August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Knights of the Dorm requires LOVE

by Gloamglozer - Jam Entry

The University accepts the finest of students from all over the worlds and wouldn't you know it? Its picked up some pretty interesting characters too. A small batch of the many students at The University have started to party and unfortunately, 4 of them had too much to drink. Don't you want to see what happens to them? Because I sure do.

The Fat Kid - Sir Percivale
A small chubby fellow that wears multiple pairs of pants

The Superstar - Sir Galahad
Is like a Johnny Cage.. but in college

The Disguised Student - Sir Bedivere
A disguised teacher that wants to get in on all the action, acting like a student. Will his identity be revealed?

The Jouster - Sir Lancelot
A poor, ugly kid that had dreams of jousting in his early days which unfortunately got him beat up.

A competitive fighting game where you face off against your dorm-mates. You have 10 seconds to fight per turn, try to duck, block and evade your enemies hits whilst dealing maximum damage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

doesn`t like windows 32-bit :(

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Nifty concept, and well styled! I love the art as well! Now to make this multiplayer!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:24pm

This is nice, with the appropriate sound it'll be awesome.

Gloamglozer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:34pm

The plan was to include multiplayer and a follow up to this idea may happen in the future. It's definitely being discussed with the group. I'm sorry about the lack of 32bit support. I'll keep that in mind next time LD swings around.
Unfortunately finished art in the last hour gave us no time for sound. We'll try and manage time better next time. Thanks for the comments.

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:53pm

This was pretty fun and done well. I liked it a lot :) I think the sound would have been nice but since there was no time it still came out great. Good job!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I really like the concept.

I think this game can evolve beyond the Jam, so keep working on it! :)

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:08am

Some weird attack pose, but I guess they're drunk :p

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Really nice graphics, love the concept and the poses XD I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

alts says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:40am

The sprites are wonderfully absurd (Lancelot's high kick!). Well done. I do feel like asynchronous fighting games, as a while, are missing something to make them engaging. It ends up feeling very rock-paper-scissors-esque, which isn't the most exciting of systems.

meszka says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Nice idea, though I mostly ended up clicking random moves. Maybe if the actions had icons it would be easier to keep track of what your opponent is doing and react.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]