August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Help Me (Because I Can't Help Myself)

by gravyhands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls
--------------------------
WASD to move
Click to attack
(or use a controller)


You play as a person on a spree killing in a mall. Every 10 seconds after a kill, the hallucinations start back up. The only way to keep the voices from coming back is to kill.

If there are witnesses to your kill, the police have a description of you.

The police will try to capture you without hurting you, but if you pose an immediate threat, they'll just shoot you.

There are 6 possible endings (which is really just 6 possible messages).

I hope you enjoy my first Ludum Dare entry!

------------------------------------------------
Edit #1
--------

Hint for the endings:
"Leave" the mall in each of 3 possible ways, either with or without killing people.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#90Mood3.55
#359Innovation3.24
#372Overall3.24
#506Audio2.63
#529Graphics2.93
#536Theme3.20
#600Humor2.17
#626Fun2.83

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20am

Nice idea!

keenow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Hah! I like it! It's fun to see how many you can get before you get caught.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

I really dig the "insanity" of the character. This is quite a unique take on the theme and it was done really well. I like the graphics since they fit into the feel of the game really well.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

Wow. Just wow. Like what a tough subject wow. Good job though.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

Never saw hallucinations!
Audio could use a bit of work. Also, movement. Graphics were nice. Overall, good one!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

I saw them now! I was just really impatient. Audio was really great during hallucinations, but not in the killings. Graphics during hallucinations were awesome too. Really made you feel uncomfortable. Awesome.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

Great Mood about the game, especially when the hallucinations start to kick in. Also, the "witness" mechanics seemed to work very well.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

I love the concept. It was fun to play it.

choqaae says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great mood

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I got five endings, but the sixth one has eluded me.

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Clever use of theme. Worryingly addictive.

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

That was fantastic! Quite addicting and the witness mechanics were really well done. Could use a sprint button though.

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10pm

almost got a siezure from this

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Creative as what! A lot of thought went into this concept, and I dig it.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Ok, that was kinda insane, and weird... Nice idea ! Theme well used. The game makes me kinda incumfortable though but I guess it's a good thing.

ocmu says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Really good game, fun, great take on the theme, and controller support! I think i got 4/6 endings... any chance you can spoil all of them for us?

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Very smart theme use, and I love the fact that the hallucinations are the only visual clue to the ticking clock. Good job.

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Nice entry, it was fun to try and sneakily kill everyone :)

jwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:57am

Interesting concept and rather different. Good use of AI, too.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:04am

Just could get three endings =(
Absolutely great entry, excelent use of the theme! Loved the allucinations, the first time I waited until I killed myself just to see what would happen. Very powerful, and yet really fun. Five stars on all categories!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:47am

Nice game, quite funny to play!!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:21am

We need games like this in the world.
Right now they lock you up just for telling a joke on the internet about shooting up a school.
We need this to exist to remind us that we are still free to imagine, to create..

Static 64 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

It reminds me of Quill 18's Paper Town. Kind of creepy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]