cool concept. Nice little game, cute graphics/sounds. Don't have too much to say about it other than that! Good job.

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:23am

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare entry. This is a really cute game. As others mentioned, there are a few "timeline" oriented games (e.g. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=17708), but this one seems to be a bit more flexible than the others I've seen. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]