August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timing is Everything

by Animated - Jam Entry

The universe is on the brink of extinction, and you have 10 seconds left.

But fortunately, you have a time machine!

Unfortunately, it can only go back in time, and it can only go back in time once due to the decaying nature of the space-time continuum. Great Scott!

Navigate through 15 expertly designed levels in which you use time travel to solve puzzles. Puzzles are turn-based, so you can take as much time as you want to decide your move before you advance half a second. Interact with buttons, movable boxes, and gates to allow your future self to uncover the end portal.

This game is written in Java and uses libgdx. If we have time, we'll release either an applet port or a direct html port.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Theme(Jam)3.74
#229Innovation(Jam)3.11
#298Overall(Jam)3.11
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#439Graphics(Jam)2.74
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

timothyolt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

Seems like a fun game, but I cannot figure it out D:

JQCoding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

Fun little game, but could have used some audio, even if it was put in really quick.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

This game is really hard! Good stuff! I'd change the difficulty ramp a bit personally.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01am

I'm having troubles getting the game to run. I'm not really sharp at working with java applications.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Ok, I've got it to run, but I have no idea how the game is played. At the first level, I only got a green ship with a yellow symbol. I'm not sure if that is what the level suppose to be, but the exit is unreachable.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

Ok, sorry for my third post. After looking at the instructions more carefully, I need to hold SHIFT to move two spaces. It wasn't too clear for me to see.
I won't be too picky with bugs, like when the game could only save one previous movement. Otherwise, nice concept!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10am

Interesting little puzzle game; level 2 has me stumped.

AIalumni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

I could not pass the first level

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

All the levels are beatable. I agree Level 2 is pretty hard, but try sprinting ;)

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I can't play your game. My system is OS/X.

Animated says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Hi, haxpor. I don't own a mac, but I think you need to open it with the Java runtime (it may not recognize it as a runnable jar file). Otherwise run it with "java -jar timing_is_everything_01.jar"

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Interesting game, levels require some thinking and that's good. Too bad there is no sound, graphic is minimalistic but its ok, also cool use of the theme.

Tanser says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I can't play the game :( It open and then closes really fast :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]