August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Deka Sektor

by ArcturusDeluxe - Jam Entry

XNA is required for Windows version.
Web version works best in Chrome - Firefox works, but is slower.

DekaSector is a stylistic twin stick shooter where you have 10 seconds. Except not really, because killing enemies adds time to the counter, and getting hit takes time away. How long can you last? Probably longer than me, I am bad at games.

Also watch out for the time cubes! Kill them straight away! As long as any of them are alive, you cannot gain time from killing other enemy ships.

Use WASD to move the ship, mouse to aim and fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#60Fun(Jam)3.59
#90Overall(Jam)3.57
#118Graphics(Jam)3.92
#169Audio(Jam)3.20
#223Mood(Jam)3.11
#294Theme(Jam)3.06
#363Humor(Jam)2.14
#469Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

bukt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Whooa! Cool game, very dynamic and addictive :)

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Absolutely love the vector art style, looks so slick.

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I liked the art style. The controls took a little getting used to, until I found it best if I just stayed still the enemies could deal that much damage as long as I shot the time cubes.

bobylito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Cool game. From my several play, it seemed to be more efficient to actually not move.

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Super cool UI in the back there. Mines add an interesting layer of depth! Well done, 5 stars!

HardScore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

The art style is amazing and the game is addictive and fun to play, Great job!

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Great game, addictive and fun. Good implementation of the 'survive for 10 seconds in hostile environment' idea that I'm sure most of us at least considered. Didn't run too badly on Firefox - next time will definitely try it on Chrome as suggested. And there will be a next time - just had to tear myself away from it to give my rating.

Having said which, a couple of quibbles:

- The graphics are great but I found that the player ship wasn't visually distinct enough from everything else and I kept losing track of exactly where I was.
- Not sure about forcing such a huge gamescreen size - it only just about fit on my monitor and may possibly have, on my older machine, run better and more playably had there been an option to try it at 800x600 or something.

That said, one of the best entries I've played so far. Thank for doing this.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Thanks for the feedback motty. If you click the full screen button at the bottom of the page it should scale it down to your resolution. Hope that helps a bit. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

And it seems you can also use the Page Zoom feature in your web browser to scale the game up and down. Usually CTRL + mousewheel.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very cool. I love the pseudo-twin stick control method and it controls very well. The concept of using the time as your health and having it replenished by killing enemies and decreased by being hit is brilliant. The aesthetic is very nice too. Crisp and colourful and the sound is great too.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nice work! Love the artstyle, and gameplay is quite smooth too :)

atrodo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

That is a lot of fun. Some polish and it would be really good.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Great art style, fluent gameplay, really liked it! Some powerups would've been cool.

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Beautiful game, really like the artwork - seems original.
However, it seemed too chaotic to me, and I kept floating out to the border.

Protip: you should disable text-selection on the screen, while playing (if possible with your setup).

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Simple and neat. I don't like the color palette though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Fun and frantic! Nicely polished and enjoyable gameplay

Komradus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Really liked that art style. Seriously impressive and addictive.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Interestingly hard, was trying to stay alive just to listen to the music, controls were a bit hard though. ARt style was very clean and colorful and retro have seen this type of game before but this one felt a bit different, good job!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Good work

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Very smooth and fluid game for a web based one :)
Nice graphics also ! Good work

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Wow, I am in love with those graphics! What a very nice clean design!

And the game is fun as well. The time cubes are a nice touch.

Dracae says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:49am

SUPER AMAZING AWESOME PRO GREAT AMAZING AWESOME!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

40 MB is small screen! But game is mega cool anywhere!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:29am

Amazing game! I really love the vector art of this game and the audio. Good job :D

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:36am

Now that's what I call action-packed =)
I believe that the amount of cubes is somewhat random, so it's not always clear to me, whether luck plays a role of the final score after all. In any case, it's fun to play, and I think that's what counts.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:12am

funny game. good job

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Really awesome, i liked a lot the graphics and the controls are really tight.

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Gameplay is working pretty nicely :)

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Cool entry man! Enjoyed it

netgrind says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:28pm

nice graphics. Time gained by killing an enemy could stay up a smidge longer.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]