August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

rumble on the graveyard

by grozamorei - Jam Entry

It's my firs ld participation.

I teamed up with my friend who did the art to the game. Sorry for no sounds, we can't make it in time.

Made with Haxe, HaxeFlixel, Tiled Map Editor.

please note that we cannot figure out idea for 10 seconds, so we made it in a mechanics - respawn, monster levelup, etc.

use wasd or arrows to move.
use space or x to hit with an axe.

find all the floor plates and get to the boss.
destroy tombstones to prevent ghosts from spawning and get powerups.
save up powerups for at least 3 damage bars to face the boss.

game come up to be pretty hard, so if you manage to defeat boss, consider yourself hardcore player :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#57Graphics(Jam)4.23
#109Mood(Jam)3.44
#163Fun(Jam)3.26
#173Overall(Jam)3.38
#376Humor(Jam)2.08
#463Innovation(Jam)2.51
#517Audio(Jam)1.35
#585Theme(Jam)1.93

Comments

Omar2002 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56am

Good hardcore game! Respect for grozamorei!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

This graphics just amazing!
Great game!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05am

Very nice graphics, really good work!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:09am

I love the graphical style! Regarding gameplay, fighting is quite difficult since there is no way to fight without getting hit and it is actually better to just flee.

grozamorei says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:11am

fullmontis, try to began your attack slightly before ghost is near you. that way, you can land a hit and than move away from it.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06am

Loved the graphics ! Nice game !
Have no sounds :(

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11am

Nice graphics!

That boss tore me up, but the ghosts were easy to avoid just by running.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57am

It's better just to run than it and fight as all it takes to die is to atack one enemy whilst an enemy is behind you. Graphics are great though and the game has a cool atmosphere. Had fun playing it, good job

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Very pretty! I like the animations. Even dying was a pleasant experience. Although it would have happened less if I'd read all of the instructions before playing the game...

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57pm

The graphics and your animations are sooo detailed! I like it a lot!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nicely done. The only hard part about this game is the final boss, as every other enemy in the game can be defeated by hammering x. The lack of audio is a sin, considering that there is a program called SFXR that is a free download that can randomly generate sine wave, sawtooth, squarewave, and noise sounds. These make it easy to fill your game with beautiful sound, so lacking it is really bad. Just having some sound would have been nice. Also, no 10 seconds? This reeks of having a vision you wanted to fulfill this ld, and you couldn't because of the theme. 2/5 weak entry.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Love it! The boss is really hard.

bes_kurales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice realization and nice art. And so hardcore! I like it.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

The graphics cartoon were very nice, and fit well with the graveyard setting. Sadly, I just can't see where does the theme fit!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Love the graphics, the game is nice and hardcore ! Too bad you didn't find an idea for 10 secs.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29pm

what a gorgeous little sprite! Fantastic work. The attacks were powerful and had a good radius. A great first LD entry! Did you have fun?

grozamorei says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Christina, yes, in fact, we both have a lot of fun creating this, and very enjoyed the result as much as a process.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48am

I got to the boss, but he destroyed me. REALLY awesome art, animations are really great - especially for a LD entry. I loved the feel of this game, I'd love to see you expand on it in the future! Awesome work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:09am

Very nice art style

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21am

Wow, amazing graphics! :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Excellent visuals and mood. I'm not hardcore enough to beat the boss, but I still enjoyed the game a lot :)

grezauirta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

балдею! мне нравится!

grezauirta says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:42pm

good

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:40am

Well done!

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:20am

Really nice! Love the graphics and the little animation in the UI. Really like the death animation too. Good use of colour.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:56am

The art is really great. This pencil looks create a special mood. I wasn't able to defeat the boss, those red ghosts are really tough.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Good game reminds me of gauntlet and seems to be a similar take on the theme as my compo entry. nice game guys and bloody hard lol

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]