August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Speech

by brmassa - Jam Entry

http://blog.brunomassa.com/p/ludum-dare-27.html for the complete set.
------------------------------------------------------------

A public speech: People. Mean People. Embarrassment. Shame.
And if they ask questions?! My mind freezes. Blank. I might die. I prefer to die.
-
Control yourself, you coward! You must think in ideas of what to answer.
You have 10 seconds.


------------------------------------------------------------
10 Seconds to Speech
------------------------------------------------------------

*** A strategy game unlike any other you ever played! ***
You play inside your character mind.

Every turn, you face a Question (with a numeric difficulty level). You can use Ideas (some good, most bad) to solve it and increase your "repertoire". But by losing you get rid of stupid ideas that do more harm in the long run.

Deal with luck and strategy to get the two final Grand Questions.

Don't be ashamed, give the game a try and show to your audience that you are capable of improvising! King's Speech for losers!



------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------
Features


* Crazy visuals
* Crazy idea
* Crazy implementation

* Not a generic derivative. 100% original madness (much harder to create)
* Shitty face and voice from myself (and people from restaurant)
* Deep strategy
* AMAZING GAME

*** BUY NOW or download it for free! **




------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------
Notes


1* The most important one is: not all "Idea's Special Powers" were implemented (4 of 10 only). Much of strategic decisions to make depending on them. :( It WILL be there in the Extended Jam (aka, till the end of week)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Innovation(Jam)3.81
#420Graphics(Jam)2.81
#472Overall(Jam)2.69
#525Theme(Jam)2.50
#555Fun(Jam)2.13
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Gabriel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very, very nice! No doubt it's the deepest mechanic I've seen so far. Also a very different take on the theme. Definitely saving this one to make some more attempts later!

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Very interesting game! I'll have to play it again.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43pm

You should write a detailed tutorial and explains more clearly the rules, even if it's just a text because it's a complicated game. I manage to understood a bit how to play but that's all. I have no idea what I did during the game and if it was a good or a bad strategy.
Also, it seems to be good game and very original.

brmassa says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

Vaalen, you are completely right. The price I had to pay in order to create a unique game mechanics (no game-maker to help) it to not develop a proper user interface experience.

I am, however, investing RIGHT NOW in a new versions with a much much more friendly interface. Check them!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:59am

original idea, but i didn't understand much at all, would like some tutorial or the like.
p.s. basing my opinions on the jam version, haven't tried your latest yet.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

okay, so i've played the latest version now. sorry but i still don't understand it.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

very original Idea

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I have to admit, that I am not so sure what I had to do. But the idea is really great. The mechanic seems to be very carefully thougt through and unique. Very cool :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

It's kinda hard at the beginning. Actually, it's very confusing. But I think I got the idea. It just need a little polish.

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:43am

I tried to play, but I have no idea how to O.o Tried clicking around the screen on the icons, nothing really happened... So confusing D: Def. needs a tutorial.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]